$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
55 reviews
couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of... See full review

  • Penny world traveller
  • Feb 11, 2014
Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected... See full review

  • Philiz
  • Sep 13, 2013
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8622 151.2127
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Brilliantly located in the Com. Business District. Stunning

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.6 / 5
36 out of 55
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
5
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
Globetrotter Guy
Houston, Texas, USA
Nov 29, 2009

Very nice and excellent location.

When I returned home, I had a letter from the hotel with a bill charged to my credit card for mini-bar charges. Our mini bar was never used. I am in contact with the hotel to resolve this problem now. So, you may want to tell them to close the bill completely (checking the mini bar) when you leave so you dont get any surprises when you get home like I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera House and all city transportation is one block away as well as the FREE downtown bus you can use to get to various spots around the city. This is the green bus in front of Circular Quay. Use it and save money!

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Wish I was back in Oz
Washington DC
May 17, 2010

Great Location

Sir Stamford is in a great location to get to what I think is the hub of Sydney, Circular Quay. The staff was very helpful in terms of restaurant suggestions and transportation. The room is nice and clean. The hotel has a bit of a worn feel to it, but not to a point where it looks unkept. Would definitly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some good dining deals in The Rocks, only about a 10-15 min walk away.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Oxnard, Ca
Feb 23, 2010

Very nice, quiet older-style hotel.

We stayed only one night after disembarking from a cruise ship. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Good location - opposite the Botanical Gardens and just a couple of minutes away from Circular Quay. An older-style fairly small hotel, but very comfortable. Our room was extremely spacious with a well-appointed bathroom with lots of marble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 11, 2010

Sir Stamford in Sydney

Perfect location and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff was fantastic and so helpful with everything we needed. Would recommend to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Saratoga, CA
Jan 19, 2011

Sir Stamford

This is a great hotel especially the location an price value. Rooms have lots of space, very clean and the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. It is minutes away from the Opera House and Harbour Brige. It is a smaller hotel in an older building (right next to the historic Inter-Continental) so the feel is very English with a more formal bar and dining area. I can stay here again when I return to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Hop-On Hop-Off stop right across from the hotel. This is an inexpensive way to get an overview of the many different districts of Sydney before deciding where to go spend more time. It also does a Bondi Loop which takes you out to Bondi Beach and several of the more scenic routes outside the main city.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
lencole
Santa Clarita, CA
Feb 10, 2010

Exceptional Value - Old Style Elegance

You can't get any closer to the Opera House in old style elegant accomodations. . . period!!! We also spent 2 nights in the Intercontinental Hotel (also excellent but larger) immediately next door on the upslope side. [...] The 9th floor (10 story hotel) room was excellent, facing the botanical garden and with an Opera House view from the balcony. Large room. Large bathroom - light gray marble everyhere - large mirrorred wall - separate shower and bath - toilet enclosed behind shuttered door - double lavatory sinks with fine fixtures and ample liquids - 110 volts for shavers - plenty of towels - robes. Closet inclued hair drier, iron & ironing board slippers. Lots of electrical outlets.The staff greets you with a smile every time you enter or exit. They were extremely helpful and cheerful. We did not eat at their restaurant or bars choosing the more trendy spots on the Circular Quay.Parking is very limited in Sydney and very expensive. The Stamford offers valet parking at the front door at 45 AUD or Self Parking a very short walk on the sidewalk around the corner is 35 AUD per day for multiple entry but you won't want to take the car out uless you are sure you can find parking at your destination. The Circular Quay district offers everything you will need with a very short walk (less than 100 yards) down the moderate hill. Circular Quay (vert close) gives easy access to all forms of transportation except airport. Cab fare to the airport was only 41 AUD (far less than a rental car and parking fees)only a few dollars more than the super shuttle and wll worth the extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
skb3840
Spring Lake, MI
Feb 10, 2010

Great place

The hotel is in a great locstion. Just a short walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay and the Royal Botantical Gardens. The staqff was very friendly and helpful, especially when you don't know the area. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a Blue Moountain Tour with Blue Diamond Tours. A family business that takes a max of 12 persons and is very flexible and can work around the weaqther, etc.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Islamorada, FL
Feb 24, 2011

Very comfortable old world charm

Very comfortable place to stay. Ideally located for activities in the CBD. Would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SeLah just around the corner has superb Australia gourmet bistro fare at a fairly reasonable price.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 9, 2011

Great location

Hotel was clean, friendly staff, and ideally located about two blocks from Circular Quay. We walked down to the Quay every day - you could catch a bus, take a ferry ride, take a cruise, dine, and walk to the Opera House and, of course, see Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk down to Circular Quay - you'll find all kinds of recreational activities. Cruising, ferry out to Watsons Bay, Darling Harbour, and many more. Walk to the Rocks area and go to the Discovery Museum to find out informative information on the history of the Rocks area.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
64 Red Mustang
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Location, Location, Location.

We have stayed in Sydney several times in the past few years. This was the first time we stayed at this property. In the past we have stayed at the Four Seasons, Quay West, and The Grace. All have pros and cons. What I loved about this property was the location. We wanted a nice hotel near the Circular Quay, the Rocks, the Opera House and the Botanical Park. This property provided us all that. We got a great rate on the property and other online reviews is what sealed the deal on selecting this hotel for this visit. Since we arrived early morning from our overseas flight we knew we were not going to be able to check into the room early, especially since it was a Sunday morning. However, they did check us in at the desk, take our luggage and offered to phone us when the room was ready. We were able to get checked in prior to the stated check in time which was appreciated. The lobby is very nice, it is elegant, but also comfortable. We did not eat at restaurant so cannot make any comments on that. The room was spacious, we just had a superior room and we had no complaints with it. The bathrooms were nice and large. I will agree with some of the other reviews about the style of furniture is a bland and feels outdated but it is in good condition. Considering how much time we spent in the room it is not something worth being bothersome about the visit. The only issues that I did have was since we only went with the Superior Room it was not the best room location in the property. We were on the 3rd floor on the Park side and on the corner. We were next to a building that was under construction. No, we did not hear them actually working on the building but when the delivery trucks were bringing supplies to the street front before sunrise on Monday morning that was a bit distracting. Then the other slight annoyance is since the property is located near the Opera House a lot of the tour buses (large and small) park across from the property waiting for their tourist to be done with shows, tours or whatever. So being on the 3rd floor we were looking out the window at that with people offloading, roaming and just the sound of some of the buses moving about. The rooms are pretty soundproof and the evenings are quiet (as their are no tour buses going then). I do believe if we had been located on the otherside of the property or even on a higher floor we would not have been complaining about that inconvienence. Overall it is a nice property and I would stay there again....but next time I would request a different room location. One thing that might be a negative to some folks if you have a hard time walking. There is a slight hill to walk up when returning from the Rocks or the Quay just a short city block. It would not be much of an issue unless you were walking with an aid or in a wheelchair. I would think most travelers would be happy with the property. They do have a lounge floor, which is designated for guests and is is more sofas/seating areas. They also have a business center if you need to get on a computer but you can either buy an hour on their system or you can buy a day's worth for your room. Enjoy your visit to Sydney - we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top