$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

5 stars
61-101 Phillip Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
18 reviews
Another Sydney internet ripoff

The Sofitel would be perfect - except for the ludicrous internet charges on ANY internet access. A... See full review

  • goldpelican
  • Aug 2, 2014
Exceptional

This hotel is centrally located in Downtown Sydney. Close to everything you could possibly do. It... See full review

  • Thank you Sydney
  • Aug 9, 2012
Five-star elegance and service in downtown Sydney

Five-star Sofitel Sydney delivers equal measure of class and comfort to a polished clientele in Sydney's business district. Since the 1800s, this historic hotel has lured the likes of Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the first men on the moon. Whether you are royalty or simply a traveler in search of the best, rest knowing you have selected a hotel touted for the most comfortable beds in Sydney. A new renovation has given rooms a supple feel with plush furnishings. Guests can expect business amenities, fine cuisine and an eco-friendly day spa.

Highlights
  • Lattouf Aveda Spa provides luxurious body treatments and massages
  • Whimsical service provides everything from teddy bears to non-allergenic pillows
  • Walking distance to most attractions
  • French-inspired Garden Court restaurant
  • Preferred stay for royalty and celebrities
Rooms

Whether you want to lounge in a deep marble tub, connect with your secretary back home or settle into the hotel's signature (and oh so comfortable) MyBed, the Sofitel's 436 guest rooms promise Sydney's finest luxury. Awash in hues of sage, plum, navy and cocoa, guest quarters hug a central courtyard--though the 46 suites benefit most from these views. Guests enjoy in-room Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Features

To please the roll call of ambassadors and celebrities, the hotel provides a menu of services that range from teddy bears for children to non-allergenic pillows. Still, the hotel's premier attraction is the Garden Court restaurant (open for breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on weekdays), which serves modern Australian cuisine with a French sensibility. Items like the salt-cured Tasmanian salmon with beetroot, seeded mustard and dill dressing or the tantalizing cheese buffet make this a local icon. For lighter fare and live jazz on some evenings, the Sofitel Lounge caters to a business crowd.

 

The hotel has a fitness center and the Lattouf Aveda Spa (go for hair styling and botanical-inspired massages and facials) is located onsite. Guests also have access to parking and Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Sydney Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
  • Wynyard Train Station (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Galeries Monorail Stop (.8 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Pitt Street Mall (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Darling Harbour (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Manly Beach (9.7 mi/15.5 km)
Business

  • Business center with fax and secretarial service
  • Meeting facilities
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Sydney Wentworth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
Prestige Suite Club Sofitel, 1 king-size bed, s eparate living room, corner city views.. 51 sqm, 548 sqf, Club access for breakfast, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks. Flatscreen TV and DVD, high-speed Internet, Sofitel MyBed, large marble bathroom with
1 Kg bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, City Views. 25.5 sqm, 258 sqf, city view, LCD TV, high-speed Internet, large marble shower, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, minibar, pay-per-view TV movies, in-room safe. Cot allowed. No rollaway bed allowed
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, Garden courtyard Views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, flatscreen TV, high-speed Internet, marble shower and bath combination, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, minibar, pay-per-view TV movies, in-
2 Db beds Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM, 2 Double Beds, Garden Courtyard Views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, flatscreen TV, high-speed Internet, marble shower and bath combination, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, minibar, pay-per-view TV movies, in-roo
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE, 1 King Size Bed, Separate Living Room, City views. 42 sqm, 452 sqf, Flatscreen TV and DVD, high-speed Internet, large marble bathroom with separate bath and shower, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe. Separate lou
1 Kg bed Exec
LUXURY ROOM CLUB SOFITEL, 1 King Size Bed, Top Floors, Garden Courtyard views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, Club access for breakfast, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks. Flatscreen TV, high-speed Internet, shower and bath combination, Sofitel MyBed, Nespresso coffee
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, Upper Floors, Garden Courtyard views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, free high-speed internet, free pressing of two items, flatscreen TV, marble shower and bath combination, cozy two-seat sofa, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee facilities, iro

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.9 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Dining

SOIRÉE BAR
The Sofitel Lounge offers morning tea and an all day a la carte dining menu.
GARDEN COURT RESTAURANT
Garden Court Restaurant is a leafy oasis offering a rare green outlook in the heart of the city. This elegant brasserie style restaurant overlooks a spectacular garden courtyard and is engulfed by natural light.
SOIRÉE BAR
Inspired by 60s fashion and design icons, sink into plush armchairs and unwind from the daily grind over some chilled grooves, classic cuisine, playful cocktails and sexy 60s sours. It's the perfect place for High Tea, a 'So Quick' lunch or late night out

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no worries
Business
newport beach california
Jan 25, 2011

Sydney Wonderful

Excellent location & very attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Allow plenty of time to enjoy the Botanical Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goldpelican
Business
Florida
Aug 2, 2014

Another Sydney internet ripoff

The Sofitel would be perfect - except for the ludicrous internet charges on ANY internet access. A $12.50 charge to access the internet in the business centre! I can understand that Australian hotels charge for in-room internet, but really, charging for internet access in the business centre? Ruined an otherwise fabulous stay. Not every traveller is a corporate one that can just pass it on to a client. Also a credit card surcharge was added to the bill. Room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free wireless internet at the cafe across the road opposite Chifley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Life's Journey
Business
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Jan 9, 2013

New Years in Sydney

I picked this hotel so that I can see the fireworks; however, I knew that I would have to walk to see them. The only thing is that it turns out they gated off The Rocks and entrances to Circular Quay; and so, you have to get to the Rocks about an hour before the 9 pm fireworks (family friendly) to see the 12 am display too. All views behind the Quay is poor unless you stay at the hotels high above and located right behind the railway, like the Shangri La. My hotel was walking distance to the Opera House, Harbor Bridge and Hyde Park. It's a nice looking hotel. My room was mostly clean. I found hair on the tea cup, in the tub and a black smudge on my bed sheet? As for the staff and especially the concierge, very very nice, happy, funny and helpful. You have to pay for internet and there is no pool for a high end hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Circular Quay has buses and railway, and the hop of hop on tour bus for convenient public transportation. It's easier to travel by buying ticket ahead of time at any convience store...just tell them where you are going if you do not know what ticket to buy. Hotel is walking distance from restaurants and shops. Convenient location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Apr 12, 2010

expect to have lots of FEES!!!

It started off great, the staff was real friendly, i just feel i got scammed at the end. When I checked in I asked if local calls were free, the man who checked me in said yes. I then showd the man my sisters cellphone number and how do dial it. he wrote it on a sofitel card (i still have the copy) i then went to my room and called my sister. Cell phones arnt local in the rooms, and the man who wrote my sisters cell phone down who i asked if local calls were free never notified me a cell phone is not local. So at the end of the trip i owed over $100 in phone bills for 25 minutes of talking. witch they knoked down to 80. I feel they shouldnt of charged me a penny as they told me calls are free. Also internet almost 30$ per 24hrs. food 30 for a sandwich through room service. I was only there for 3 nights and i had to spend as much on the phone bill as a night in the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California, US
May 30, 2011

I would not stay there again

I booked the hotel because my conference was being held there. The room had no place to put away clothes-- no bureau. No bathtub. The bed was excessively soft. There was only a down comforter-- way too hot, no blankets. The cvharge for internet was $27. For business travellers, internet should be included in the cost of the hotel room. Breakfast was $39, and not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish on the Rocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Norgen
Business
Hawaii
Jan 7, 2014

Unfriendly hotel

Considering a very pricey hotel, not even Internet is free, you're only allowed 30 mins per 24 hrs in the lobby, how inconvenient. StAffs are unfriendly, no welcoming smile after a long 10hr flight, not even a complimentary water fountain. This hotel has the most disgusting accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel abroad Always stay in the hotel with free Internet . It's the only way you communicate with your family when you are out for business abroad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pain in the back!
Business
London
Nov 28, 2010

Sleepless in Sydney

Our room was small, a slightly larger room would have cost us an extra AUS$150 per night. My mattress was worn out, it had a large dip in the centre making it extremely uncomfortable to lie upon. Requests for a change of this fell on deaf ears, we were told that the hotel was full so there was no replacement. We had arrived on a Wednesday and complained daily. After three days, we gave up and I ended up sleeping on two pillows which filled the hollow in the worn mattress. The bed base was wood, but the hotel tried to appease me by placing a bedboard under the mattress. This made no difference at all as the problem was with the mattress. One would have thought that a so called five star hotel would have been able to provide a new mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient for the Waterfront with all the marvellous dining facilities and the ferries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 23, 2010

I stayed in better hotels

For a 5 star hotel this one is disappointing. The bed is sagging. Parking is a nightmare, even if you valet park. They close the garage and at around midnight and no one is there to bring the car out to you. To park I had to drive around the block and get someone to open the garage from the front desk and then drive again to get to the garage gate for someone to open. People are not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dining at the centerpoint tower. the view is spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top