$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Swissotel Sydney

5 stars
View map of 68 Market Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean world traveler
Family
Cleveland, OH
Feb 24, 2013

Great hotel

We stayed for three nights for a family vacation. Have to say the location is perfect since we had spent the first three days at circular quay, and have well explored that area. This location got us closer to the actual CBD as well as other area such as George Street shopping, Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Hyde Park, or QVB (which is right across the street). Thr day we were leaving was a raining day, we decided to go shopping at Myers which is in the sme building. Perfect location. Other thing is that the staffs are super friendly and helpful. Breakfast at tr executive lounge was great, too. Can't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Other than the stores on George street, you've got Westfield, QVB, and Myers, within one block of distance.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amsling
Family
Fort Worth, TX
Feb 16, 2012

Stay down the street

This property is far from being 5 star. After a 17 hour flight and hours of delays in customs we were ready for a stiff drink. When we checked in I asked where the ice machine. was and was told down the hall and if there was a problem go to the next floor. Well the ice mach is on the 17th floor but the room key is restricted to your floor only. called room service and after 50 min. no ice so I called again. Eventually went down to the bar in the lobby for ice. This Hotel is an old remodeled re-branded property. There is little frontage on street level, save the concierge's desk. Lobby is on the 8th floor. No towels at the pool, Spa closed on weekends. There is a 5 star down the street with a name beginning with "H", Stay there! You won't be sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the "H" down the strret

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jiri
Couples
Houston, Texas
Feb 12, 2012

Location, location, location!

The location was superb in the middle of everything - sightseeing spots, shopping, food, transport, you name it. You could reach all these places by walking for a few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court on the fifth level of the Westfield shopping mall.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAG1
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Nov 12, 2011

Food & Bar Facilities

Very limited facilities. Understaff. Very slow service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Puerto Rico
Feb 4, 2011

Excellent location and price

The hotel was very accesible, the decoration was modern, very comfortable. We travel a lot and this hotel was really good for the price we paid. The employees were very friendly and helpfull. We really enjoy the stay. Hotel for two days before a cruise and planned to stay in another hotel after the cruise. Since we liked it we stay again in it for three more days after the cruise. I recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Toronto, Canada
Jan 7, 2011

Centrally Located and Good Service

Excellent services from the reception to all hotel staff. The repsonse was prompt and courteous. Hotel located right in the centre of downtown shopping area and just a short walk to Darling Harbour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B Hurley
Couples
Iowa City, IA
Dec 24, 2010

Amazing Hotel, close to aquarium

This was one of the nicer hotels I have stayed at. Got a great view of the city, wonderful, comfortable bed and pillows, huge bathroom, and location close to everything. Medium walk to the Opera House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried to get tickets online, but it charges a service fee, and negated the cost savings, so I think that's pretty dumb.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan V
Couples
San Diego
Aug 30, 2010

Great Location in the center of downtown

The hotel has all that we required for our stay. The location was an easy walk to the Rocks, Darling, Oxford area and shopping. It is located above a Meyer dept store and has a very limited street level footprint so it is easy to miss upon arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

For a quick snack or lunch there is a huge food court in the basment of the building.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Mexico
Apr 7, 2010

good location, absolutely no perks

Card system not only unlocked door but operated room lights and the elevator with no written instructions so there was alot of trial & error. The only thing you got for a four star accommodation was a bed & a roof over your head. Area information on restaurants, transporation and attactions non-existent (concierge only). Only two cups coffee/day, everytime you picked up the phone handset was a charge, pool use limited etc. Overall, very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbour & China Town were the only Sydney attractions within reasonable walking distance. Buyer beware purchasing a multi-day Sydney Pass for transporation purposes there are better alternatives.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeoSF
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jan 22, 2010

Swissotel Sydney

Pay to stay on the Executive Club floors. Internet access, free breakfast, bigger rooms, and complimentary drinks and hors de vors at 5:30. Our room was twice as big as the room we had at the Sydney Four Seasons. The bar staff was not attentive. The Concierge booked us front row table at a great open air restaurant with a view of the Opera House and Harbor Bridge. Would definitely stay with Swissotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Dec 17, 2009

Consistently Good

Consistently good service from Swissotel and excellent location in the Sydney Central Business District. Short walk from the botanical gardens, bridge, and Darling Harbour. Staff was efficient and the facility was modern and clean. Outdoor pool area was nice but weather was too cold to enjoy. Only issue with this location is the use of elevators. In order to get to the lobby from the main entrance on Market Street, one must take an elevator. From these elevators one must cross the lobby and use a seperate bank of elevators to access the rooms. Just enough delay to be a nuisance, especially during morning or afternoon check-in/out times. Did not eat or drink at the hotel bars/restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top