$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
100 reviews
couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of... See full review

  • Penny world traveller
  • Feb 11, 2014
Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected... See full review

  • Philiz
  • Sep 13, 2013
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8622 151.2127
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Brilliantly located in the Com. Business District. Stunning

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philiz
Lakeland, Fla
Sep 13, 2013

Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected upgrade to an executive suite. On our return the staff treated us as family. Was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Transportation, dining, attraction such as Ferry Terminal, commuter rail, Opera House and the Sydney Harbour Bridge are all just blocks away. Ferry is the best to get to other tourist locations.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roaring Meg
New York, NY
Apr 2, 2014

Perfect Location and Friendly Staff

This hotel is truly centrally located, right across from the botanical gardens and a 5 minute walk or less to circular quay, where you can catch a ferry or bus to pretty much anywhere in the city. The staff was super friendly and helpful in making dinner reservations and giving us suggestions of what to do and see. The rooms were very nice and clean with comfy beds! My one and only small complaint would be that the rooms could use dehumidifiers... it felt a bit moist in the room, but other than that it was a perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penny world traveller
Austin Texas
Feb 11, 2014

couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of accommodation along with friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along Circular Quay towards the Opera House and enjoy watching all the ferries come and go in front of the Sydney Harbor Bridge. A great eatery on the quay is the Searock Grill.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philiz
Lakeland, Fla
Sep 13, 2013

Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected upgrade to an executive suite. On our return the staff treated us as family. Was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Transportation, dining, attraction such as Ferry Terminal, commuter rail, Opera House and the Sydney Harbour Bridge are all just blocks away. Ferry is the best to get to other tourist locations.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan M
Corning, NY
Apr 17, 2013

Great Weekend in Sydney

The Sir Stamford exceeded all our expectations for a 5 star hotel. The room was beautiful and very comfortable with a nice view of the park and great location. The staff was exceptional without being overbearing. The Bar has a nice singer on Fri and Sat nights -- we even did some dancing. Food at the Bar and at breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to try the Dining Room which is closed on Sun and Mon. We enjoyed the outdoor terrace on the 5th floor for coffee. The pool, although small, was very pleasant as well. Our only very minor complaint is that the temperature of the shower in our room was difficult to control. We definitely hope to return to this hotel when we come back to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulH
York, UK
Jan 18, 2013

Sir Stamford Sydney

Completely wonderful. Gorgeous suite in which Margaret Thatcher,Prince Charles and Paul Hogan (to name a few only) had resided. Staff were wonderful. Location perfect. Can not praise highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob paris
Business
Nz
Dec 19, 2011

Hol

Tired rooms draughts from windows very bad and suite was noisy due to road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esoom
Middletown Connecticut
Nov 5, 2011

First Class Accommodations

We enjoyed our 3 night stay immensely. Excellent location. Walking distance to Harbor and Opera House. Loved the elegant decor throughout the hotel. The sitting room off main lobby was so homey and cozy with a lovely wood burning fire place which was lit up in the evening. The marble bathrooms were exquisite and the king size bed so comfy. The rooms were exceptionally large. Plenty or room to relax after a long day of touring. Free internet was also a big plus. If looking for a hotel to stay at in Sidney, Look no further. This is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase combo train/bus/ferry ticket at Sydney airport. Includes round trip trains to Circular Quay to and from airport as well as unlimited public bus and ferry transportation during your stay. Great value!

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank the man
Alamo, California
Oct 22, 2011

Fantastic location and service

Can't beat this place! It's about 1.5 blks from the harbour where the ferry runs and where the buses run. However, it's quiet. The people in the hotel were beyond friendly. Stu and Willie were fantastic and extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The proximity to public transportation was a great time and energy (really short walk) saver.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farawayfromhome
Singapore
Sep 10, 2011

Sydney with the kids

This hotel was in the perfect location. I saved a fortune by not having to take taxis while I was in Sydney. We used the train, bus, and ferries all of which are walking distance from the Sir Stamford. We walked the Bridge at night and got some great pics of the Opera House. The only complaint I have was with the continental breakfast. I was charged $67 AUD for myself and two small kids. That's some expensive toast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancakes on the Rocks is a short walking distance from the hotel and had good food that wasn't too expensive. We also did the Roar and Snore at Taronga Zoo and loved it!

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farawayfromhome
Singapore
Sep 10, 2011

Sydney with the kids

This hotel was in the perfect location. I saved a fortune by not having to take taxis while I was in Sydney. We used the train, bus, and ferries all of which are walking distance from the Sir Stamford. We walked the Bridge at night and got some great pics of the Opera House. The only complaint I have was with the continental breakfast. I was charged $67 AUD for myself and two small kids. That's some expensive toast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancakes on the Rocks is a short walking distance from the hotel and had good food that wasn't too expensive. We also did the Roar and Snore at Taronga Zoo and loved it!

Back to menu Return to top