$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

5 stars
Cnr of Robey and O Riordan St, Sydney, NS 2020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
51 reviews
Great stay

Everything about this hotel is perfection. It is 2 seconds away from airport and so easy to get... See full review

  • Fun John SF
  • Oct 1, 2014
Will stay again

This hotel is very, very clean. The staff is fast to get you to your room. Your bags are right... See full review

  • Shelley Rosenberg
  • Aug 6, 2014
Sleep in silence near the Sydney airport

Whether on a short layover in Sydney or in town for an extended business stay, the lavish Stamford Plaza treats guests with style. Located minutes from airport runways, the hotel's sound-resistant glass windows assure a restful night's sleep. Rooms promise views of Botany Bay, city lights or departing planes. A rooftop lap pool and conference space make this hotel a suitable choice for all persuasions.

Highlights
  • Convenient location near the airport
  • Quiet rooms
  • Major conference venue
Rooms

The hotel's 331 recently renovated rooms boast a collection of dark wood furniture and comfortable bedding in earth tones. Sound-proofed windows banish airport noise and heavy curtains block the bright sun when needed. Each room is air-conditioned and fit with a desk and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).   

Features

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport is winner of Australasia's Best Airport Hotel award.

 

The hotel's restaurant, The Grove, features local oysters shucked daily. The casual AV8 Bar and Café serves gourmet pizza and burgers to a diverse crowd of travelers. The Lobby Bar's stylish ambiance makes it an ideal place for a business lunch, high tea or local brews. The hotel's three restaurants serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Stamford Plaza has a gym, sauna and Jacuzzi. Guests also enjoy a rooftop lap pool and sun deck.


Wi-Fi is free in all public spaces. The hotel offers parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Sydney Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Newtown Railway Station (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Metro Monorail Darling Drive (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Sydney Cricket Ground (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Paddington Markets (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Darling Harbour (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Manly Beach (15.9 mi/25.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi in public areas (free)
  • Business center with secretarial services and Internet kiosk
  • 11 rooms for meetings and events

Hotel Map

-33.9302 151.1866
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Sydney International, (SYD), 0.10, KM, S;
Area description
Airport, The only Luxury Five Star Hotel located adjacent to Sydney

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Deluxe Twin Room/ Two Double
Deluxe Twin Room/ Two Double Beds/ 36sqm/ Airport View/ Sep shower and Bath
Accessible Rm/ 1 x King or 2x
Accessible Rm/ 1 x King or 2x Doubles/ 36 sqm/ LCD TV/ Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Twin Room/ 2 Double
Superior Twin Room/ 2 Double Beds/34sqm/ City Views/LCD TV/ Marble Bathroom
Deluxe King Room/ King Bed/
Deluxe King Room/ King Bed/ 34sqm/ Airport Views/ Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite/ King Bed/ 60
Executive Suite/ King Bed/ 60-70sqm/ Separate Living Area/ Marble Bathroom
King Suite/King bed/100 sqm/
King Suite/King bed/100 sqm/ City Views/ Spacious Living area/Marble Bathroom
Superior King Room/ 34sqm/ City
Superior King Room/ 34sqm/ City Views/ LCD TV/ Marble Bathroom

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 3.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 3.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 3.6 mi
  • Belmore Park: 3.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 3.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 3.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 4 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 3.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 3.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 3.6 mi
  • Belmore Park: 3.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 3.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 3.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 4 mi
  • Town Hall: 4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 4.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 4.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 4.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 4.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 4.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 4.2 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 4.3 mi
  • Star City Casino: 4.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 4.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 4.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 4.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 4.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 4.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 4.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 4.6 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 4.7 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 4.8 mi
  • Customs House: 4.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 4.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 5 mi
  • Government House: 5.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 5.2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 5.3 mi

Dining

The Grove Restaurant
Famous for nightly seafood buffet, spectacular breakfasts and award winning A la Carte menu. Adjacent Lobby Bar with live entertainment on weekends, light snack menu.
The AV8 Bar Restaurant
Quality meals in a lively atmosphere. Live music, karaoke, billiards, nightly Happy Hour, daily specials. Outside alfresco seating. Private function room available for up to 200 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G Papa
Seattle
Dec 26, 2012

great accomodations

I enjoyed the room amenities. My stay was super comfortable and I had a perfect sleep. Late airport arrival didn't permit anticipated use of exercise facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Visalia, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Stamford Sydney Airport

Clean, spacious room. Adequate service. We arrived early, as all flights from USA arrive before 7 am. At the hotel at 9 am, we were sent to a guest lounge until our regular room was available. There must be a lot of very early arrivals due to plane scheules.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi from/to the airport, it is less expensive than the shuttle bus and easier to load. Also, get on/off the train to downtown Sydney at the Mascot station, not the airport station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lBernie
Business
sugarloaf, pa
Oct 17, 2009

An excellent hotel

A very good experience throughout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FrankE
Business
Frankenmuth, MI
Sep 12, 2009

what a joke

This hotel has not had comp shuttle bus for over a year. We were billed $12 each way. Hotel very over-rated. Ceiling paint peeling away, table top damaged, wallpaper curling away at seams, carpet stained, wall corner seams needing caulk and paint, towels thin and stained. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Castle, Colorado
Sep 6, 2009

Some good, some not

The staff was efficient but not friendly. The shuttle to the airport was not complimentary, but the $12 for the 2 of us was not bad. The hotel restaurant did not impress us at all - the attendants were great but the food on the buffet was limited for choices and just not very good. The price for what was available was too much in our opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is right by the domestic terminal of the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bere
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 23, 2009

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Shuttle location outside Sydney airport is not very intuitive, but once we found it, transportation met our needs. Accomodations were wonderfully appointed, dining room offerings excellent, and staff was outstanding. A short walk to the Metro station for those who wish to visit the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bere
Business
san antonio, tx
Aug 19, 2009

Very Quiet luxurious airport location

Room was so comfortable and well appointed. The bedding was exceptional and felt very homely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, USA
Aug 15, 2009

Perfect choice for Sydney airport

We just wanted an overnight hotel for our morning flight from Sydney to New York and the Stamford Plaza worked out perfectly. The shuttle service was very fast and all the hotel staff were courteous and very professional, helpful too. The room was everything we wanted and more! I used the Internet and it cost AUD5 for 30 minutes, very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near Sydney airport and though the shuttle costs $6 per person, it was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Cabos, BCS, Mexico.
Aug 3, 2009

Excelent hotel and location

We found everything in the hotel great. Prior to reservation, I read the reviews and I was aware of the inaccurate advertisement regarding "complimentary bus shuttles to and from the hotel", so we avoided the hassle by going comfortably by taxi for about $10.00 dollars a trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PARIS FRANCE
Jun 20, 2009

AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE IS A JOKE !

The hotel itself lives up to expectations BUT as I chose it for its airport location ( had another flight the next morning ) I was more than disappointed in the advertised airport shuttle service. Having landed after a 14 hour flight from Abu Dhabi to Sydney I quickly realised the Sydney Airport is still one of the worst organised in the world BUT the hotel shuttle service is worse yet: NO indication on where the shuttle is located, no one at the information desk gave any vaiid information, after a full hour of trying to locate a shuttle departure point one finally settles for a taxi and spends 20 Australian Dollars to get to the hotel ! Staff there simply says "yes we know it is not easy but there is just nothing we can do !" For returning to the airport the next day I was charged 6 A$ for a so called FREE SHUTTLE... a charge I got cancelled as I complained about the arrival experience and the 20 Dollar taxi fare... this was done by a reduction in the Internet Connection Fee, which itself is outrageous ( 55 cents a minute to use one's own computer and no WIFI in the hotel ) Australia in the Internet field still is milking travellers. But hotel staff, probably aware of customer dissatisfaction with this state of affairs is willing to make adjustments. Hotel clean, confortable, pleasant on all levels... Just do not forget ANYTHING in your room as the cleaning sta&ff will NEVER find it . I left two men's cologne bottles behind (value 150 US DOLLARS ) which of course were never found by the cleaning staff !!! Hope they enjoy their "no finds" !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centrsl Illinois
Jun 9, 2009

Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

I enjoyed a very restful night in a wonderful bed. This was exactly what I needed after 10 days of road travel and before a 14 hour international flight the following day. All staff I encountered were extremely helpful and the shuttle driver was exceptionally heldful in advising me about getting around the city in the limited time I had. My only question was regarding the "complimentary" shuttle. I boarded the shuttle at the airport when I arrived and only signed for the trip. At checkout, I was charged $12 AUD for the shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top