$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bebelle
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 10, 2011

Loved it!

Excellent location - Huge room - Reasonably priced. Did not like the fact of a $25 per day charge for internet. Seems customary in AU. Eat at the bar: good prices and great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch at food fairs. Excellent food, not the fast food we're used to in North America.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveling Southern Belle
Business
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Jun 9, 2010

Perfect Hotel at Center of Everything

The charming staff, concierge ([...]), bellhop ([...]), bartender ([...]), and the entire dining waitstaff went out of their way to make us comfortable. The bartender in the British-style bar remembered our favorite drinks; loved the smell of the cozy fireplaces in the lobby and bar and relaxed on comfortable couches in the bar area. The restaurant waitstaff always accommodated our request for a window when making a reservation. High tea is also available each afternoon. Housekeeping services were excellent. We would definitely stay here again because of the ideal central location to everything in downtown Sydney, right across from the Royal Botanic Gardens, a block from Circular Quay, the Opera House, short walk to The Rocks, short walk to Hyde Park and St. Mary's Cathedral. Loved the outstanding artwork and paintings in the lobby and bar. Checked in around 7am and we were taken immediately to our luxurious room/suite even though check-in wasn't until 3pm. Concierge confirmed our fantastic tours to the Hunter Valley wineries, to the Blue Mountains and to the northern surf beaches on the ocean. Had absolutely no complaints about this hotel. It was everything we expected from this level of hotel with old world charm and the attitude of the staff was very much appreciated, as a sour attitude can make for an unpleasant visit. Am baffled about negative comments about staff, but if you are nice and respectful to people, they are nice and respectful to you in return. Have travelled the world over and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your Saturday afternoon in The Rocks. There were live bands playing in the streets; the locals were out and about, taking advantage of the beautiful Fall-type weather; it was the beginning of June and in the 60's. The outdoor cafes were packed with locals off work as well as tourists. If you get an outdoor table at the Lowenbrau Keller, across from Clock Tower Square, you will be right in the middle of all the action during the afternoon, and you'll hear the bands from down the street. Just a perfect, relaxing day after a week of sightseeing/tours/walking, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reno, NV
Nov 5, 2009

perfect hotel

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. I got a great price online and couldn't believe how great it was once we checked in. We were able to walk to great restaurants, circular quay train station, ferries, botanical garden and opera house all within 5 minutes. It doesn't get any better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn, world traveler
Business
Marquette, MI
Dec 16, 2009

Superb location and hotel

The location does not get better - we stayed over by Darling Harbor before our cruise and loved this location much better. It is 2 blocks from the waterfront and opera house and across the street from Botanical Gardens. It is an easy walk to Victoria Mall and Sky Tower. We walked over to the Rocks, across the bridge and along the bay. Very convenient! The hotel is very nice - small and quiet with a very large room and beautiful marble bathroom. We were on top floor overlooking the water and botanical garden. The roof top pool is also very beautiful and restful. They very willingly stored 2 large suitcases while we were on a 10 day cruise and allowed us to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many wonderful events and shows at Opera House - we attended a drag Christmas Show that was hilarious and ate on the waterfront. It was beautiful with a full moon over the Opera House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylvania, OH
Nov 8, 2009

Rooms, location, price - All Nice

We took the train in from the airport. (Bought a one week pass, which allows travel on the Sydney trains, busses, and ferries) It was no big deal even with all the luggage we had. The only problem we had,a nd it wasn't a problem was getting the luggage up the sidewalk which is going uphill to the Hotel. If I am their again I would do it the same way. Take the tour of the Opera House. We took the ferry to Darling Harbor which is a great entertainment / shopping area. We had dinner in a refurbished steam ship that has been converted to a restaurant in the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Emporia
Oct 28, 2008

Great location for tourists

Great location for visiting Sydney. Close to transportation, ferries, trains, and easy walking distance to many areas. Short walk to the Opera House. Restaurants and shopping close by in the Rocks area, and Opera House area. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Room was large, especially the bathroom. The business center allowed access to internet for small fee. The fitness center was small, did not visit the pool area. Would recommend the hotel for tourist or business visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Rocks area for shopping and dining. Pancakes on the Rocks is a great place for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OAKTravelers
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 16, 2010

Great Stay in Circular Quay

We had a great experience here. Arrived before room was ready, and staff encouraged us to use the shower in the fitness center and leave our luggage. Throughout the stay the staff was courteous and friendly, and readily shared great suggestions. One of the best was the Blue Mountain tour provided by Blue Diamond. Rooms were comfortable and clean, and as noted above, the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free CBD Shuttle that runs until 3 or so during the week; 6:30 on the weekend is a great way to get around and save some money. [Hotel suggested this, and rightfully discouraged a more expensive pass.]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug & Val World Travelers
Business
Des Moines Iowa, USA
Dec 1, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

The location could not be better as the Sir Stamford is within walking distance from the train station at Circular Quay even considering dragging our luggage. The opera house is only about 300 yards away, the harbor jetties within 5 minute walk and the Rocks area about a 10 minute walk. The room was very spacious. We have stayed at and paid more for hotel rooms that would have fit inside the bathroom in our Sir Stamford room. The king size bed was extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian restaurant in the Rocks, Caminatto's (or similar spelling). It is staffed by Italian speaking staff and has pasta dishes that rival anything we have had in Italy. We ate there twice; great food, great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, AR
Nov 17, 2009

Great stay at Sir Stamford!

Sir Stamford provides the best hotel experience -- for someone who enjoys a smaller hotel, traditional furnishings, quiet -- but in the middle of the city. Prices varied widely, so shop around. Couldn't be more convenient for a first-time visitor. The train from the airport brings you straight to Circular Quay, then walk around the corner to the hotel. Then back to CQ for access to all the ferries, buses, and trains. The rooms are comfortably large, baths bigger than some hotel rooms in Europe, and the balconies let in the fresh air and wildlife-sounds of Sydney (request a park-side room). The last day, two Cockatoos appeared on our eighth floor balcony like a magic farewell party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in Sydney is generally expensive and disappointing. But some good street food is available in Rocks area; also a reliable Subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
May 22, 2010

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Hotel was in an excellent location, in walking distance to the ferries, Sydney Opera House and "The Rocks". The staff was very accommodating and helpful in providing restaurant and tour suggestions. The room was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top