$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Sheraton on the Park

5 stars
161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
278 reviews
We discoverd even more this time!

Wow across the road there was a djs with an amazing food court! Also, we also discovered that it is... See full review

  • uncle
  • Jul 13, 2014
Great night away

Lovely hotel, especially for the price compared to other hotels around this area. Overnight secure... See full review

  • Ashleigh M
  • Jul 12, 2014
Opulence meets comfort at this Hyde Park gem

Sheraton on the Park is a stately grand dame on the edge of Hyde Park showcasing luxurious rooms and sophisticated interiors for discriminating travelers. The hotel impresses business and leisure travelers with an imposing exterior, opulent double staircase in the lobby and nautical-inspired quarters that feel downright homey. The fantastic location in Sydney's center and slew of hotel amenities, including a divine spa, indoor rooftop pool with tower views, and fine eateries make guests feel like royalty.   

Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with city or park views
  • High-rent address across from Hyde Park
  • Hot stone massage treatments at the spa
Rooms

Handsomely decorated spacious quarters deliver a touch of class and comfort. The hotel's 557 rooms with city or park views promise Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds with high thread count linens and heaps of earth-toned pillows. Rooms also feature a dark wood writing desk with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a plush armchair and a stylish black marble bathroom. Plantation-style shutters cover large windows, hiding the Sydney sunshine when sleep calls.

Features

A destination restaurant for an anniversary or special occasion, Feast serves international selections throughout the day and draws repeat customers for award-winning breakfast and seafood buffets. For a light meal, visit the Gallery Tea Lounge featuring leather couches and photos of famous faces. The floor-to-ceiling window framing Hyde Park is the centerpiece of the Conservatory Bar, attracting ladies in heels and chaps in suits for tapas-style dinners, vintage wines and serenading musicians.

 

The indoor rooftop swimming pool has views of the Sydney Tower and the hotel houses a fitness center. On the Park Rejuvenation, the hotel's signature spa, boasts decadent treatments like lemongrass salt glow or Shiatsu massage.

 

The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Transportation
  • Metro Monorail  (1 block)
  • St. James Station Railway (.12 mi/.2 km)
  • Kingsford Smith International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pitt Street Mall (1 block)
  • Darling Harbour (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Manly Beach  (7.5 mi/12 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and lobby
  • Meeting facilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services

Hotel Map

-33.8716 151.2097
Nearby airports
Sydney Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton on the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton on the Park Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Sauna
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton on the Park

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cooler guy
Business
Portland Ore
Jan 27, 2013

Sheraton on the park. outstanding

I have moved from several hotels in the last 2 weeks around AU for work. My normal stay is around 2 days per hotel on average. This hotel was outstanding. it was a clean as you can ask for and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best. Across the street from the park and events. St Marys Chuch is also across the street and it a must see for photographers. Pubs are nearby as well as many nice eateries.. You can find high end resturants as well as fast food. A perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you step out the back of the hotel on castlereagh (i think) turn right and there is a great value pub that offers $6 icy cold beer. if you turn to the left up 1 block there is another local pub that gets very busy due to locals hangout. quite fun as well.

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan from USA
USA
Apr 12, 2013

Not what we booked

We arrived at 9 am and told the guy at the desk that we needed 2 beds in our room. We asked twice to make sure. He assured us that there would be 2 beds. Later in the day, when we came back to check in, we were put in a king, and there were not 2 beds in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Artieboy
Sydney
Oct 22, 2013

Unauthorised Credit Card Charges

I regularly have the please to dine at '' The Feast Restaurant " located on the first level of this 5 star hotel . The food is exceptional and beyond all expectations , the value for money is outstanding to you get your bill . I was charged twice in the space of 30 seconds , only to be told one transaction was reversed . Its now been 8 days since i had lunch there and still no refund ... $161 . They obviously need the money more then me lol . Watch the extra charges

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pay attention to your credit card , they will charge it twice ....

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FRANK
Not Provided
Feb 3, 2010

Generally dissatsfied by the

Generally dissatsfied by the lack of service, including:- 1. Lack of bathroom amenities. No paste/brush No combs No disposal shavers (No additional soaps/shampoos were left in room for 2nd night. 2. No bedroom slippers until requested 3. No Complimentary water 4. Bed room not cleaned untl 3 pm after request 5. Bed sheets not changed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adrian
Not Provided
Sep 13, 2010

I have been staying in Sydney

I have been staying in Sydney in hotels for a month until my appt is available and have tried the Westin and the Shangri La before the Sheraton. In my opinion the Westin is far superior not only in terms of room size but also in terms of service. In comparison with the Shangei La the room are more modern in the Sheraton (although v small) but the service again is severley lacking. As I booked through a third party the Sheraton would not give me a tax receipt for my hotel room costs. This would be OK but the third party they used did not provide a ABN number either, however, the Manager did not seem to care) which obviously means I can't claim the costs back from my company. Any items like the gym you have to pay extra which is similar to how a budget airline operates not a 5 star hotel. To be honest its for tourists, it trades on its name and my advice would be pay a little extra for the Westin where all your facilities are included and the staff are helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Apr 24, 2009

I found the Sheraton On the Park

I found the Sheraton On the Park very incompetent from the moment I arrived...firstly the valet were quite abrupt,I had no offer to carry my bags to reception..When I reached reception they had no information on my booking and when it was found the booking was under my christian name and my Surname was listed as my name.Next i was handed my room key and not told where the elevators were and had to struggle with my luggage alone! My room was clean and ok,but unfortunately I had asked for a city view and found my room faced 3 buildings...NO VIEW AT ALL ! Therefore this will be my last visit to sheraton hotels and in future I will stick to Westin as I have in the past!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChgoTravlr
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Acceptable, but not 5 star

The "city view" room looked directly into a brick wall. The room was small, badly lit, and had cheap material (tiles in the bathroom, fixtures, and carpeting). The water pressure was also poor. However, the bed was very comfortable, and the location was easily accessible to the monorail and the free bus service (route 555). Overall, it is an acceptable hotel, but more equivalent to a three star property in the States. I have previously stayed in the Shangri-La Sysney, which was far superior for only a few dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 555 bus picks up outside the front door, with free service to Circular Quay, Chinatown, and various shopping malls.

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travell
Business
Singapore
Apr 27, 2013

Traveller

The room was very small, small window , and bath room is ok . Overall , not impressive at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcool
Australia
Feb 5, 2013

Average staff service for a 5 star hotel

- Arrived a few hours before check in and was told we had to wait for our room, or pay $50 to have our room immediately. - Room service barging in to our room in the afternoon - Nice, clean and comfortable rooms - Pool is quite cold, spa was in maintenance for two weeks (first time in five years) whilst we were there - Reception/Concierge staff are friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield Sydney is just around the corner, about 2 mins walk.

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike B
Business
Hong Kong
Apr 27, 2014

Great Spot for Business

Club Lounge is good. Staff very helpful. Suites comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Exit Hotel and Turn Right. First Eatery on the right (Elizabeth Street) is EXCELLENT.

Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Therese
Not Provided
Jan 13, 2010

The room was on the 9th floor

The room was on the 9th floor facing north and was like a concrete cell. Our windows faced another brick wall 1 metre away adding to the effect of a characterless room. The floor had bits of debris not cleaned away and some of the bathroom black tiles had a white soapy haze over them that looked less than clean and a bit yucky. I think there are better value deals out there. The hotel pool was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search