$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Sheraton on the Park

5 stars
161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
22 reviews
Welcoming staff at the Sheraton made us feel like family!

The staff at the Sheraton welcomed us after our 20+ hours of travel! We knew arriving at 8:00 am... See full review

  • Eve P.
  • Jan 18, 2014
Great Spot for Business

Club Lounge is good. Staff very helpful. Suites comfortable. See full review

  • Mike B
  • Apr 27, 2014
Opulence meets comfort at this Hyde Park gem

Sheraton on the Park is a stately grand dame on the edge of Hyde Park showcasing luxurious rooms and sophisticated interiors for discriminating travelers. The hotel impresses business and leisure travelers with an imposing exterior, opulent double staircase in the lobby and nautical-inspired quarters that feel downright homey. The fantastic location in Sydney's center and slew of hotel amenities, including a divine spa, indoor rooftop pool with tower views, and fine eateries make guests feel like royalty.   

Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with city or park views
  • High-rent address across from Hyde Park
  • Hot stone massage treatments at the spa
Rooms

Handsomely decorated spacious quarters deliver a touch of class and comfort. The hotel's 557 rooms with city or park views promise Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds with high thread count linens and heaps of earth-toned pillows. Rooms also feature a dark wood writing desk with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a plush armchair and a stylish black marble bathroom. Plantation-style shutters cover large windows, hiding the Sydney sunshine when sleep calls.

Features

A destination restaurant for an anniversary or special occasion, Feast serves international selections throughout the day and draws repeat customers for award-winning breakfast and seafood buffets. For a light meal, visit the Gallery Tea Lounge featuring leather couches and photos of famous faces. The floor-to-ceiling window framing Hyde Park is the centerpiece of the Conservatory Bar, attracting ladies in heels and chaps in suits for tapas-style dinners, vintage wines and serenading musicians.

 

The indoor rooftop swimming pool has views of the Sydney Tower and the hotel houses a fitness center. On the Park Rejuvenation, the hotel's signature spa, boasts decadent treatments like lemongrass salt glow or Shiatsu massage.

 

The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Transportation
  • Metro Monorail  (1 block)
  • St. James Station Railway (.12 mi/.2 km)
  • Kingsford Smith International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pitt Street Mall (1 block)
  • Darling Harbour (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Manly Beach  (7.5 mi/12 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and lobby
  • Meeting facilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services

Hotel Map

-33.8716 151.2097
Nearby airports
Sydney Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton on the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton on the Park Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Sauna
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton on the Park

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 22
Amenities:
4.9
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old dreamer of new life
Gifu, Japan
Apr 21, 2011

Nice location

The location of the hotel was very nice for the purpose of walking around the main area of Sydney city. Most stuffs are friendly and helpfull, but some of them are not. We were forced to wait without proper explanation at dinner, or we got no response after ordering coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gardner's on the move
PA usa
Apr 6, 2011

Excellent stay

room was very nice, breakfast buffet wonderful. Great location,pool spa nice. We will stay again. Issues, no airport shuttle available to or from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling harbor short walk

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senior cruisers
Australia
Feb 8, 2013

Sydney short break

Sheraton on the Park is a traditional five star hotel with full amenities and excellent service. Our king bed room had everything. It was huge with separate dressing room and bath and shower. The location is opposite St James station (direct line from the airport) and on the free city shuttle bus route so convenient for getting around. Being in the city, the City View rooms actually look onto the building next door so there is not actually a 'view', but as we got a very reasonable rate this was not an issue for us. Other rooms look over Hyde Pk. We spent three days sightseeing around the city, harbour and beaches but the hotel would be perfect for a business stay as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boomerchick
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 18, 2012

central Sydney location

Very nice hotel and a decent value in a city as expensive as Sydney. Staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Osaka, Japan
Sep 28, 2010

Amazing

Perfect hotel to visit Sydney, good location, amazing staff, a lot of facilities, free internet in lobby. And amazing pool in top floor with good views of tower. Noisy rooms because of the fire trucks crossing city all day long, but it worths.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whoisJohnGalt
augusta, ga
Jun 23, 2010

excellent stay

Hotel exceeded expectations. The staff was very friendly. Buffet breakfast in package was excellent. Room was very clean and larger than anticipated. Location was within easy walking distance of Opera House and across the street from St James train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good, affordable food available across street in David Jones department store

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jonny_hc
Parramatta, NSW, Australia
Feb 5, 2011

Great location and service

It was a last minute booking, where I wanted to surprise my wife. She knew we were going to watch Tap Dogs on Saturday, but gave her an extra surprise with a night in town as well. The staff from check in through to check out was excellent and the view of the Park was beautiful to wake up to. I very nice quick getaway without comprising on quality. Thankyou, we will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 29, 2009

A Magical Hotel

Me and my newlywed husband spent only one day at Sheraton on the Park for our honeymoon. The only sad thing was that we could not spend more nights there! We booked one park view room for our only night in Sydney. When we told the concierge that it was our honeymoon, she upgraded our room to a corner room which had a better park view and gave us a voucher for complimentary drinks. When we opened the door, the room was gorgeous! Beautifully decorated, great views, spacious room and pampered bathroom, it was SWEET! Also, the outside of the hotel was all lit up with twinkling lights for the Christmas holiday. The staff was great. It was in a great location if you are interested in exploring the city. We couldn't have hoped for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bella Vista, AR
Jul 13, 2010

best for the money

one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 15, 2009

Great Hotel

The Sheraton on the Park is a wonderful place to stay with modern luxurious rooms. We arrived at the hotel around 8 am and were promptly checked in, and given an upgrade to a "park view" room. I did not expect either of these since I did not request an early check-in. The room and bed were very comfortable and quiet, even though it was on the street side of the hotel. The view was very nice of Victoria Park and the Cathedral too. The food is good in the hotel, but pricy, like most major hotel brands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you will be in Sydney from 3-7 days, get the "green" 7 day travel pass, available at the main train station or Circulary Quay Ferry terminal. It is good for all trains, subway, bus and ferries in the Sydney metro area. This is even good to the airport. Skip buying the 1 or 2 day hop on/off bus pass. The only thing it is good for is hearing some sort of description of the area as the bus goes around town. The green travel pass is about the same price and you get three times as many options for travel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search