$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farawayfromhome
Business
Singapore
Sep 10, 2011

Sydney with the kids

This hotel was in the perfect location. I saved a fortune by not having to take taxis while I was in Sydney. We used the train, bus, and ferries all of which are walking distance from the Sir Stamford. We walked the Bridge at night and got some great pics of the Opera House. The only complaint I have was with the continental breakfast. I was charged $67 AUD for myself and two small kids. That's some expensive toast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancakes on the Rocks is a short walking distance from the hotel and had good food that wasn't too expensive. We also did the Roar and Snore at Taronga Zoo and loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy BC
Business
Moline, IL
May 12, 2010

Great location and ambience

The staff is very courteous, friendly and responsive. My room was large and clean. I loved the huge bathroom with separate shower, bath and toliet. The location for Sydney was perfect. It was less that a 5 minute walk to the ferries, Opera House or many great resturants. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Jul 11, 2010

Very good (but not great) hotel

The hotel is at a perfect location, has a wonderful ambiance and the staff is very friendly. The rooms themselves, however, aren't completely clean. When I arrived there were a handful of stains on the walls, linen and floor as well as the carcass of a large insect in the corner of the bedroom. Overall it's a very good hotel with only a few minor flaws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga, CA
Jan 19, 2011

Sir Stamford

This is a great hotel especially the location an price value. Rooms have lots of space, very clean and the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. It is minutes away from the Opera House and Harbour Brige. It is a smaller hotel in an older building (right next to the historic Inter-Continental) so the feel is very English with a more formal bar and dining area. I can stay here again when I return to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Hop-On Hop-Off stop right across from the hotel. This is an inexpensive way to get an overview of the many different districts of Sydney before deciding where to go spend more time. It also does a Bondi Loop which takes you out to Bondi Beach and several of the more scenic routes outside the main city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rwrightk
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 17, 2011

Fantastic Hotel in great location

The hotel was in a great location, the botanic garden is across the street, opera house is just 2 blocks away, and the ferry's and train are just a block away. The staff was very helpful. On an upper floor you will either have a view of the port, botanic garden, or the city. On a previous stay in Sydney I stayed near the airport and had to take the train to see anything, and this waas so much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great dining and shopping choices so close by. Be prepared to spend a lot for even fish & chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
64 Red Mustang
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Location, Location, Location.

We have stayed in Sydney several times in the past few years. This was the first time we stayed at this property. In the past we have stayed at the Four Seasons, Quay West, and The Grace. All have pros and cons. What I loved about this property was the location. We wanted a nice hotel near the Circular Quay, the Rocks, the Opera House and the Botanical Park. This property provided us all that. We got a great rate on the property and other online reviews is what sealed the deal on selecting this hotel for this visit. Since we arrived early morning from our overseas flight we knew we were not going to be able to check into the room early, especially since it was a Sunday morning. However, they did check us in at the desk, take our luggage and offered to phone us when the room was ready. We were able to get checked in prior to the stated check in time which was appreciated. The lobby is very nice, it is elegant, but also comfortable. We did not eat at restaurant so cannot make any comments on that. The room was spacious, we just had a superior room and we had no complaints with it. The bathrooms were nice and large. I will agree with some of the other reviews about the style of furniture is a bland and feels outdated but it is in good condition. Considering how much time we spent in the room it is not something worth being bothersome about the visit. The only issues that I did have was since we only went with the Superior Room it was not the best room location in the property. We were on the 3rd floor on the Park side and on the corner. We were next to a building that was under construction. No, we did not hear them actually working on the building but when the delivery trucks were bringing supplies to the street front before sunrise on Monday morning that was a bit distracting. Then the other slight annoyance is since the property is located near the Opera House a lot of the tour buses (large and small) park across from the property waiting for their tourist to be done with shows, tours or whatever. So being on the 3rd floor we were looking out the window at that with people offloading, roaming and just the sound of some of the buses moving about. The rooms are pretty soundproof and the evenings are quiet (as their are no tour buses going then). I do believe if we had been located on the otherside of the property or even on a higher floor we would not have been complaining about that inconvienence. Overall it is a nice property and I would stay there again....but next time I would request a different room location. One thing that might be a negative to some folks if you have a hard time walking. There is a slight hill to walk up when returning from the Rocks or the Quay just a short city block. It would not be much of an issue unless you were walking with an aid or in a wheelchair. I would think most travelers would be happy with the property. They do have a lounge floor, which is designated for guests and is is more sofas/seating areas. They also have a business center if you need to get on a computer but you can either buy an hour on their system or you can buy a day's worth for your room. Enjoy your visit to Sydney - we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Travellers
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Great hotel, great location.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sir Stamford. The location is perfect for anyone visiting Sydney and wanting a "near" waterfront location. Close to the CBD, restaurants and the Opera House (make sure you check out the Opera Bar - great evening fun!). The rooms are nice, though a little dated. Very elegant type furnishing - not modern. We had a deluxe room that was huge! The bar is nice. Normal prices. Food in the bar is limited. Restaurant is nice for breakfast, didn't try for dinner. Pool deck is great for a little "outside" time. I'd definitely stay again if I wanted the same hotel type, but I'd probably go more modern next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera Bar (and general area). A 5 minute walk from the hotel and there are 10+ bars and restaurants on the steps of the Opera House. A really fun experience - even in the middle of winter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globetrotter Guy
Business
Houston, Texas, USA
Nov 29, 2009

Very nice and excellent location.

When I returned home, I had a letter from the hotel with a bill charged to my credit card for mini-bar charges. Our mini bar was never used. I am in contact with the hotel to resolve this problem now. So, you may want to tell them to close the bill completely (checking the mini bar) when you leave so you dont get any surprises when you get home like I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera House and all city transportation is one block away as well as the FREE downtown bus you can use to get to various spots around the city. This is the green bus in front of Circular Quay. Use it and save money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russue
Business
Beaconsfield UK
Dec 8, 2014

Good but needs to be better

Having just stayed at 3 other 5* in Austraila on our trip we found Sir Stanford a bit dissapointing. Sink taps leaked (both) when one was turned on, the bath did not drain properly even when using the shower. (yes no seperate shower). Every other hotel supplied water in the room & free wifi, after complaining these were supplied FOC. House keeping need to pay more attention as they often missed some towels & refill tea bag etc. The staff were always helpful but felt we need to chase. All a bit mean & petty if you want to keep clients & 5* rating (Wake up management)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harry S.
Business
Limberton
Jan 18, 2015

Just OK

The Sir Stamford was conveniently located to the cruise, except for the one block, uphill climb with luggage. Check in went smoothly and the bellman was very helpful. The room was very large, with a decent view, but it was chilly and did not have any heat. I ended up with a chest cold after the three night stay. Except for the large rooms, it was just an average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk from the cruise terminal and avoid the taxi line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top