$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Castle Rock CO
Oct 19, 2009

Perfect location, wonderful hotel!

The hotel was beautiful and we loved the location. Across the street from the Royal Gardens and a short walk to everything. The concierge staff was especially nice and constantly offered to help us. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but did have delicious small plates and martinis at The Bar. LOVED the bartender who was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Cruisers
Business
Magnolia, TX
Mar 21, 2010

Glorious Five Night Stay

We checked into the hotel after our 27 night cruise on the Pacific Princess from Los Angeles and found the hotel just a few steps or stroll from the Overseas Cruise Terminal in the Circular Quay area of Sydney. The Opera House, the Royal Botanic Garden is just steps away as well. With the [...] pricing we were able to save our resources for fees and dinners about town for the five days. Fantastic Victorian furnishings in the main foyer and sitting room. We especially enjoy the staff members. eagerness to help from room attendant to managers!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the ferries at Circular Quay and go to about a dozen neat places such as Manly Beach for surfing, Darling Harbor for Wildlife museum and Aquarium, Parramata for a long commute to the suburbs via water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
topat
Business
new york
Jun 11, 2009

Sir Stamford

A perfect location with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely walk through the Botanical Gardens and around the Opera House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Badger Bob
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Feb 14, 2010

Great place to stay

Hotel was beautiful (former Ritz-Carlton) & staff was outstanding. Location was perfect but there are some slight hills which might challenge someone with walking problems. We would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BostonQT
Business
Boston
Aug 4, 2011

Highly recommended+ excellent location

Charming traditional hotel in Sydney's most convenient location, 50 yards up the street from Circular Quay -- we could see the ferries and trains from the bedroom window, and the harbour bridge from the lounge window. We booked an "executive suite" which was a clean bright spacious corner suite. The hotel decor is traditional English right down to the fire crackling in the wood-panelled lobby lounge. The staff were consistently friendly, helpful and efficient --[...] deserve special thanks for extra help with our luggage. If only the wifi were free, this would be a homerun...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney has an awesome public transport network, and is a delightful city to walk around -- we didn't use a cab at all during our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glenview, IL
Dec 23, 2009

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

We arrived early, and the staff was very helpful in getting us into our rooms before the usual check-in time. The location is excellent. It is only a couple of blocks to the Opera House and to many fine restaurants, stores and harbor cruise companies. We chose Sir Stamford because it offered a supurb location,, superior amenities and a price below other comparable, highly-rated hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No other hotel offers such a great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 22, 2010

Great hotel and location.

Excellent room and location. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura, CA
Jan 3, 2010

Excellent location, lovely hotel

This is a great hotel in a very good location. The walk to the quay and back is short and although some complain about the hill it's nothing. The staff was friendly, the room was great and we even had a small view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet is expensive in Sydney. However there is a Starbucks nearby with very reasonable internet if you have a laptop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BB the Traveller
Business
Glendale, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Sydney Stunner

Perfect location in Circular Quay for exploring all of Sydney. Close location to train, Opera House, Harbour Bridge, The Rocks and Royal Botanical Garden. Lovely old hotel with very large rooms. Rooms have white marble bathrooms with separate tub/shower plus a juliet balcony with opening glass doors. Walk down Macquarrie Street towards the water and look left for steps leading to the Cahill walkway that takes you right by the Expressway and spans the Quay. Excellent city and harbor views that lead to the bridge, then take the stairs down to The Rocks. Beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney is very pricey. You can take advantage of the many dinner specials that pubs and hotels offer. Sir Stamford offered a buy one, get one free option that we did not try. Others have $10 steak nights; the one we tried was at the Glenmore Hotel in the Rocks. Perfect view of the Opera House from the rooftop balcony! Also try the grilled baby octopus at one of the kiosks by the train station at Circular Quay. We also loved the meat pies at Harry's Cafe de Wheels. The best meal we had, hands down, was at bill's in Darlinghurst. Bright open space with communal tables and the best scrambled eggs anywhere. Try the corn fritters with spinach, tomato and bacon!! (note this is a longer walk but well worth it...walk through Hyde Park on the way to Darlinghurst - spectacular!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Jan 10, 2010

Exceptional service and location

This is a genuine five-star hotel offering exceptional service in Sydney's prime tourist location. It is one block from Circular Quay, where the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney ferries are located. It is directly accross the road from the beautiful Botanical Gardens. It is five minutes' walk from the train station, which offers direct access to the airport. We were treated with respect by every member of the hotel staff. Each time we saw a staff member in the lobby or a hallway, they always greeted us with a "good morning", "good afternoon" etc. As we were travelling on a budget, we bought breakfast provisions at a supermarket and ate in our room - we ordered two empty bowls and two spoons from room service and we were impressed that the spoons are made from silver. The bathroom was very large and appeared to be tiled in marble, with beautiful silver fixtures. Our room had nice thick curtains so we could enjoy a nap during the day after an early morning flight. We could hear the traffic noise from our room - this is not a problem if you are a heavy sleeper or if you have a pair of earplugs (I always carry a pair with me). We were fortunate that when we arrived at 10am, our room was already prepared for us. From nearby Circular Quay, we caught the ferry to Manly for $6.10 each way - this is unbelievable value as this ferry showcases Sydney Harbour, passing by the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, some of the north shore parks, and harbourside suburbs. In Manly, waiting for the returning ferry to depart, we saw a penguin fishing for its dinner. The Botanical Gardens (http://www.rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au/welcome_to_bgt/royal_botanic_gardens) are also very beautiful and are just across the road from the hotel. We also enjoyed visiting the Art Gallery of New South Wales (http://www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au/), which is free and located on the other side of the Botanical Gardens. The public transport system is brilliant and parking is expensive (driving is also quite stressful and frustrating in Sydney), so being so close to the ferry terminal and train station is a real bonus and made for a relaxing experience. The train fare was $15 to the airport each way and this was also much faster than catching a taxi. This hotel is unbelievable value, we were so impressed with the whole experience. I would recommend it to anyone at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best that Sydney has to offer is accessible by foot, from this hotel. Access Sydney's coastal suburbs and attractions by ferry and inner suburbs and attractions by train. You can also easily access Sydney's beautiful national parks from this central location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top