$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan M
Business
Corning, NY
Apr 17, 2013

Great Weekend in Sydney

The Sir Stamford exceeded all our expectations for a 5 star hotel. The room was beautiful and very comfortable with a nice view of the park and great location. The staff was exceptional without being overbearing. The Bar has a nice singer on Fri and Sat nights -- we even did some dancing. Food at the Bar and at breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to try the Dining Room which is closed on Sun and Mon. We enjoyed the outdoor terrace on the 5th floor for coffee. The pool, although small, was very pleasant as well. Our only very minor complaint is that the temperature of the shower in our room was difficult to control. We definitely hope to return to this hotel when we come back to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulH
Business
York, UK
Jan 18, 2013

Sir Stamford Sydney

Completely wonderful. Gorgeous suite in which Margaret Thatcher,Prince Charles and Paul Hogan (to name a few only) had resided. Staff were wonderful. Location perfect. Can not praise highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob paris
Business
Nz
Dec 19, 2011

Hol

Tired rooms draughts from windows very bad and suite was noisy due to road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esoom
Business
Middletown Connecticut
Nov 5, 2011

First Class Accommodations

We enjoyed our 3 night stay immensely. Excellent location. Walking distance to Harbor and Opera House. Loved the elegant decor throughout the hotel. The sitting room off main lobby was so homey and cozy with a lovely wood burning fire place which was lit up in the evening. The marble bathrooms were exquisite and the king size bed so comfy. The rooms were exceptionally large. Plenty or room to relax after a long day of touring. Free internet was also a big plus. If looking for a hotel to stay at in Sidney, Look no further. This is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase combo train/bus/ferry ticket at Sydney airport. Includes round trip trains to Circular Quay to and from airport as well as unlimited public bus and ferry transportation during your stay. Great value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank the man
Business
Alamo, California
Oct 22, 2011

Fantastic location and service

Can't beat this place! It's about 1.5 blks from the harbour where the ferry runs and where the buses run. However, it's quiet. The people in the hotel were beyond friendly. Stu and Willie were fantastic and extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The proximity to public transportation was a great time and energy (really short walk) saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farawayfromhome
Business
Singapore
Sep 10, 2011

Sydney with the kids

This hotel was in the perfect location. I saved a fortune by not having to take taxis while I was in Sydney. We used the train, bus, and ferries all of which are walking distance from the Sir Stamford. We walked the Bridge at night and got some great pics of the Opera House. The only complaint I have was with the continental breakfast. I was charged $67 AUD for myself and two small kids. That's some expensive toast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancakes on the Rocks is a short walking distance from the hotel and had good food that wasn't too expensive. We also did the Roar and Snore at Taronga Zoo and loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara Anne
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great Location

Very good. Location was perfect, and the staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants along the Esplanade offer great food and fantastic views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bebelle
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 10, 2011

Loved it!

Excellent location - Huge room - Reasonably priced. Did not like the fact of a $25 per day charge for internet. Seems customary in AU. Eat at the bar: good prices and great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch at food fairs. Excellent food, not the fast food we're used to in North America.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BostonQT
Business
Boston
Aug 4, 2011

Highly recommended+ excellent location

Charming traditional hotel in Sydney's most convenient location, 50 yards up the street from Circular Quay -- we could see the ferries and trains from the bedroom window, and the harbour bridge from the lounge window. We booked an "executive suite" which was a clean bright spacious corner suite. The hotel decor is traditional English right down to the fire crackling in the wood-panelled lobby lounge. The staff were consistently friendly, helpful and efficient --[...] deserve special thanks for extra help with our luggage. If only the wifi were free, this would be a homerun...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney has an awesome public transport network, and is a delightful city to walk around -- we didn't use a cab at all during our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Islamorada, FL
Feb 24, 2011

Very comfortable old world charm

Very comfortable place to stay. Ideally located for activities in the CBD. Would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SeLah just around the corner has superb Australia gourmet bistro fare at a fairly reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top