$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Islamorada, FL
Feb 24, 2011

Very comfortable old world charm

Very comfortable place to stay. Ideally located for activities in the CBD. Would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SeLah just around the corner has superb Australia gourmet bistro fare at a fairly reasonable price.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Bo
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Feb 9, 2011

Bonzer Booking!

From the minute that we walked in it was clear that we had lucked into what might be the best place to stay in all of Sydney. After 30 hours of travel, and arriving many hours before our room could have been expected to be ready, the bellboy brought us up to the pool/sauna/exercise center, and, after we showered and changed, brought us complimentary drinks to welcome us to Australia and the Sir Stamford. The service continued to be equally outstanding for the remainder of our stay! The room was very nicely appointed, breakfasts in the dining room were a great start to each day, and the bar/lounge was a very comfortable place to unwind after time spent exploring Sydney. And then there's the location -- equally outstanding. Right across from the Royal Botanical Gardens, a hop, skip, and a jump from the Opera House, and a few minutes from all the connections you might want to make by ferry, tram, or bus to anything you could want to see or do. We could not have done any better than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Sydney Cafe on the top floor of the Customs House. The food is divine, the view can't be topped, and, if you are lucky enough to make reservations on a day when there is live jazz, the overall experience is truly memorable.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 9, 2011

Great location

Hotel was clean, friendly staff, and ideally located about two blocks from Circular Quay. We walked down to the Quay every day - you could catch a bus, take a ferry ride, take a cruise, dine, and walk to the Opera House and, of course, see Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk down to Circular Quay - you'll find all kinds of recreational activities. Cruising, ferry out to Watsons Bay, Darling Harbour, and many more. Walk to the Rocks area and go to the Discovery Museum to find out informative information on the history of the Rocks area.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Bo
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Feb 9, 2011

Bonzer Booking!

From the minute that we walked in it was clear that we had lucked into what might be the best place to stay in all of Sydney. After 30 hours of travel, and arriving many hours before our room could have been expected to be ready, the bellboy brought us up to the pool/sauna/exercise center, and, after we showered and changed, brought us complimentary drinks to welcome us to Australia and the Sir Stamford. The service continued to be equally outstanding for the remainder of our stay! The room was very nicely appointed, breakfasts in the dining room were a great start to each day, and the bar/lounge was a very comfortable place to unwind after time spent exploring Sydney. And then there's the location -- equally outstanding. Right across from the Royal Botanical Gardens, a hop, skip, and a jump from the Opera House, and a few minutes from all the connections you might want to make by ferry, tram, or bus to anything you could want to see or do. We could not have done any better than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Sydney Cafe on the top floor of the Customs House. The food is divine, the view can't be topped, and, if you are lucky enough to make reservations on a day when there is live jazz, the overall experience is truly memorable.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Feb 3, 2011

Ok Hotel

Sydney is expensive - the Sir Stamford provides adequate and above average accommodation at an acceptable price. Pool is outside and is small as are the fitness facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry to all destinations are only a short albeit hilly stroll away.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga, CA
Jan 19, 2011

Sir Stamford

This is a great hotel especially the location an price value. Rooms have lots of space, very clean and the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. It is minutes away from the Opera House and Harbour Brige. It is a smaller hotel in an older building (right next to the historic Inter-Continental) so the feel is very English with a more formal bar and dining area. I can stay here again when I return to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Hop-On Hop-Off stop right across from the hotel. This is an inexpensive way to get an overview of the many different districts of Sydney before deciding where to go spend more time. It also does a Bondi Loop which takes you out to Bondi Beach and several of the more scenic routes outside the main city.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rwrightk
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 17, 2011

Fantastic Hotel in great location

The hotel was in a great location, the botanic garden is across the street, opera house is just 2 blocks away, and the ferry's and train are just a block away. The staff was very helpful. On an upper floor you will either have a view of the port, botanic garden, or the city. On a previous stay in Sydney I stayed near the airport and had to take the train to see anything, and this waas so much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great dining and shopping choices so close by. Be prepared to spend a lot for even fish & chips.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WarrenB
Business
Sterling, VA
Jul 25, 2010

Classy hotel, great location.

Hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from Circular Quay, where you have access to ferry, train and bus services. Circular Quay (and nearby Rocks) has many shops, restuarants and cafes and is immediately adjacent to the Sydney Opera House...all withing easy walking distance. Hotel room was pretty much standard, maybe slightly larger than most, with a nice, spacious bathroom...as I would expect in a 5-star hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. Borrowed an umbrella a few times, just in case. In general, the hotel could be described by some people as stately and dignified, and by other people as old fashioned and stuffy. Either way, we found it very comfortable and convenient and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus or ferry to Darling harbour, just the other side of the city. It offers nice attractions like the Aquarium and also a great selection of restuarants. Hot chocolate at the Lindt Chocolate Cafe was delicious!

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 22, 2010

Great hotel and location.

Excellent room and location. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Jul 11, 2010

Very good (but not great) hotel

The hotel is at a perfect location, has a wonderful ambiance and the staff is very friendly. The rooms themselves, however, aren't completely clean. When I arrived there were a handful of stains on the walls, linen and floor as well as the carcass of a large insect in the corner of the bedroom. Overall it's a very good hotel with only a few minor flaws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top