$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Position!

This hotel is perfectly positioned for a visit to Sydney. Walking distance to the Opera House,... See full review

  • Dove99
  • Sep 15, 2014
Amazing experience

We loved our stay at the Sir Stamford. The concierge, Troy, was so attentive and helpful. The rooms... See full review

  • Belmar girl
  • Aug 12, 2014
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Hotel Map

-33.8622 151.2127
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Brilliantly located in the Com. Business District. Stunning

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 9, 2011

Great location

Hotel was clean, friendly staff, and ideally located about two blocks from Circular Quay. We walked down to the Quay every day - you could catch a bus, take a ferry ride, take a cruise, dine, and walk to the Opera House and, of course, see Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk down to Circular Quay - you'll find all kinds of recreational activities. Cruising, ferry out to Watsons Bay, Darling Harbour, and many more. Walk to the Rocks area and go to the Discovery Museum to find out informative information on the history of the Rocks area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farawayfromhome
Business
Singapore
Sep 10, 2011

Sydney with the kids

This hotel was in the perfect location. I saved a fortune by not having to take taxis while I was in Sydney. We used the train, bus, and ferries all of which are walking distance from the Sir Stamford. We walked the Bridge at night and got some great pics of the Opera House. The only complaint I have was with the continental breakfast. I was charged $67 AUD for myself and two small kids. That's some expensive toast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancakes on the Rocks is a short walking distance from the hotel and had good food that wasn't too expensive. We also did the Roar and Snore at Taronga Zoo and loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy BC
Business
Moline, IL
May 12, 2010

Great location and ambience

The staff is very courteous, friendly and responsive. My room was large and clean. I loved the huge bathroom with separate shower, bath and toliet. The location for Sydney was perfect. It was less that a 5 minute walk to the ferries, Opera House or many great resturants. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Jul 11, 2010

Very good (but not great) hotel

The hotel is at a perfect location, has a wonderful ambiance and the staff is very friendly. The rooms themselves, however, aren't completely clean. When I arrived there were a handful of stains on the walls, linen and floor as well as the carcass of a large insect in the corner of the bedroom. Overall it's a very good hotel with only a few minor flaws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga, CA
Jan 19, 2011

Sir Stamford

This is a great hotel especially the location an price value. Rooms have lots of space, very clean and the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. It is minutes away from the Opera House and Harbour Brige. It is a smaller hotel in an older building (right next to the historic Inter-Continental) so the feel is very English with a more formal bar and dining area. I can stay here again when I return to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Hop-On Hop-Off stop right across from the hotel. This is an inexpensive way to get an overview of the many different districts of Sydney before deciding where to go spend more time. It also does a Bondi Loop which takes you out to Bondi Beach and several of the more scenic routes outside the main city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rwrightk
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 17, 2011

Fantastic Hotel in great location

The hotel was in a great location, the botanic garden is across the street, opera house is just 2 blocks away, and the ferry's and train are just a block away. The staff was very helpful. On an upper floor you will either have a view of the port, botanic garden, or the city. On a previous stay in Sydney I stayed near the airport and had to take the train to see anything, and this waas so much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great dining and shopping choices so close by. Be prepared to spend a lot for even fish & chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
64 Red Mustang
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Location, Location, Location.

We have stayed in Sydney several times in the past few years. This was the first time we stayed at this property. In the past we have stayed at the Four Seasons, Quay West, and The Grace. All have pros and cons. What I loved about this property was the location. We wanted a nice hotel near the Circular Quay, the Rocks, the Opera House and the Botanical Park. This property provided us all that. We got a great rate on the property and other online reviews is what sealed the deal on selecting this hotel for this visit. Since we arrived early morning from our overseas flight we knew we were not going to be able to check into the room early, especially since it was a Sunday morning. However, they did check us in at the desk, take our luggage and offered to phone us when the room was ready. We were able to get checked in prior to the stated check in time which was appreciated. The lobby is very nice, it is elegant, but also comfortable. We did not eat at restaurant so cannot make any comments on that. The room was spacious, we just had a superior room and we had no complaints with it. The bathrooms were nice and large. I will agree with some of the other reviews about the style of furniture is a bland and feels outdated but it is in good condition. Considering how much time we spent in the room it is not something worth being bothersome about the visit. The only issues that I did have was since we only went with the Superior Room it was not the best room location in the property. We were on the 3rd floor on the Park side and on the corner. We were next to a building that was under construction. No, we did not hear them actually working on the building but when the delivery trucks were bringing supplies to the street front before sunrise on Monday morning that was a bit distracting. Then the other slight annoyance is since the property is located near the Opera House a lot of the tour buses (large and small) park across from the property waiting for their tourist to be done with shows, tours or whatever. So being on the 3rd floor we were looking out the window at that with people offloading, roaming and just the sound of some of the buses moving about. The rooms are pretty soundproof and the evenings are quiet (as their are no tour buses going then). I do believe if we had been located on the otherside of the property or even on a higher floor we would not have been complaining about that inconvienence. Overall it is a nice property and I would stay there again....but next time I would request a different room location. One thing that might be a negative to some folks if you have a hard time walking. There is a slight hill to walk up when returning from the Rocks or the Quay just a short city block. It would not be much of an issue unless you were walking with an aid or in a wheelchair. I would think most travelers would be happy with the property. They do have a lounge floor, which is designated for guests and is is more sofas/seating areas. They also have a business center if you need to get on a computer but you can either buy an hour on their system or you can buy a day's worth for your room. Enjoy your visit to Sydney - we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Travellers
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Great hotel, great location.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sir Stamford. The location is perfect for anyone visiting Sydney and wanting a "near" waterfront location. Close to the CBD, restaurants and the Opera House (make sure you check out the Opera Bar - great evening fun!). The rooms are nice, though a little dated. Very elegant type furnishing - not modern. We had a deluxe room that was huge! The bar is nice. Normal prices. Food in the bar is limited. Restaurant is nice for breakfast, didn't try for dinner. Pool deck is great for a little "outside" time. I'd definitely stay again if I wanted the same hotel type, but I'd probably go more modern next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera Bar (and general area). A 5 minute walk from the hotel and there are 10+ bars and restaurants on the steps of the Opera House. A really fun experience - even in the middle of winter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penny world traveller
Business
Austin Texas
Feb 11, 2014

couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of accommodation along with friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along Circular Quay towards the Opera House and enjoy watching all the ferries come and go in front of the Sydney Harbor Bridge. A great eatery on the quay is the Searock Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Bo
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Feb 9, 2011

Bonzer Booking!

From the minute that we walked in it was clear that we had lucked into what might be the best place to stay in all of Sydney. After 30 hours of travel, and arriving many hours before our room could have been expected to be ready, the bellboy brought us up to the pool/sauna/exercise center, and, after we showered and changed, brought us complimentary drinks to welcome us to Australia and the Sir Stamford. The service continued to be equally outstanding for the remainder of our stay! The room was very nicely appointed, breakfasts in the dining room were a great start to each day, and the bar/lounge was a very comfortable place to unwind after time spent exploring Sydney. And then there's the location -- equally outstanding. Right across from the Royal Botanical Gardens, a hop, skip, and a jump from the Opera House, and a few minutes from all the connections you might want to make by ferry, tram, or bus to anything you could want to see or do. We could not have done any better than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Sydney Cafe on the top floor of the Customs House. The food is divine, the view can't be topped, and, if you are lucky enough to make reservations on a day when there is live jazz, the overall experience is truly memorable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top