$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Travellers
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Great hotel, great location.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sir Stamford. The location is perfect for anyone visiting Sydney and wanting a "near" waterfront location. Close to the CBD, restaurants and the Opera House (make sure you check out the Opera Bar - great evening fun!). The rooms are nice, though a little dated. Very elegant type furnishing - not modern. We had a deluxe room that was huge! The bar is nice. Normal prices. Food in the bar is limited. Restaurant is nice for breakfast, didn't try for dinner. Pool deck is great for a little "outside" time. I'd definitely stay again if I wanted the same hotel type, but I'd probably go more modern next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera Bar (and general area). A 5 minute walk from the hotel and there are 10+ bars and restaurants on the steps of the Opera House. A really fun experience - even in the middle of winter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara Anne
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great Location

Very good. Location was perfect, and the staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants along the Esplanade offer great food and fantastic views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penny world traveller
Business
Austin Texas
Feb 11, 2014

couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of accommodation along with friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along Circular Quay towards the Opera House and enjoy watching all the ferries come and go in front of the Sydney Harbor Bridge. A great eatery on the quay is the Searock Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Bo
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Feb 9, 2011

Bonzer Booking!

From the minute that we walked in it was clear that we had lucked into what might be the best place to stay in all of Sydney. After 30 hours of travel, and arriving many hours before our room could have been expected to be ready, the bellboy brought us up to the pool/sauna/exercise center, and, after we showered and changed, brought us complimentary drinks to welcome us to Australia and the Sir Stamford. The service continued to be equally outstanding for the remainder of our stay! The room was very nicely appointed, breakfasts in the dining room were a great start to each day, and the bar/lounge was a very comfortable place to unwind after time spent exploring Sydney. And then there's the location -- equally outstanding. Right across from the Royal Botanical Gardens, a hop, skip, and a jump from the Opera House, and a few minutes from all the connections you might want to make by ferry, tram, or bus to anything you could want to see or do. We could not have done any better than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Sydney Cafe on the top floor of the Customs House. The food is divine, the view can't be topped, and, if you are lucky enough to make reservations on a day when there is live jazz, the overall experience is truly memorable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank the man
Business
Alamo, California
Oct 22, 2011

Fantastic location and service

Can't beat this place! It's about 1.5 blks from the harbour where the ferry runs and where the buses run. However, it's quiet. The people in the hotel were beyond friendly. Stu and Willie were fantastic and extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The proximity to public transportation was a great time and energy (really short walk) saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esoom
Business
Middletown Connecticut
Nov 5, 2011

First Class Accommodations

We enjoyed our 3 night stay immensely. Excellent location. Walking distance to Harbor and Opera House. Loved the elegant decor throughout the hotel. The sitting room off main lobby was so homey and cozy with a lovely wood burning fire place which was lit up in the evening. The marble bathrooms were exquisite and the king size bed so comfy. The rooms were exceptionally large. Plenty or room to relax after a long day of touring. Free internet was also a big plus. If looking for a hotel to stay at in Sidney, Look no further. This is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase combo train/bus/ferry ticket at Sydney airport. Includes round trip trains to Circular Quay to and from airport as well as unlimited public bus and ferry transportation during your stay. Great value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulH
Business
York, UK
Jan 18, 2013

Sir Stamford Sydney

Completely wonderful. Gorgeous suite in which Margaret Thatcher,Prince Charles and Paul Hogan (to name a few only) had resided. Staff were wonderful. Location perfect. Can not praise highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan M
Business
Corning, NY
Apr 17, 2013

Great Weekend in Sydney

The Sir Stamford exceeded all our expectations for a 5 star hotel. The room was beautiful and very comfortable with a nice view of the park and great location. The staff was exceptional without being overbearing. The Bar has a nice singer on Fri and Sat nights -- we even did some dancing. Food at the Bar and at breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to try the Dining Room which is closed on Sun and Mon. We enjoyed the outdoor terrace on the 5th floor for coffee. The pool, although small, was very pleasant as well. Our only very minor complaint is that the temperature of the shower in our room was difficult to control. We definitely hope to return to this hotel when we come back to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philiz
Business
Lakeland, Fla
Sep 13, 2013

Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected upgrade to an executive suite. On our return the staff treated us as family. Was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Transportation, dining, attraction such as Ferry Terminal, commuter rail, Opera House and the Sydney Harbour Bridge are all just blocks away. Ferry is the best to get to other tourist locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2009

Elegant Hotel in a Wonderful Location

Terrific location very close to sights and transportation. Elegant hotel, good room, a huge bath and a great [...] price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top