$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

5 stars
61-101 Phillip Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Sydney vacation.

Very clean hotel. Room was rather small but it has all of the required amenities. The location was... See full review

  • Blue6500
  • Feb 2, 2013
Exceptional

This hotel is centrally located in Downtown Sydney. Close to everything you could possibly do. It... See full review

  • Thank you Sydney
  • Aug 9, 2012
Five-star elegance and service in downtown Sydney

Five-star Sofitel Sydney delivers equal measure of class and comfort to a polished clientele in Sydney's business district. Since the 1800s, this historic hotel has lured the likes of Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the first men on the moon. Whether you are royalty or simply a traveler in search of the best, rest knowing you have selected a hotel touted for the most comfortable beds in Sydney. A new renovation has given rooms a supple feel with plush furnishings. Guests can expect business amenities, fine cuisine and an eco-friendly day spa.

Highlights
  • Lattouf Aveda Spa provides luxurious body treatments and massages
  • Whimsical service provides everything from teddy bears to non-allergenic pillows
  • Walking distance to most attractions
  • French-inspired Garden Court restaurant
  • Preferred stay for royalty and celebrities
Rooms

Whether you want to lounge in a deep marble tub, connect with your secretary back home or settle into the hotel's signature (and oh so comfortable) MyBed, the Sofitel's 436 guest rooms promise Sydney's finest luxury. Awash in hues of sage, plum, navy and cocoa, guest quarters hug a central courtyard--though the 46 suites benefit most from these views. Guests enjoy in-room Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Features

To please the roll call of ambassadors and celebrities, the hotel provides a menu of services that range from teddy bears for children to non-allergenic pillows. Still, the hotel's premier attraction is the Garden Court restaurant (open for breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on weekdays), which serves modern Australian cuisine with a French sensibility. Items like the salt-cured Tasmanian salmon with beetroot, seeded mustard and dill dressing or the tantalizing cheese buffet make this a local icon. For lighter fare and live jazz on some evenings, the Sofitel Lounge caters to a business crowd.

 

The hotel has a fitness center and the Lattouf Aveda Spa (go for hair styling and botanical-inspired massages and facials) is located onsite. Guests also have access to parking and Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Sydney Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
  • Wynyard Train Station (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Galeries Monorail Stop (.8 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Pitt Street Mall (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Darling Harbour (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Manly Beach (9.7 mi/15.5 km)
Business

  • Business center with fax and secretarial service
  • Meeting facilities
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8654 151.2109
Nearby airports
SYD, (SYD), 12.00, KM, N;
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Sydney Wentworth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE CLUB SOFITEL, 1 King Size Bed, S eparate Living Room, Corner City views. 51 sqm, 548 sqf, Club access for breakfast, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks. Flatscreen TV and DVD, high-speed Internet, Sofitel MyBed, large marble bathroom with s
1 Kg bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, City Views. 25.5 sqm, 258 sqf, city view, LCD TV, high-speed Internet, large marble shower, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, minibar, pay-per-view TV movies, in-room safe. Cot allowed. No rollaway bed allowed
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, Garden courtyard Views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, flatscreen TV, high-speed Internet, marble shower and bath combination, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, minibar, pay-per-view TV movies, in-
2 Db beds Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM, 2 Double Beds, Garden Courtyard Views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, flatscreen TV, high-speed Internet, marble shower and bath combination, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, minibar, pay-per-view TV movies, in-roo
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE, 1 King Size Bed, Separate Living Room, City views. 42 sqm, 452 sqf, Flatscreen TV and DVD, high-speed Internet, large marble bathroom with separate bath and shower, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe. Separate lou
1 Kg bed Exec
LUXURY ROOM CLUB SOFITEL, 1 King Size Bed, Top Floors, Garden Courtyard views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, Club access for breakfast, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks. Flatscreen TV, high-speed Internet, shower and bath combination, Sofitel MyBed, Nespresso coffee
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, Upper Floors, Garden Courtyard views. 28 sqm, 301 sqf, free high-speed internet, free pressing of two items, flatscreen TV, marble shower and bath combination, cozy two-seat sofa, Sofitel MyBed, tea & coffee facilities, iro

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.9 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Dining

SOIRÉE BAR
The Sofitel Lounge offers morning tea and an all day a la carte dining menu.
GARDEN COURT RESTAURANT
Garden Court Restaurant is a leafy oasis offering a rare green outlook in the heart of the city. This elegant brasserie style restaurant overlooks a spectacular garden courtyard and is engulfed by natural light.
SOIRÉE BAR
Inspired by 60s fashion and design icons, sink into plush armchairs and unwind from the daily grind over some chilled grooves, classic cuisine, playful cocktails and sexy 60s sours. It's the perfect place for High Tea, a 'So Quick' lunch or late night out

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no worries
newport beach california
Jan 25, 2011

Sydney Wonderful

Excellent location & very attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Allow plenty of time to enjoy the Botanical Gardens

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no worries
newport beach california
Jan 25, 2011

Sydney Wonderful

Excellent location & very attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Allow plenty of time to enjoy the Botanical Gardens

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Sydney
Chicago
Dec 22, 2010

Nice hotel, but.......

Great hotel, but for internet users, watch out. 27.50 a day for 24 hours, but once you exceed 200MB, the speed slows down or you have to pay .10 per MB. First time i ever encountered this in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend staying somewhere on Hyde Park. Close to shopping, trains, main buses and walking distance to about everything.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Sydney
Chicago
Dec 22, 2010

Nice hotel, but.......

Great hotel, but for internet users, watch out. 27.50 a day for 24 hours, but once you exceed 200MB, the speed slows down or you have to pay .10 per MB. First time i ever encountered this in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend staying somewhere on Hyde Park. Close to shopping, trains, main buses and walking distance to about everything.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pain in the back!
London
Nov 28, 2010

Sleepless in Sydney

Our room was small, a slightly larger room would have cost us an extra AUS$150 per night. My mattress was worn out, it had a large dip in the centre making it extremely uncomfortable to lie upon. Requests for a change of this fell on deaf ears, we were told that the hotel was full so there was no replacement. We had arrived on a Wednesday and complained daily. After three days, we gave up and I ended up sleeping on two pillows which filled the hollow in the worn mattress. The bed base was wood, but the hotel tried to appease me by placing a bedboard under the mattress. This made no difference at all as the problem was with the mattress. One would have thought that a so called five star hotel would have been able to provide a new mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient for the Waterfront with all the marvellous dining facilities and the ferries.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
mpls, mn
Jul 27, 2010

for sure a five star hotel

wonderful great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to circular quay

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, Kansas
Apr 18, 2010

Great Hotel...5 Star!

As soon as you walk in you smell the fresh flowers and know your in a 5 star or higher hotel. The entire hotel was first class. We had a balcony room overlooking the front of the hotel and gardens that allowed us to let fresh air in. The room was excellent. Nice bedding and comfortable bed. Bathroom was very modern and had lots of storage. Well worth the money paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks: (1/2 the price of the hotel bar) go out the back entrance and turn right about 15 meters to the Bligh Hotel (bar). They have great prices for drinks and great bar food. Dinner: Chophouse Steakhouse right out the back of the hotel across Bligh street. Great steakhouse with great food. Try the Shortribs. They fall right off the bone. We also had the Spatchcock (chicken). Good price and good value. For breakfast try the resturant/coffee house also on Bligh street just to the left of the back entrance about 10 meters.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, Kansas
Apr 18, 2010

Great Hotel...5 Star!

As soon as you walk in you smell the fresh flowers and know your in a 5 star or higher hotel. The entire hotel was first class. We had a balcony room overlooking the front of the hotel and gardens that allowed us to let fresh air in. The room was excellent. Nice bedding and comfortable bed. Bathroom was very modern and had lots of storage. Well worth the money paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks: (1/2 the price of the hotel bar) go out the back entrance and turn right about 15 meters to the Bligh Hotel (bar). They have great prices for drinks and great bar food. Dinner: Chophouse Steakhouse right out the back of the hotel across Bligh street. Great steakhouse with great food. Try the Shortribs. They fall right off the bone. We also had the Spatchcock (chicken). Good price and good value. For breakfast try the resturant/coffee house also on Bligh street just to the left of the back entrance about 10 meters.

Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas, nv
Apr 12, 2010

expect to have lots of FEES!!!

It started off great, the staff was real friendly, i just feel i got scammed at the end. When I checked in I asked if local calls were free, the man who checked me in said yes. I then showd the man my sisters cellphone number and how do dial it. he wrote it on a sofitel card (i still have the copy) i then went to my room and called my sister. Cell phones arnt local in the rooms, and the man who wrote my sisters cell phone down who i asked if local calls were free never notified me a cell phone is not local. So at the end of the trip i owed over $100 in phone bills for 25 minutes of talking. witch they knoked down to 80. I feel they shouldnt of charged me a penny as they told me calls are free. Also internet almost 30$ per 24hrs. food 30 for a sandwich through room service. I was only there for 3 nights and i had to spend as much on the phone bill as a night in the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas, nv
Apr 12, 2010

expect to have lots of FEES!!!

It started off great, the staff was real friendly, i just feel i got scammed at the end. When I checked in I asked if local calls were free, the man who checked me in said yes. I then showd the man my sisters cellphone number and how do dial it. he wrote it on a sofitel card (i still have the copy) i then went to my room and called my sister. Cell phones arnt local in the rooms, and the man who wrote my sisters cell phone down who i asked if local calls were free never notified me a cell phone is not local. So at the end of the trip i owed over $100 in phone bills for 25 minutes of talking. witch they knoked down to 80. I feel they shouldnt of charged me a penny as they told me calls are free. Also internet almost 30$ per 24hrs. food 30 for a sandwich through room service. I was only there for 3 nights and i had to spend as much on the phone bill as a night in the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top