$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
100 reviews
couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of... See full review

  • Penny world traveller
  • Feb 11, 2014
Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected... See full review

  • Philiz
  • Sep 13, 2013
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Hotel Map

-33.8622 151.2127
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Brilliantly located in the Com. Business District. Stunning

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico CA
Oct 26, 2009

Great Hotel

We arrived early in the morning as our flight was long from the U.S. to Australia. I had asked for an early check in and they had everything ready for us. We were somewhat shocked at the price of the breakfast $25, but we were hungry and tired so we went for it. The location of this hotel can't be beat. The staff was polite and helpful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful location near the Opera House, ferries, bus and train terminals. Great for seeing the bontanic gardens across the street. You could walk to many activities.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Fixit
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 26, 2009

Could not be better located

The excellent location one block to the ferries and to the train station, with the express train to the airport, made it so easy to get around this major city. The hotel is an old standard, formerly the Ritz Carlton, and should appeal to all travelers. 9

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Castle Rock CO
Oct 19, 2009

Perfect location, wonderful hotel!

The hotel was beautiful and we loved the location. Across the street from the Royal Gardens and a short walk to everything. The concierge staff was especially nice and constantly offered to help us. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but did have delicious small plates and martinis at The Bar. LOVED the bartender who was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Castle Rock CO
Oct 19, 2009

Perfect location, wonderful hotel!

The hotel was beautiful and we loved the location. Across the street from the Royal Gardens and a short walk to everything. The concierge staff was especially nice and constantly offered to help us. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but did have delicious small plates and martinis at The Bar. LOVED the bartender who was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
topat
new york
Jun 11, 2009

Sir Stamford

A perfect location with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely walk through the Botanical Gardens and around the Opera House.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
topat
new york
Jun 11, 2009

Sir Stamford

A perfect location with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely walk through the Botanical Gardens and around the Opera House.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
64 Red Mustang
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Location, Location, Location.

We have stayed in Sydney several times in the past few years. This was the first time we stayed at this property. In the past we have stayed at the Four Seasons, Quay West, and The Grace. All have pros and cons. What I loved about this property was the location. We wanted a nice hotel near the Circular Quay, the Rocks, the Opera House and the Botanical Park. This property provided us all that. We got a great rate on the property and other online reviews is what sealed the deal on selecting this hotel for this visit. Since we arrived early morning from our overseas flight we knew we were not going to be able to check into the room early, especially since it was a Sunday morning. However, they did check us in at the desk, take our luggage and offered to phone us when the room was ready. We were able to get checked in prior to the stated check in time which was appreciated. The lobby is very nice, it is elegant, but also comfortable. We did not eat at restaurant so cannot make any comments on that. The room was spacious, we just had a superior room and we had no complaints with it. The bathrooms were nice and large. I will agree with some of the other reviews about the style of furniture is a bland and feels outdated but it is in good condition. Considering how much time we spent in the room it is not something worth being bothersome about the visit. The only issues that I did have was since we only went with the Superior Room it was not the best room location in the property. We were on the 3rd floor on the Park side and on the corner. We were next to a building that was under construction. No, we did not hear them actually working on the building but when the delivery trucks were bringing supplies to the street front before sunrise on Monday morning that was a bit distracting. Then the other slight annoyance is since the property is located near the Opera House a lot of the tour buses (large and small) park across from the property waiting for their tourist to be done with shows, tours or whatever. So being on the 3rd floor we were looking out the window at that with people offloading, roaming and just the sound of some of the buses moving about. The rooms are pretty soundproof and the evenings are quiet (as their are no tour buses going then). I do believe if we had been located on the otherside of the property or even on a higher floor we would not have been complaining about that inconvienence. Overall it is a nice property and I would stay there again....but next time I would request a different room location. One thing that might be a negative to some folks if you have a hard time walking. There is a slight hill to walk up when returning from the Rocks or the Quay just a short city block. It would not be much of an issue unless you were walking with an aid or in a wheelchair. I would think most travelers would be happy with the property. They do have a lounge floor, which is designated for guests and is is more sofas/seating areas. They also have a business center if you need to get on a computer but you can either buy an hour on their system or you can buy a day's worth for your room. Enjoy your visit to Sydney - we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
64 Red Mustang
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Location, Location, Location.

We have stayed in Sydney several times in the past few years. This was the first time we stayed at this property. In the past we have stayed at the Four Seasons, Quay West, and The Grace. All have pros and cons. What I loved about this property was the location. We wanted a nice hotel near the Circular Quay, the Rocks, the Opera House and the Botanical Park. This property provided us all that. We got a great rate on the property and other online reviews is what sealed the deal on selecting this hotel for this visit. Since we arrived early morning from our overseas flight we knew we were not going to be able to check into the room early, especially since it was a Sunday morning. However, they did check us in at the desk, take our luggage and offered to phone us when the room was ready. We were able to get checked in prior to the stated check in time which was appreciated. The lobby is very nice, it is elegant, but also comfortable. We did not eat at restaurant so cannot make any comments on that. The room was spacious, we just had a superior room and we had no complaints with it. The bathrooms were nice and large. I will agree with some of the other reviews about the style of furniture is a bland and feels outdated but it is in good condition. Considering how much time we spent in the room it is not something worth being bothersome about the visit. The only issues that I did have was since we only went with the Superior Room it was not the best room location in the property. We were on the 3rd floor on the Park side and on the corner. We were next to a building that was under construction. No, we did not hear them actually working on the building but when the delivery trucks were bringing supplies to the street front before sunrise on Monday morning that was a bit distracting. Then the other slight annoyance is since the property is located near the Opera House a lot of the tour buses (large and small) park across from the property waiting for their tourist to be done with shows, tours or whatever. So being on the 3rd floor we were looking out the window at that with people offloading, roaming and just the sound of some of the buses moving about. The rooms are pretty soundproof and the evenings are quiet (as their are no tour buses going then). I do believe if we had been located on the otherside of the property or even on a higher floor we would not have been complaining about that inconvienence. Overall it is a nice property and I would stay there again....but next time I would request a different room location. One thing that might be a negative to some folks if you have a hard time walking. There is a slight hill to walk up when returning from the Rocks or the Quay just a short city block. It would not be much of an issue unless you were walking with an aid or in a wheelchair. I would think most travelers would be happy with the property. They do have a lounge floor, which is designated for guests and is is more sofas/seating areas. They also have a business center if you need to get on a computer but you can either buy an hour on their system or you can buy a day's worth for your room. Enjoy your visit to Sydney - we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Emporia
Oct 28, 2008

Great location for tourists

Great location for visiting Sydney. Close to transportation, ferries, trains, and easy walking distance to many areas. Short walk to the Opera House. Restaurants and shopping close by in the Rocks area, and Opera House area. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Room was large, especially the bathroom. The business center allowed access to internet for small fee. The fitness center was small, did not visit the pool area. Would recommend the hotel for tourist or business visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Rocks area for shopping and dining. Pancakes on the Rocks is a great place for breakfast.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Emporia
Oct 28, 2008

Great location for tourists

Great location for visiting Sydney. Close to transportation, ferries, trains, and easy walking distance to many areas. Short walk to the Opera House. Restaurants and shopping close by in the Rocks area, and Opera House area. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Room was large, especially the bathroom. The business center allowed access to internet for small fee. The fitness center was small, did not visit the pool area. Would recommend the hotel for tourist or business visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Rocks area for shopping and dining. Pancakes on the Rocks is a great place for breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top