$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esoom
Middletown Connecticut
Nov 5, 2011

First Class Accommodations

We enjoyed our 3 night stay immensely. Excellent location. Walking distance to Harbor and Opera House. Loved the elegant decor throughout the hotel. The sitting room off main lobby was so homey and cozy with a lovely wood burning fire place which was lit up in the evening. The marble bathrooms were exquisite and the king size bed so comfy. The rooms were exceptionally large. Plenty or room to relax after a long day of touring. Free internet was also a big plus. If looking for a hotel to stay at in Sidney, Look no further. This is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase combo train/bus/ferry ticket at Sydney airport. Includes round trip trains to Circular Quay to and from airport as well as unlimited public bus and ferry transportation during your stay. Great value!

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn, world traveler
Business
Marquette, MI
Dec 16, 2009

Superb location and hotel

The location does not get better - we stayed over by Darling Harbor before our cruise and loved this location much better. It is 2 blocks from the waterfront and opera house and across the street from Botanical Gardens. It is an easy walk to Victoria Mall and Sky Tower. We walked over to the Rocks, across the bridge and along the bay. Very convenient! The hotel is very nice - small and quiet with a very large room and beautiful marble bathroom. We were on top floor overlooking the water and botanical garden. The roof top pool is also very beautiful and restful. They very willingly stored 2 large suitcases while we were on a 10 day cruise and allowed us to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many wonderful events and shows at Opera House - we attended a drag Christmas Show that was hilarious and ate on the waterfront. It was beautiful with a full moon over the Opera House.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug & Val World Travelers
Business
Des Moines Iowa, USA
Dec 1, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

The location could not be better as the Sir Stamford is within walking distance from the train station at Circular Quay even considering dragging our luggage. The opera house is only about 300 yards away, the harbor jetties within 5 minute walk and the Rocks area about a 10 minute walk. The room was very spacious. We have stayed at and paid more for hotel rooms that would have fit inside the bathroom in our Sir Stamford room. The king size bed was extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian restaurant in the Rocks, Caminatto's (or similar spelling). It is staffed by Italian speaking staff and has pasta dishes that rival anything we have had in Italy. We ate there twice; great food, great service.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globetrotter Guy
Business
Houston, Texas, USA
Nov 29, 2009

Very nice and excellent location.

When I returned home, I had a letter from the hotel with a bill charged to my credit card for mini-bar charges. Our mini bar was never used. I am in contact with the hotel to resolve this problem now. So, you may want to tell them to close the bill completely (checking the mini bar) when you leave so you dont get any surprises when you get home like I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera House and all city transportation is one block away as well as the FREE downtown bus you can use to get to various spots around the city. This is the green bus in front of Circular Quay. Use it and save money!

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2009

Elegant Hotel in a Wonderful Location

Terrific location very close to sights and transportation. Elegant hotel, good room, a huge bath and a great [...] price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, AR
Nov 17, 2009

Great stay at Sir Stamford!

Sir Stamford provides the best hotel experience -- for someone who enjoys a smaller hotel, traditional furnishings, quiet -- but in the middle of the city. Prices varied widely, so shop around. Couldn't be more convenient for a first-time visitor. The train from the airport brings you straight to Circular Quay, then walk around the corner to the hotel. Then back to CQ for access to all the ferries, buses, and trains. The rooms are comfortably large, baths bigger than some hotel rooms in Europe, and the balconies let in the fresh air and wildlife-sounds of Sydney (request a park-side room). The last day, two Cockatoos appeared on our eighth floor balcony like a magic farewell party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in Sydney is generally expensive and disappointing. But some good street food is available in Rocks area; also a reliable Subway.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylvania, OH
Nov 8, 2009

Rooms, location, price - All Nice

We took the train in from the airport. (Bought a one week pass, which allows travel on the Sydney trains, busses, and ferries) It was no big deal even with all the luggage we had. The only problem we had,a nd it wasn't a problem was getting the luggage up the sidewalk which is going uphill to the Hotel. If I am their again I would do it the same way. Take the tour of the Opera House. We took the ferry to Darling Harbor which is a great entertainment / shopping area. We had dinner in a refurbished steam ship that has been converted to a restaurant in the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reno, NV
Nov 5, 2009

perfect hotel

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. I got a great price online and couldn't believe how great it was once we checked in. We were able to walk to great restaurants, circular quay train station, ferries, botanical garden and opera house all within 5 minutes. It doesn't get any better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chuck cendak
Business
millbrae, ca
Oct 30, 2009

sir stamford at circular quay

the hotel was very accomodating holding our luggage for us while we visited the "reef" and extremely accomodating with dinner plans, touring, etc. only comment, I'd like to see another mirror in the room... if the bathroom was being used only one mirror at the luggage rack with poor lighting! a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotl was very helpful finding us a restaurant within walking distance

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Fixit
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 26, 2009

Could not be better located

The excellent location one block to the ferries and to the train station, with the express train to the airport, made it so easy to get around this major city. The hotel is an old standard, formerly the Ritz Carlton, and should appeal to all travelers. 9

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico CA
Oct 26, 2009

Great Hotel

We arrived early in the morning as our flight was long from the U.S. to Australia. I had asked for an early check in and they had everything ready for us. We were somewhat shocked at the price of the breakfast $25, but we were hungry and tired so we went for it. The location of this hotel can't be beat. The staff was polite and helpful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful location near the Opera House, ferries, bus and train terminals. Great for seeing the bontanic gardens across the street. You could walk to many activities.

Back to menu Return to top