$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

5 stars
Cnr of Robey and O Riordan St, Sydney, NS 2020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
50 reviews
Will stay again

This hotel is very, very clean. The staff is fast to get you to your room. Your bags are right... See full review

  • Shelley Rosenberg
  • Aug 6, 2014
Location,location,location

Need a 5 star hotel close to the airport then is the hotel to stay at, staff are friendly very very... See full review

  • Memp5
  • Sep 11, 2014
Sleep in silence near the Sydney airport

Whether on a short layover in Sydney or in town for an extended business stay, the lavish Stamford Plaza treats guests with style. Located minutes from airport runways, the hotel's sound-resistant glass windows assure a restful night's sleep. Rooms promise views of Botany Bay, city lights or departing planes. A rooftop lap pool and conference space make this hotel a suitable choice for all persuasions.

Highlights
  • Convenient location near the airport
  • Quiet rooms
  • Major conference venue
Rooms

The hotel's 331 recently renovated rooms boast a collection of dark wood furniture and comfortable bedding in earth tones. Sound-proofed windows banish airport noise and heavy curtains block the bright sun when needed. Each room is air-conditioned and fit with a desk and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).   

Features

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport is winner of Australasia's Best Airport Hotel award.

 

The hotel's restaurant, The Grove, features local oysters shucked daily. The casual AV8 Bar and Café serves gourmet pizza and burgers to a diverse crowd of travelers. The Lobby Bar's stylish ambiance makes it an ideal place for a business lunch, high tea or local brews. The hotel's three restaurants serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Stamford Plaza has a gym, sauna and Jacuzzi. Guests also enjoy a rooftop lap pool and sun deck.


Wi-Fi is free in all public spaces. The hotel offers parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Sydney Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Newtown Railway Station (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Metro Monorail Darling Drive (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Sydney Cricket Ground (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Paddington Markets (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Darling Harbour (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Manly Beach (15.9 mi/25.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi in public areas (free)
  • Business center with secretarial services and Internet kiosk
  • 11 rooms for meetings and events

Hotel Map

-33.9302 151.1866
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Sydney International, (SYD), 0.10, KM, S;
Area description
Airport, The only Luxury Five Star Hotel located adjacent to Sydney

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport also booked these hotels.

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Deluxe Twin Room/ Two Double
Deluxe Twin Room/ Two Double Beds/ 36sqm/ Airport View/ Sep shower and Bath
Accessible Rm/ 1 x King or 2x
Accessible Rm/ 1 x King or 2x Doubles/ 36 sqm/ LCD TV/ Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Twin Room/ 2 Double
Superior Twin Room/ 2 Double Beds/34sqm/ City Views/LCD TV/ Marble Bathroom
Deluxe King Room/ King Bed/
Deluxe King Room/ King Bed/ 34sqm/ Airport Views/ Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite/ King Bed/ 60
Executive Suite/ King Bed/ 60-70sqm/ Separate Living Area/ Marble Bathroom
King Suite/King bed/100 sqm/
King Suite/King bed/100 sqm/ City Views/ Spacious Living area/Marble Bathroom
Superior King Room/ 34sqm/ City
Superior King Room/ 34sqm/ City Views/ LCD TV/ Marble Bathroom

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 3.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 3.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 3.6 mi
  • Belmore Park: 3.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 3.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 3.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 4 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 3.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 3.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 3.6 mi
  • Belmore Park: 3.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 3.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 3.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 4 mi
  • Town Hall: 4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 4.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 4.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 4.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 4.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 4.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 4.2 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 4.3 mi
  • Star City Casino: 4.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 4.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 4.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 4.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 4.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 4.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 4.6 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 4.7 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 4.8 mi
  • Customs House: 4.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 4.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 5 mi
  • Government House: 5.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 5.2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 5.3 mi

Dining

The Grove Restaurant
Famous for nightly seafood buffet, spectacular breakfasts and award winning A la Carte menu. Adjacent Lobby Bar with live entertainment on weekends, light snack menu.
The AV8 Bar Restaurant
Quality meals in a lively atmosphere. Live music, karaoke, billiards, nightly Happy Hour, daily specials. Outside alfresco seating. Private function room available for up to 200 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joe dutch123
Cherokee Village, AR
Feb 6, 2013

I would avoid this place!

The hotel was clean and nice enough, but I just had to report fraud on my credit card because I am still being charged for lodging from this hotel. I only stayed one night and my friend payed for the room. Apparently they are charging someone else's meals to my room even after we left. We did not eat or drink anything. I actually left sodas and bottled water behind because I couldn't carry it on the plane. Maybe it was an honest mistake but it caused me a lot of stress and grief that I didn't need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FrankE
Frankenmuth, MI
Sep 12, 2009

what a joke

This hotel has not had comp shuttle bus for over a year. We were billed $12 each way. Hotel very over-rated. Ceiling paint peeling away, table top damaged, wallpaper curling away at seams, carpet stained, wall corner seams needing caulk and paint, towels thin and stained. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Regular traeller
Hawaii
Mar 17, 2010

hotel deteriorating

Hotel has deteriorated. Air conditioning in bedroom blew only icy temp and engineer could not fix it. Had to be moved to another room. Waited 45 minutes at international airport, at designated location, but no shuttle came and we had to press a city shuttle to drop us near the hotel. Bathroom sinks have no plug. Rooms overpriced. Never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MT1235
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Only if you need to be close to the airport and nothing more

The hotel was probably very nice 20 or 30 years ago. The only thing it has going for it is that it's close to the airport. So for an overnight transit stay in Sydney in between flights (arriving late and leaving early), I'd probably stay there again. Yet the dated rooms, high cost of Internet (30 dollars per day?), and lack of free airport shuttle made it a just Ok experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
savvySailor
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

not so great business decision

I stayed here for business, and initially was quite pleased with the room. However, while the hotel was surely not totally booked, they put a family of 3-4 next door to me. The walls are thin, and children kept me up past my bedtime, and awoke before I would have liked to. The hotel staff never asked if I was pleased with my stay. So, I think the staff need better follow-through and need to book rooms with like next to like. Finally, the neighborhood has nothing to offer past the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Domestic terminal is a 10 minute walk form this hotel. Don't spend $10+ on a cab ride. Also , I could see the Orbitz-listed other airport hotels from this one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravellerUK2
London, UK
Jan 8, 2014

Great Hotel with Low Cost Airline attitude

the hotel is conveniently located and rooms are excellent,, but they will charge you for anything and everything. I am surprised that hotels in Australia still charge for internet and for parking. We had to park several streets away to avoid their ridiculous charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PetFamily
Georgia, USA
Nov 19, 2012

Big Cost, Little Effort

This is a fairly expensive, elegantly furnished airport hotel- that charges for transport to the airport only a brief ride away, for internet use, and offers little service in return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Castle, Colorado
Sep 6, 2009

Some good, some not

The staff was efficient but not friendly. The shuttle to the airport was not complimentary, but the $12 for the 2 of us was not bad. The hotel restaurant did not impress us at all - the attendants were great but the food on the buffet was limited for choices and just not very good. The price for what was available was too much in our opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is right by the domestic terminal of the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Sep 10, 2010

Good location for short visit

Close to international airport. But also 10 mins walk to subway for $5 train ride to Circular Quay (Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, etc)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Use the subway system!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PARIS FRANCE
Jun 20, 2009

AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE IS A JOKE !

The hotel itself lives up to expectations BUT as I chose it for its airport location ( had another flight the next morning ) I was more than disappointed in the advertised airport shuttle service. Having landed after a 14 hour flight from Abu Dhabi to Sydney I quickly realised the Sydney Airport is still one of the worst organised in the world BUT the hotel shuttle service is worse yet: NO indication on where the shuttle is located, no one at the information desk gave any vaiid information, after a full hour of trying to locate a shuttle departure point one finally settles for a taxi and spends 20 Australian Dollars to get to the hotel ! Staff there simply says "yes we know it is not easy but there is just nothing we can do !" For returning to the airport the next day I was charged 6 A$ for a so called FREE SHUTTLE... a charge I got cancelled as I complained about the arrival experience and the 20 Dollar taxi fare... this was done by a reduction in the Internet Connection Fee, which itself is outrageous ( 55 cents a minute to use one's own computer and no WIFI in the hotel ) Australia in the Internet field still is milking travellers. But hotel staff, probably aware of customer dissatisfaction with this state of affairs is willing to make adjustments. Hotel clean, confortable, pleasant on all levels... Just do not forget ANYTHING in your room as the cleaning sta&ff will NEVER find it . I left two men's cologne bottles behind (value 150 US DOLLARS ) which of course were never found by the cleaning staff !!! Hope they enjoy their "no finds" !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search