$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Sheraton on the Park

5 stars
161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
22 reviews
Welcoming staff at the Sheraton made us feel like family!

The staff at the Sheraton welcomed us after our 20+ hours of travel! We knew arriving at 8:00 am... See full review

  • Eve P.
  • Jan 18, 2014
Great Spot for Business

Club Lounge is good. Staff very helpful. Suites comfortable. See full review

  • Mike B
  • Apr 27, 2014
Opulence meets comfort at this Hyde Park gem

Sheraton on the Park is a stately grand dame on the edge of Hyde Park showcasing luxurious rooms and sophisticated interiors for discriminating travelers. The hotel impresses business and leisure travelers with an imposing exterior, opulent double staircase in the lobby and nautical-inspired quarters that feel downright homey. The fantastic location in Sydney's center and slew of hotel amenities, including a divine spa, indoor rooftop pool with tower views, and fine eateries make guests feel like royalty.   

Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with city or park views
  • High-rent address across from Hyde Park
  • Hot stone massage treatments at the spa
Rooms

Handsomely decorated spacious quarters deliver a touch of class and comfort. The hotel's 557 rooms with city or park views promise Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds with high thread count linens and heaps of earth-toned pillows. Rooms also feature a dark wood writing desk with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a plush armchair and a stylish black marble bathroom. Plantation-style shutters cover large windows, hiding the Sydney sunshine when sleep calls.

Features

A destination restaurant for an anniversary or special occasion, Feast serves international selections throughout the day and draws repeat customers for award-winning breakfast and seafood buffets. For a light meal, visit the Gallery Tea Lounge featuring leather couches and photos of famous faces. The floor-to-ceiling window framing Hyde Park is the centerpiece of the Conservatory Bar, attracting ladies in heels and chaps in suits for tapas-style dinners, vintage wines and serenading musicians.

 

The indoor rooftop swimming pool has views of the Sydney Tower and the hotel houses a fitness center. On the Park Rejuvenation, the hotel's signature spa, boasts decadent treatments like lemongrass salt glow or Shiatsu massage.

 

The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Transportation
  • Metro Monorail  (1 block)
  • St. James Station Railway (.12 mi/.2 km)
  • Kingsford Smith International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pitt Street Mall (1 block)
  • Darling Harbour (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Manly Beach  (7.5 mi/12 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and lobby
  • Meeting facilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services

Hotel Map

-33.8716 151.2097
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton on the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton on the Park Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Room
DVD player
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.8 mi

Dining

The Conservatory Bar
This chic bar is the perfect place to sip away the twilight hours. Enjoy sweeping views of the park through dramatic two-storey windows in a classy, smart setting offering communal tables and private nooks. Live entertainment from Thursday.
The Gallery Tea Lounge
Our fashionable Sydney High Tea is set in the timeless surroundings of The Gallery Tea Lounge. Indulge in a traditional high tea stand with fine-leaf teas and an exquisite selection of pastries and snacks.
Feast
With a contemporary setting overlooking the magnificent park, a world of flavours awaits you at Feast, the signature buffet restaurant of Sheraton on the Park.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton on the Park

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cooler guy
Business
Portland Ore
Jan 27, 2013

Sheraton on the park. outstanding

I have moved from several hotels in the last 2 weeks around AU for work. My normal stay is around 2 days per hotel on average. This hotel was outstanding. it was a clean as you can ask for and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best. Across the street from the park and events. St Marys Chuch is also across the street and it a must see for photographers. Pubs are nearby as well as many nice eateries.. You can find high end resturants as well as fast food. A perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you step out the back of the hotel on castlereagh (i think) turn right and there is a great value pub that offers $6 icy cold beer. if you turn to the left up 1 block there is another local pub that gets very busy due to locals hangout. quite fun as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eve P.
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 18, 2014

Welcoming staff at the Sheraton made us feel like family!

The staff at the Sheraton welcomed us after our 20+ hours of travel! We knew arriving at 8:00 am Sydney time meant our room wouldn't be ready, however, they were obviously used to people traveling far, and handed us the keys to their spa and invited us to use the showers and facilities. We were very grateful for that and then we checked our bags with the Concierge and went to explore Sydney. The staff was very helpful directing us to the correct spot where we caught our double decker tour bus to see the sights. When we returned our room was ready and our luggage had already been delivered to our room! Perfect timing as we really needed to nap by then! The room was a very generous size, the bathroom was enormous with a full tub and separate shower, plenty of fluffy white towels etc. The bed was so comfortable and we needed a rollaway bed, which was delivered with a smile and was also very comfy. We napped then went in search for dinner at the Westfield shopping mall that was at the next corner. The next morning we had the buffet breakfast - that was a bit costly and don't think we'd do that again, but it was good food and service.The Concierge was so helpful as he told us how to get to the ferry to go to the Taronga Zoo and the best way to get our daughter to her Bridge Climb! We then checked our bags with the Concierge and headed to our destinations. We returned early afternoon to collect our bags and make our way to our Cruise ship. Thanks Sheraton for taking such great care of three weary travelers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boomerchick
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 18, 2012

central Sydney location

Very nice hotel and a decent value in a city as expensive as Sydney. Staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cooler guy
Business
Portland Ore
Jan 27, 2013

Sheraton on the park. outstanding

I have moved from several hotels in the last 2 weeks around AU for work. My normal stay is around 2 days per hotel on average. This hotel was outstanding. it was a clean as you can ask for and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best. Across the street from the park and events. St Marys Chuch is also across the street and it a must see for photographers. Pubs are nearby as well as many nice eateries.. You can find high end resturants as well as fast food. A perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you step out the back of the hotel on castlereagh (i think) turn right and there is a great value pub that offers $6 icy cold beer. if you turn to the left up 1 block there is another local pub that gets very busy due to locals hangout. quite fun as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Augustine, Florida
Feb 21, 2010

Wonderful experience!

Hotel was expensive but we probably saved money because it was right in the heart of the city. We walked everywhere or took the ferry.So it was definitely worth the extra cost. Staff was very friendly and tried extra hard to please you. Magnificent rooms with wonderful views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We wanted to see an Opera at the famous opera house. We found out that if you take a tour they offer you 50% off a show, so do not book an Opera before you leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whoisJohnGalt
Business
augusta, ga
Jun 23, 2010

excellent stay

Hotel exceeded expectations. The staff was very friendly. Buffet breakfast in package was excellent. Room was very clean and larger than anticipated. Location was within easy walking distance of Opera House and across the street from St James train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good, affordable food available across street in David Jones department store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Osaka, Japan
Sep 28, 2010

Amazing

Perfect hotel to visit Sydney, good location, amazing staff, a lot of facilities, free internet in lobby. And amazing pool in top floor with good views of tower. Noisy rooms because of the fire trucks crossing city all day long, but it worths.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 29, 2009

A Magical Hotel

Me and my newlywed husband spent only one day at Sheraton on the Park for our honeymoon. The only sad thing was that we could not spend more nights there! We booked one park view room for our only night in Sydney. When we told the concierge that it was our honeymoon, she upgraded our room to a corner room which had a better park view and gave us a voucher for complimentary drinks. When we opened the door, the room was gorgeous! Beautifully decorated, great views, spacious room and pampered bathroom, it was SWEET! Also, the outside of the hotel was all lit up with twinkling lights for the Christmas holiday. The staff was great. It was in a great location if you are interested in exploring the city. We couldn't have hoped for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jonny_hc
Business
Parramatta, NSW, Australia
Feb 5, 2011

Great location and service

It was a last minute booking, where I wanted to surprise my wife. She knew we were going to watch Tap Dogs on Saturday, but gave her an extra surprise with a night in town as well. The staff from check in through to check out was excellent and the view of the Park was beautiful to wake up to. I very nice quick getaway without comprising on quality. Thankyou, we will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bella Vista, AR
Jul 13, 2010

best for the money

one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 15, 2009

Great Hotel

The Sheraton on the Park is a wonderful place to stay with modern luxurious rooms. We arrived at the hotel around 8 am and were promptly checked in, and given an upgrade to a "park view" room. I did not expect either of these since I did not request an early check-in. The room and bed were very comfortable and quiet, even though it was on the street side of the hotel. The view was very nice of Victoria Park and the Cathedral too. The food is good in the hotel, but pricy, like most major hotel brands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you will be in Sydney from 3-7 days, get the "green" 7 day travel pass, available at the main train station or Circulary Quay Ferry terminal. It is good for all trains, subway, bus and ferries in the Sydney metro area. This is even good to the airport. Skip buying the 1 or 2 day hop on/off bus pass. The only thing it is good for is hearing some sort of description of the area as the bus goes around town. The green travel pass is about the same price and you get three times as many options for travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top