$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Position!

This hotel is perfectly positioned for a visit to Sydney. Walking distance to the Opera House,... See full review

  • Dove99
  • Sep 15, 2014
Amazing experience

We loved our stay at the Sir Stamford. The concierge, Troy, was so attentive and helpful. The rooms... See full review

  • Belmar girl
  • Aug 12, 2014
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveling Southern Belle
Business
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Jun 9, 2010

Perfect Hotel at Center of Everything

The charming staff, concierge ([...]), bellhop ([...]), bartender ([...]), and the entire dining waitstaff went out of their way to make us comfortable. The bartender in the British-style bar remembered our favorite drinks; loved the smell of the cozy fireplaces in the lobby and bar and relaxed on comfortable couches in the bar area. The restaurant waitstaff always accommodated our request for a window when making a reservation. High tea is also available each afternoon. Housekeeping services were excellent. We would definitely stay here again because of the ideal central location to everything in downtown Sydney, right across from the Royal Botanic Gardens, a block from Circular Quay, the Opera House, short walk to The Rocks, short walk to Hyde Park and St. Mary's Cathedral. Loved the outstanding artwork and paintings in the lobby and bar. Checked in around 7am and we were taken immediately to our luxurious room/suite even though check-in wasn't until 3pm. Concierge confirmed our fantastic tours to the Hunter Valley wineries, to the Blue Mountains and to the northern surf beaches on the ocean. Had absolutely no complaints about this hotel. It was everything we expected from this level of hotel with old world charm and the attitude of the staff was very much appreciated, as a sour attitude can make for an unpleasant visit. Am baffled about negative comments about staff, but if you are nice and respectful to people, they are nice and respectful to you in return. Have travelled the world over and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your Saturday afternoon in The Rocks. There were live bands playing in the streets; the locals were out and about, taking advantage of the beautiful Fall-type weather; it was the beginning of June and in the 60's. The outdoor cafes were packed with locals off work as well as tourists. If you get an outdoor table at the Lowenbrau Keller, across from Clock Tower Square, you will be right in the middle of all the action during the afternoon, and you'll hear the bands from down the street. Just a perfect, relaxing day after a week of sightseeing/tours/walking, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reno, NV
Nov 5, 2009

perfect hotel

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. I got a great price online and couldn't believe how great it was once we checked in. We were able to walk to great restaurants, circular quay train station, ferries, botanical garden and opera house all within 5 minutes. It doesn't get any better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn, world traveler
Business
Marquette, MI
Dec 16, 2009

Superb location and hotel

The location does not get better - we stayed over by Darling Harbor before our cruise and loved this location much better. It is 2 blocks from the waterfront and opera house and across the street from Botanical Gardens. It is an easy walk to Victoria Mall and Sky Tower. We walked over to the Rocks, across the bridge and along the bay. Very convenient! The hotel is very nice - small and quiet with a very large room and beautiful marble bathroom. We were on top floor overlooking the water and botanical garden. The roof top pool is also very beautiful and restful. They very willingly stored 2 large suitcases while we were on a 10 day cruise and allowed us to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many wonderful events and shows at Opera House - we attended a drag Christmas Show that was hilarious and ate on the waterfront. It was beautiful with a full moon over the Opera House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylvania, OH
Nov 8, 2009

Rooms, location, price - All Nice

We took the train in from the airport. (Bought a one week pass, which allows travel on the Sydney trains, busses, and ferries) It was no big deal even with all the luggage we had. The only problem we had,a nd it wasn't a problem was getting the luggage up the sidewalk which is going uphill to the Hotel. If I am their again I would do it the same way. Take the tour of the Opera House. We took the ferry to Darling Harbor which is a great entertainment / shopping area. We had dinner in a refurbished steam ship that has been converted to a restaurant in the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Emporia
Oct 28, 2008

Great location for tourists

Great location for visiting Sydney. Close to transportation, ferries, trains, and easy walking distance to many areas. Short walk to the Opera House. Restaurants and shopping close by in the Rocks area, and Opera House area. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Room was large, especially the bathroom. The business center allowed access to internet for small fee. The fitness center was small, did not visit the pool area. Would recommend the hotel for tourist or business visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Rocks area for shopping and dining. Pancakes on the Rocks is a great place for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OAKTravelers
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 16, 2010

Great Stay in Circular Quay

We had a great experience here. Arrived before room was ready, and staff encouraged us to use the shower in the fitness center and leave our luggage. Throughout the stay the staff was courteous and friendly, and readily shared great suggestions. One of the best was the Blue Mountain tour provided by Blue Diamond. Rooms were comfortable and clean, and as noted above, the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free CBD Shuttle that runs until 3 or so during the week; 6:30 on the weekend is a great way to get around and save some money. [Hotel suggested this, and rightfully discouraged a more expensive pass.]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug & Val World Travelers
Business
Des Moines Iowa, USA
Dec 1, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

The location could not be better as the Sir Stamford is within walking distance from the train station at Circular Quay even considering dragging our luggage. The opera house is only about 300 yards away, the harbor jetties within 5 minute walk and the Rocks area about a 10 minute walk. The room was very spacious. We have stayed at and paid more for hotel rooms that would have fit inside the bathroom in our Sir Stamford room. The king size bed was extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian restaurant in the Rocks, Caminatto's (or similar spelling). It is staffed by Italian speaking staff and has pasta dishes that rival anything we have had in Italy. We ate there twice; great food, great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, AR
Nov 17, 2009

Great stay at Sir Stamford!

Sir Stamford provides the best hotel experience -- for someone who enjoys a smaller hotel, traditional furnishings, quiet -- but in the middle of the city. Prices varied widely, so shop around. Couldn't be more convenient for a first-time visitor. The train from the airport brings you straight to Circular Quay, then walk around the corner to the hotel. Then back to CQ for access to all the ferries, buses, and trains. The rooms are comfortably large, baths bigger than some hotel rooms in Europe, and the balconies let in the fresh air and wildlife-sounds of Sydney (request a park-side room). The last day, two Cockatoos appeared on our eighth floor balcony like a magic farewell party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in Sydney is generally expensive and disappointing. But some good street food is available in Rocks area; also a reliable Subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
May 22, 2010

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Hotel was in an excellent location, in walking distance to the ferries, Sydney Opera House and "The Rocks". The staff was very accommodating and helpful in providing restaurant and tour suggestions. The room was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belmar girl
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Aug 12, 2014

Amazing experience

We loved our stay at the Sir Stamford. The concierge, Troy, was so attentive and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious and honestly could not imagine a location any better than this one! I would stay again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On Sunday the ferries offer a family fun pass which allows for unlimited rides at a discount. We went to the zoo and Manly beach and saved

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top