$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

5 stars
View map of Cnr of Robey and O Riordan St, Sydney, NS 2020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
54 reviews
Great stay

Unfortunately only a one night stay to be near airport for flight out next morning-great location... See full review

  • guest.scotch
  • Apr 29, 2015
Great hotel, great staff

Overnight stay with trip out early the next day. Staff was great and room was perfect. See full review

  • Retired Travelingman
  • Nov 20, 2014
  • Sydney Cricket Ground (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Paddington Markets (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Darling Harbour (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Manly Beach (15.9 mi/25.5 km)
General

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport is winner of Australasia's Best Airport Hotel award.

 

The hotel's restaurant, The Grove, features local oysters shucked daily. The casual AV8 Bar and Café serves gourmet pizza and burgers to a diverse crowd of travelers. The Lobby Bar's stylish ambiance makes it an ideal place for a business lunch, high tea or local brews. The hotel's three restaurants serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Stamford Plaza has a gym, sauna and Jacuzzi. Guests also enjoy a rooftop lap pool and sun deck.


Wi-Fi is free in all public spaces. The hotel offers parking (fees apply).

Location

Whether on a short layover in Sydney or in town for an extended business stay, the lavish Stamford Plaza treats guests with style. Located minutes from airport runways, the hotel's sound-resistant glass windows assure a restful night's sleep. Rooms promise views of Botany Bay, city lights or departing planes. A rooftop lap pool and conference space make this hotel a suitable choice for all persuasions.

Dining
  • Sydney Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Newtown Railway Station (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Metro Monorail Darling Drive (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Rooms

The hotel's 331 recently renovated rooms boast a collection of dark wood furniture and comfortable bedding in earth tones. Sound-proofed windows banish airport noise and heavy curtains block the bright sun when needed. Each room is air-conditioned and fit with a desk and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).   

Property features

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport is winner of Australasia's Best Airport Hotel award.

 

The hotel's restaurant, The Grove, features local oysters shucked daily. The casual AV8 Bar and Café serves gourmet pizza and burgers to a diverse crowd of travelers. The Lobby Bar's stylish ambiance makes it an ideal place for a business lunch, high tea or local brews. The hotel's three restaurants serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Stamford Plaza has a gym, sauna and Jacuzzi. Guests also enjoy a rooftop lap pool and sun deck.

 

Wi-Fi is free in all public spaces. The hotel offers parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Convenient location near the airport
  • Quiet rooms
  • Major conference venue

NOTICE: The Grove Restaurant is currently under renovation and will transform into Argentinian Restaurant called La Boca, opening end of Sep 2015. During the renovation, breakfast will be served in AV8.

Nearby attractions
  • Convenient location near the airport
  • Quiet rooms
  • Major conference venue
Business
  • Wi-Fi in public areas (free)
  • Business center with secretarial services and Internet kiosk
  • 11 rooms for meetings and events
Transportation

Stylish airport hotel for execs and overnighters

Policies

NOTICE: The Grove Restaurant is currently under renovation and will transform into Argentinian Restaurant called La Boca, opening end of Sep 2015. During the renovation, breakfast will be served in AV8.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport also booked these hotels.

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Rooms

Stamford Suite
Sleep like a king in our luxurious Stamford Suites. Located on the top floor of the hotel, these suites offer uninterrupted views of Sydney Airport and Botany Bay. The suites feature two marble bathrooms, large living area and spacious separate bedroom.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 3.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 3.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 3.6 mi
  • Belmore Park: 3.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 3.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 3.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 4 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 3.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 3.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 3.6 mi
  • Belmore Park: 3.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 3.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 3.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 4 mi
  • Town Hall: 4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 4.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 4.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 4.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 4.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 4.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 4.2 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 4.3 mi
  • Star City Casino: 4.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 4.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 4.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 4.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 4.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 4.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 4.6 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 4.7 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 4.8 mi
  • Customs House: 4.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 4.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 5 mi
  • Government House: 5.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 5.2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 5.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joe dutch123
Business
Cherokee Village, AR
Feb 6, 2013

I would avoid this place!

The hotel was clean and nice enough, but I just had to report fraud on my credit card because I am still being charged for lodging from this hotel. I only stayed one night and my friend payed for the room. Apparently they are charging someone else's meals to my room even after we left. We did not eat or drink anything. I actually left sodas and bottled water behind because I couldn't carry it on the plane. Maybe it was an honest mistake but it caused me a lot of stress and grief that I didn't need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pamela G.
Business
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

Average

Stayed in better for less , rude staff sorry pool full of flies closer hotels to the airport than this , didn't accept my credit card and they sent someone to lock my minibar felt like a criminal think twice before booking this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MT1235
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Only if you need to be close to the airport and nothing more

The hotel was probably very nice 20 or 30 years ago. The only thing it has going for it is that it's close to the airport. So for an overnight transit stay in Sydney in between flights (arriving late and leaving early), I'd probably stay there again. Yet the dated rooms, high cost of Internet (30 dollars per day?), and lack of free airport shuttle made it a just Ok experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
savvySailor
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

not so great business decision

I stayed here for business, and initially was quite pleased with the room. However, while the hotel was surely not totally booked, they put a family of 3-4 next door to me. The walls are thin, and children kept me up past my bedtime, and awoke before I would have liked to. The hotel staff never asked if I was pleased with my stay. So, I think the staff need better follow-through and need to book rooms with like next to like. Finally, the neighborhood has nothing to offer past the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Domestic terminal is a 10 minute walk form this hotel. Don't spend $10+ on a cab ride. Also , I could see the Orbitz-listed other airport hotels from this one.

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FrankE
Business
Frankenmuth, MI
Sep 12, 2009

what a joke

This hotel has not had comp shuttle bus for over a year. We were billed $12 each way. Hotel very over-rated. Ceiling paint peeling away, table top damaged, wallpaper curling away at seams, carpet stained, wall corner seams needing caulk and paint, towels thin and stained. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Regular traeller
Business
Hawaii
Mar 17, 2010

hotel deteriorating

Hotel has deteriorated. Air conditioning in bedroom blew only icy temp and engineer could not fix it. Had to be moved to another room. Waited 45 minutes at international airport, at designated location, but no shuttle came and we had to press a city shuttle to drop us near the hotel. Bathroom sinks have no plug. Rooms overpriced. Never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravellerUK2
Business
London, UK
Jan 8, 2014

Great Hotel with Low Cost Airline attitude

the hotel is conveniently located and rooms are excellent,, but they will charge you for anything and everything. I am surprised that hotels in Australia still charge for internet and for parking. We had to park several streets away to avoid their ridiculous charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff loves travel
Business
Portland, Oregon
Mar 11, 2014

Clean and close to airport

I was expecting a grandiose hotel after seeing the hotel pictures and paying 200 for a room. The hotel us much more plain than what they allude to in the pictures. It was clean though and served my purpose of being next rib the airport but really nothing else. The .40 cents a minute or $25 dollars for 24 hour wifi cost is outrageous. They have a shuttle to the airport as well for 6 dollars a person. If you want something clean and simple next to the airport then this would be a good choice. It's a bit on the pricey side for what you get though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romp
Business
Southport, Australia
Apr 10, 2014

Very well locate for business meetings

Staff were excellent but room decor dated and gym, bar and dining facilities very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To domestic airport

Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler oneofmany
Business
North America
Jan 7, 2012

Decent option if expensive

For a more expensive airport hotel option, this is a decent choice. We had trouble at check-in, as our room preferences had not been passed on, and we were given the wrong room. Once I asked to speak to the manager, we were given the correct room. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious, and the airport noise was not noticeable. The food at the restaurant was excellent, and the shuttle to the international terminal OK--although my driver just about got into a fist fight with a car that cut him off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top