$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

5 stars
View map of 61-101 Phillip Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Sydney
Business
Chicago
Dec 22, 2010

Nice hotel, but.......

Great hotel, but for internet users, watch out. 27.50 a day for 24 hours, but once you exceed 200MB, the speed slows down or you have to pay .10 per MB. First time i ever encountered this in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend staying somewhere on Hyde Park. Close to shopping, trains, main buses and walking distance to about everything.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pain in the back!
Business
London
Nov 28, 2010

Sleepless in Sydney

Our room was small, a slightly larger room would have cost us an extra AUS$150 per night. My mattress was worn out, it had a large dip in the centre making it extremely uncomfortable to lie upon. Requests for a change of this fell on deaf ears, we were told that the hotel was full so there was no replacement. We had arrived on a Wednesday and complained daily. After three days, we gave up and I ended up sleeping on two pillows which filled the hollow in the worn mattress. The bed base was wood, but the hotel tried to appease me by placing a bedboard under the mattress. This made no difference at all as the problem was with the mattress. One would have thought that a so called five star hotel would have been able to provide a new mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient for the Waterfront with all the marvellous dining facilities and the ferries.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pain in the back!
Business
London
Nov 28, 2010

Sleepless in Sydney

Our room was small, a slightly larger room would have cost us an extra AUS$150 per night. My mattress was worn out, it had a large dip in the centre making it extremely uncomfortable to lie upon. Requests for a change of this fell on deaf ears, we were told that the hotel was full so there was no replacement. We had arrived on a Wednesday and complained daily. After three days, we gave up and I ended up sleeping on two pillows which filled the hollow in the worn mattress. The bed base was wood, but the hotel tried to appease me by placing a bedboard under the mattress. This made no difference at all as the problem was with the mattress. One would have thought that a so called five star hotel would have been able to provide a new mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient for the Waterfront with all the marvellous dining facilities and the ferries.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, Kansas
Apr 18, 2010

Great Hotel...5 Star!

As soon as you walk in you smell the fresh flowers and know your in a 5 star or higher hotel. The entire hotel was first class. We had a balcony room overlooking the front of the hotel and gardens that allowed us to let fresh air in. The room was excellent. Nice bedding and comfortable bed. Bathroom was very modern and had lots of storage. Well worth the money paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks: (1/2 the price of the hotel bar) go out the back entrance and turn right about 15 meters to the Bligh Hotel (bar). They have great prices for drinks and great bar food. Dinner: Chophouse Steakhouse right out the back of the hotel across Bligh street. Great steakhouse with great food. Try the Shortribs. They fall right off the bone. We also had the Spatchcock (chicken). Good price and good value. For breakfast try the resturant/coffee house also on Bligh street just to the left of the back entrance about 10 meters.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Apr 12, 2010

expect to have lots of FEES!!!

It started off great, the staff was real friendly, i just feel i got scammed at the end. When I checked in I asked if local calls were free, the man who checked me in said yes. I then showd the man my sisters cellphone number and how do dial it. he wrote it on a sofitel card (i still have the copy) i then went to my room and called my sister. Cell phones arnt local in the rooms, and the man who wrote my sisters cell phone down who i asked if local calls were free never notified me a cell phone is not local. So at the end of the trip i owed over $100 in phone bills for 25 minutes of talking. witch they knoked down to 80. I feel they shouldnt of charged me a penny as they told me calls are free. Also internet almost 30$ per 24hrs. food 30 for a sandwich through room service. I was only there for 3 nights and i had to spend as much on the phone bill as a night in the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
American Couple
Business
Brighton, CO
Jan 13, 2010

Fantastic hotel

This was the best hotel of our trip. Beautifully decorated, nice room, great staff and fantastic breakfast buffet. Only bad was that we had a flight to catch early and could not enjoy the breakfast again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to the Circular Quay area (water) where you could catch ferries, buses, shop, dine and sight see the Harbor Bridge and the Opera House. Not a lot of restaurants close by...had to walk to find but not far away.

Back to menu Return to top