$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, Ca
Feb 23, 2010

Very nice, quiet older-style hotel.

We stayed only one night after disembarking from a cruise ship. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Good location - opposite the Botanical Gardens and just a couple of minutes away from Circular Quay. An older-style fairly small hotel, but very comfortable. Our room was extremely spacious with a well-appointed bathroom with lots of marble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skb3840
Business
Spring Lake, MI
Feb 10, 2010

Great place

The hotel is in a great locstion. Just a short walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay and the Royal Botantical Gardens. The staqff was very friendly and helpful, especially when you don't know the area. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a Blue Moountain Tour with Blue Diamond Tours. A family business that takes a max of 12 persons and is very flexible and can work around the weaqther, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 18, 2009

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Antique decorative motif, friendly service, good location very close to the Quay and the Botanical Gardens, but still quite. Fitness center was tiny with useless equipment and limited range of weights (needs an update). Now the downside, it's Christmas so the hotel quite often plays carols through speakers located in the foyer, a pain in the neck if your room is located the next floor up over the foyer (which mine was). These days Perry Como-like muzak is often used as crowd dispersal mechanism by shopping centers so maybe the hotel should get a clue that not everyone shares their taste in music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
US Business Traveler
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jul 8, 2010

Very Nice

It was a nice hotel. The lobby feels a little claustrophobic. But the people were nice. My room was big. But it had little to no view. I could sort of see the water in Circular Quay, but not the bridge. I was on the fourth floor, looking west. My bathroom was amazing! It was huge. And all surfaces covered in white marble, with two sinks, a separate tub and walk-in shower, with a separate room for the toilet. Being a techie, what I can tell you is that (A) The WiFi didn't work well at all, and I was forced to use the cable over by the desk. I wish that cable was longer, or I had brought something with me, though I wouldn't normally anyway. But considering I paid $100 AUD for Internet for the week, it was a nuisance. (B) The room had an analog CRT TV. Not a big deal, but most hotels I stay at now have moved on to flat HDTVs and a lot have HDTV signal as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Local walks, for what I did: 1. BridgeClimb: 10 minutes 2. Bridge walk pedestrian deck: 20 minutes to the other side of the bridge 3. Opera House: 5 minutes 4. Royal Botanical Gardens: 5 minutes 5. Ferries: less than 5 minutes 6. My work site on Barrack street: Leisurely 20 minutes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KentuckyTraveler
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 31, 2010

Excellent location - Comfortable

This hotel has an excellent location to the Opera House and The Rocks. The heart of Sydney's entertainment and restaurants were just steps in any direction from the front of the hotel. Being close to the night and weekend markets at The Rocks was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the expensive restaurant and drink service offered by the hotel by purchasing snacks and drinks at the nearby convenience store just down the hill from the hotel. Each floor of the hotel has a working ice machine dispenser.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ges918
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 19, 2010

Great location

The hotel was in a fantastic location for us. Just a few minutes walk from Circular Quay and the Opera House, it was a great place to start each day in Sydney. The concierge staff was friendly and shared some helpful hints and dinner recommendations. The room we had was large and comfortable.We got a great deal on[...] which made the experience all the better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lencole
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Feb 10, 2010

Exceptional Value - Old Style Elegance

You can't get any closer to the Opera House in old style elegant accomodations. . . period!!! We also spent 2 nights in the Intercontinental Hotel (also excellent but larger) immediately next door on the upslope side. [...] The 9th floor (10 story hotel) room was excellent, facing the botanical garden and with an Opera House view from the balcony. Large room. Large bathroom - light gray marble everyhere - large mirrorred wall - separate shower and bath - toilet enclosed behind shuttered door - double lavatory sinks with fine fixtures and ample liquids - 110 volts for shavers - plenty of towels - robes. Closet inclued hair drier, iron & ironing board slippers. Lots of electrical outlets.The staff greets you with a smile every time you enter or exit. They were extremely helpful and cheerful. We did not eat at their restaurant or bars choosing the more trendy spots on the Circular Quay.Parking is very limited in Sydney and very expensive. The Stamford offers valet parking at the front door at 45 AUD or Self Parking a very short walk on the sidewalk around the corner is 35 AUD per day for multiple entry but you won't want to take the car out uless you are sure you can find parking at your destination. The Circular Quay district offers everything you will need with a very short walk (less than 100 yards) down the moderate hill. Circular Quay (vert close) gives easy access to all forms of transportation except airport. Cab fare to the airport was only 41 AUD (far less than a rental car and parking fees)only a few dollars more than the super shuttle and wll worth the extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chuck cendak
Business
millbrae, ca
Oct 30, 2009

sir stamford at circular quay

the hotel was very accomodating holding our luggage for us while we visited the "reef" and extremely accomodating with dinner plans, touring, etc. only comment, I'd like to see another mirror in the room... if the bathroom was being used only one mirror at the luggage rack with poor lighting! a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotl was very helpful finding us a restaurant within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish I was back in Oz
Business
Washington DC
May 17, 2010

Great Location

Sir Stamford is in a great location to get to what I think is the hub of Sydney, Circular Quay. The staff was very helpful in terms of restaurant suggestions and transportation. The room is nice and clean. The hotel has a bit of a worn feel to it, but not to a point where it looks unkept. Would definitly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some good dining deals in The Rocks, only about a 10-15 min walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WarrenB
Business
Sterling, VA
Jul 25, 2010

Classy hotel, great location.

Hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from Circular Quay, where you have access to ferry, train and bus services. Circular Quay (and nearby Rocks) has many shops, restuarants and cafes and is immediately adjacent to the Sydney Opera House...all withing easy walking distance. Hotel room was pretty much standard, maybe slightly larger than most, with a nice, spacious bathroom...as I would expect in a 5-star hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. Borrowed an umbrella a few times, just in case. In general, the hotel could be described by some people as stately and dignified, and by other people as old fashioned and stuffy. Either way, we found it very comfortable and convenient and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus or ferry to Darling harbour, just the other side of the city. It offers nice attractions like the Aquarium and also a great selection of restuarants. Hot chocolate at the Lindt Chocolate Cafe was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top