$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
100 reviews
couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of... See full review

  • Penny world traveller
  • Feb 11, 2014
Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected... See full review

  • Philiz
  • Sep 13, 2013
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8622 151.2127
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Brilliantly located in the Com. Business District. Stunning

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 11, 2010

Sir Stamford in Sydney

Perfect location and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff was fantastic and so helpful with everything we needed. Would recommend to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 11, 2010

Sir Stamford in Sydney

Perfect location and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff was fantastic and so helpful with everything we needed. Would recommend to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Ontario
Jan 10, 2010

Exceptional service and location

This is a genuine five-star hotel offering exceptional service in Sydney's prime tourist location. It is one block from Circular Quay, where the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney ferries are located. It is directly accross the road from the beautiful Botanical Gardens. It is five minutes' walk from the train station, which offers direct access to the airport. We were treated with respect by every member of the hotel staff. Each time we saw a staff member in the lobby or a hallway, they always greeted us with a "good morning", "good afternoon" etc. As we were travelling on a budget, we bought breakfast provisions at a supermarket and ate in our room - we ordered two empty bowls and two spoons from room service and we were impressed that the spoons are made from silver. The bathroom was very large and appeared to be tiled in marble, with beautiful silver fixtures. Our room had nice thick curtains so we could enjoy a nap during the day after an early morning flight. We could hear the traffic noise from our room - this is not a problem if you are a heavy sleeper or if you have a pair of earplugs (I always carry a pair with me). We were fortunate that when we arrived at 10am, our room was already prepared for us. From nearby Circular Quay, we caught the ferry to Manly for $6.10 each way - this is unbelievable value as this ferry showcases Sydney Harbour, passing by the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, some of the north shore parks, and harbourside suburbs. In Manly, waiting for the returning ferry to depart, we saw a penguin fishing for its dinner. The Botanical Gardens (http://www.rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au/welcome_to_bgt/royal_botanic_gardens) are also very beautiful and are just across the road from the hotel. We also enjoyed visiting the Art Gallery of New South Wales (http://www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au/), which is free and located on the other side of the Botanical Gardens. The public transport system is brilliant and parking is expensive (driving is also quite stressful and frustrating in Sydney), so being so close to the ferry terminal and train station is a real bonus and made for a relaxing experience. The train fare was $15 to the airport each way and this was also much faster than catching a taxi. This hotel is unbelievable value, we were so impressed with the whole experience. I would recommend it to anyone at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best that Sydney has to offer is accessible by foot, from this hotel. Access Sydney's coastal suburbs and attractions by ferry and inner suburbs and attractions by train. You can also easily access Sydney's beautiful national parks from this central location.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Ontario
Jan 10, 2010

Exceptional service and location

This is a genuine five-star hotel offering exceptional service in Sydney's prime tourist location. It is one block from Circular Quay, where the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney ferries are located. It is directly accross the road from the beautiful Botanical Gardens. It is five minutes' walk from the train station, which offers direct access to the airport. We were treated with respect by every member of the hotel staff. Each time we saw a staff member in the lobby or a hallway, they always greeted us with a "good morning", "good afternoon" etc. As we were travelling on a budget, we bought breakfast provisions at a supermarket and ate in our room - we ordered two empty bowls and two spoons from room service and we were impressed that the spoons are made from silver. The bathroom was very large and appeared to be tiled in marble, with beautiful silver fixtures. Our room had nice thick curtains so we could enjoy a nap during the day after an early morning flight. We could hear the traffic noise from our room - this is not a problem if you are a heavy sleeper or if you have a pair of earplugs (I always carry a pair with me). We were fortunate that when we arrived at 10am, our room was already prepared for us. From nearby Circular Quay, we caught the ferry to Manly for $6.10 each way - this is unbelievable value as this ferry showcases Sydney Harbour, passing by the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, some of the north shore parks, and harbourside suburbs. In Manly, waiting for the returning ferry to depart, we saw a penguin fishing for its dinner. The Botanical Gardens (http://www.rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au/welcome_to_bgt/royal_botanic_gardens) are also very beautiful and are just across the road from the hotel. We also enjoyed visiting the Art Gallery of New South Wales (http://www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au/), which is free and located on the other side of the Botanical Gardens. The public transport system is brilliant and parking is expensive (driving is also quite stressful and frustrating in Sydney), so being so close to the ferry terminal and train station is a real bonus and made for a relaxing experience. The train fare was $15 to the airport each way and this was also much faster than catching a taxi. This hotel is unbelievable value, we were so impressed with the whole experience. I would recommend it to anyone at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best that Sydney has to offer is accessible by foot, from this hotel. Access Sydney's coastal suburbs and attractions by ferry and inner suburbs and attractions by train. You can also easily access Sydney's beautiful national parks from this central location.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galey
Los Angeles
Jan 9, 2010

New Year's Eve Anniversary

Had a wonderful New Year's Eve 20th Anniversary there with watching the fireworks from the roof of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galey
Los Angeles
Jan 9, 2010

New Year's Eve Anniversary

Had a wonderful New Year's Eve 20th Anniversary there with watching the fireworks from the roof of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura, CA
Jan 3, 2010

Excellent location, lovely hotel

This is a great hotel in a very good location. The walk to the quay and back is short and although some complain about the hill it's nothing. The staff was friendly, the room was great and we even had a small view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet is expensive in Sydney. However there is a Starbucks nearby with very reasonable internet if you have a laptop.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura, CA
Jan 3, 2010

Excellent location, lovely hotel

This is a great hotel in a very good location. The walk to the quay and back is short and although some complain about the hill it's nothing. The staff was friendly, the room was great and we even had a small view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet is expensive in Sydney. However there is a Starbucks nearby with very reasonable internet if you have a laptop.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glenview, IL
Dec 23, 2009

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

We arrived early, and the staff was very helpful in getting us into our rooms before the usual check-in time. The location is excellent. It is only a couple of blocks to the Opera House and to many fine restaurants, stores and harbor cruise companies. We chose Sir Stamford because it offered a supurb location,, superior amenities and a price below other comparable, highly-rated hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No other hotel offers such a great location.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glenview, IL
Dec 23, 2009

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

We arrived early, and the staff was very helpful in getting us into our rooms before the usual check-in time. The location is excellent. It is only a couple of blocks to the Opera House and to many fine restaurants, stores and harbor cruise companies. We chose Sir Stamford because it offered a supurb location,, superior amenities and a price below other comparable, highly-rated hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No other hotel offers such a great location.

Back to menu Return to top