$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
57 reviews
Amazing experience

We loved our stay at the Sir Stamford. The concierge, Troy, was so attentive and helpful. The rooms... See full review

  • Belmar girl
  • Aug 12, 2014
couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of... See full review

  • Penny world traveller
  • Feb 11, 2014
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Hotel Map

-33.8622 151.2127
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Brilliantly located in the Com. Business District. Stunning

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esoom
Middletown Connecticut
Nov 5, 2011

First Class Accommodations

We enjoyed our 3 night stay immensely. Excellent location. Walking distance to Harbor and Opera House. Loved the elegant decor throughout the hotel. The sitting room off main lobby was so homey and cozy with a lovely wood burning fire place which was lit up in the evening. The marble bathrooms were exquisite and the king size bed so comfy. The rooms were exceptionally large. Plenty or room to relax after a long day of touring. Free internet was also a big plus. If looking for a hotel to stay at in Sidney, Look no further. This is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase combo train/bus/ferry ticket at Sydney airport. Includes round trip trains to Circular Quay to and from airport as well as unlimited public bus and ferry transportation during your stay. Great value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WarrenB
Sterling, VA
Jul 25, 2010

Classy hotel, great location.

Hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from Circular Quay, where you have access to ferry, train and bus services. Circular Quay (and nearby Rocks) has many shops, restuarants and cafes and is immediately adjacent to the Sydney Opera House...all withing easy walking distance. Hotel room was pretty much standard, maybe slightly larger than most, with a nice, spacious bathroom...as I would expect in a 5-star hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. Borrowed an umbrella a few times, just in case. In general, the hotel could be described by some people as stately and dignified, and by other people as old fashioned and stuffy. Either way, we found it very comfortable and convenient and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus or ferry to Darling harbour, just the other side of the city. It offers nice attractions like the Aquarium and also a great selection of restuarants. Hot chocolate at the Lindt Chocolate Cafe was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 22, 2010

Great hotel and location.

Excellent room and location. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cary, NC
Jul 11, 2010

Very good (but not great) hotel

The hotel is at a perfect location, has a wonderful ambiance and the staff is very friendly. The rooms themselves, however, aren't completely clean. When I arrived there were a handful of stains on the walls, linen and floor as well as the carcass of a large insect in the corner of the bedroom. Overall it's a very good hotel with only a few minor flaws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
US Business Traveler
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jul 8, 2010

Very Nice

It was a nice hotel. The lobby feels a little claustrophobic. But the people were nice. My room was big. But it had little to no view. I could sort of see the water in Circular Quay, but not the bridge. I was on the fourth floor, looking west. My bathroom was amazing! It was huge. And all surfaces covered in white marble, with two sinks, a separate tub and walk-in shower, with a separate room for the toilet. Being a techie, what I can tell you is that (A) The WiFi didn't work well at all, and I was forced to use the cable over by the desk. I wish that cable was longer, or I had brought something with me, though I wouldn't normally anyway. But considering I paid $100 AUD for Internet for the week, it was a nuisance. (B) The room had an analog CRT TV. Not a big deal, but most hotels I stay at now have moved on to flat HDTVs and a lot have HDTV signal as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Local walks, for what I did: 1. BridgeClimb: 10 minutes 2. Bridge walk pedestrian deck: 20 minutes to the other side of the bridge 3. Opera House: 5 minutes 4. Royal Botanical Gardens: 5 minutes 5. Ferries: less than 5 minutes 6. My work site on Barrack street: Leisurely 20 minutes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BB the Traveller
Glendale, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Sydney Stunner

Perfect location in Circular Quay for exploring all of Sydney. Close location to train, Opera House, Harbour Bridge, The Rocks and Royal Botanical Garden. Lovely old hotel with very large rooms. Rooms have white marble bathrooms with separate tub/shower plus a juliet balcony with opening glass doors. Walk down Macquarrie Street towards the water and look left for steps leading to the Cahill walkway that takes you right by the Expressway and spans the Quay. Excellent city and harbor views that lead to the bridge, then take the stairs down to The Rocks. Beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney is very pricey. You can take advantage of the many dinner specials that pubs and hotels offer. Sir Stamford offered a buy one, get one free option that we did not try. Others have $10 steak nights; the one we tried was at the Glenmore Hotel in the Rocks. Perfect view of the Opera House from the rooftop balcony! Also try the grilled baby octopus at one of the kiosks by the train station at Circular Quay. We also loved the meat pies at Harry's Cafe de Wheels. The best meal we had, hands down, was at bill's in Darlinghurst. Bright open space with communal tables and the best scrambled eggs anywhere. Try the corn fritters with spinach, tomato and bacon!! (note this is a longer walk but well worth it...walk through Hyde Park on the way to Darlinghurst - spectacular!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveling Southern Belle
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Jun 9, 2010

Perfect Hotel at Center of Everything

The charming staff, concierge ([...]), bellhop ([...]), bartender ([...]), and the entire dining waitstaff went out of their way to make us comfortable. The bartender in the British-style bar remembered our favorite drinks; loved the smell of the cozy fireplaces in the lobby and bar and relaxed on comfortable couches in the bar area. The restaurant waitstaff always accommodated our request for a window when making a reservation. High tea is also available each afternoon. Housekeeping services were excellent. We would definitely stay here again because of the ideal central location to everything in downtown Sydney, right across from the Royal Botanic Gardens, a block from Circular Quay, the Opera House, short walk to The Rocks, short walk to Hyde Park and St. Mary's Cathedral. Loved the outstanding artwork and paintings in the lobby and bar. Checked in around 7am and we were taken immediately to our luxurious room/suite even though check-in wasn't until 3pm. Concierge confirmed our fantastic tours to the Hunter Valley wineries, to the Blue Mountains and to the northern surf beaches on the ocean. Had absolutely no complaints about this hotel. It was everything we expected from this level of hotel with old world charm and the attitude of the staff was very much appreciated, as a sour attitude can make for an unpleasant visit. Am baffled about negative comments about staff, but if you are nice and respectful to people, they are nice and respectful to you in return. Have travelled the world over and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your Saturday afternoon in The Rocks. There were live bands playing in the streets; the locals were out and about, taking advantage of the beautiful Fall-type weather; it was the beginning of June and in the 60's. The outdoor cafes were packed with locals off work as well as tourists. If you get an outdoor table at the Lowenbrau Keller, across from Clock Tower Square, you will be right in the middle of all the action during the afternoon, and you'll hear the bands from down the street. Just a perfect, relaxing day after a week of sightseeing/tours/walking, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockville, MD
May 22, 2010

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Hotel was in an excellent location, in walking distance to the ferries, Sydney Opera House and "The Rocks". The staff was very accommodating and helpful in providing restaurant and tour suggestions. The room was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish I was back in Oz
Washington DC
May 17, 2010

Great Location

Sir Stamford is in a great location to get to what I think is the hub of Sydney, Circular Quay. The staff was very helpful in terms of restaurant suggestions and transportation. The room is nice and clean. The hotel has a bit of a worn feel to it, but not to a point where it looks unkept. Would definitly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some good dining deals in The Rocks, only about a 10-15 min walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy BC
Moline, IL
May 12, 2010

Great location and ambience

The staff is very courteous, friendly and responsive. My room was large and clean. I loved the huge bathroom with separate shower, bath and toliet. The location for Sydney was perfect. It was less that a 5 minute walk to the ferries, Opera House or many great resturants. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KentuckyTraveler
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 31, 2010

Excellent location - Comfortable

This hotel has an excellent location to the Opera House and The Rocks. The heart of Sydney's entertainment and restaurants were just steps in any direction from the front of the hotel. Being close to the night and weekend markets at The Rocks was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the expensive restaurant and drink service offered by the hotel by purchasing snacks and drinks at the nearby convenience store just down the hill from the hotel. Each floor of the hotel has a working ice machine dispenser.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search