$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Sheraton on the Park

5 stars
161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
22 reviews
Welcoming staff at the Sheraton made us feel like family!

The staff at the Sheraton welcomed us after our 20+ hours of travel! We knew arriving at 8:00 am... See full review

  • Eve P.
  • Jan 18, 2014
Great Spot for Business

Club Lounge is good. Staff very helpful. Suites comfortable. See full review

  • Mike B
  • Apr 27, 2014
Opulence meets comfort at this Hyde Park gem

Sheraton on the Park is a stately grand dame on the edge of Hyde Park showcasing luxurious rooms and sophisticated interiors for discriminating travelers. The hotel impresses business and leisure travelers with an imposing exterior, opulent double staircase in the lobby and nautical-inspired quarters that feel downright homey. The fantastic location in Sydney's center and slew of hotel amenities, including a divine spa, indoor rooftop pool with tower views, and fine eateries make guests feel like royalty.   

Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with city or park views
  • High-rent address across from Hyde Park
  • Hot stone massage treatments at the spa
Rooms

Handsomely decorated spacious quarters deliver a touch of class and comfort. The hotel's 557 rooms with city or park views promise Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds with high thread count linens and heaps of earth-toned pillows. Rooms also feature a dark wood writing desk with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a plush armchair and a stylish black marble bathroom. Plantation-style shutters cover large windows, hiding the Sydney sunshine when sleep calls.

Features

A destination restaurant for an anniversary or special occasion, Feast serves international selections throughout the day and draws repeat customers for award-winning breakfast and seafood buffets. For a light meal, visit the Gallery Tea Lounge featuring leather couches and photos of famous faces. The floor-to-ceiling window framing Hyde Park is the centerpiece of the Conservatory Bar, attracting ladies in heels and chaps in suits for tapas-style dinners, vintage wines and serenading musicians.

 

The indoor rooftop swimming pool has views of the Sydney Tower and the hotel houses a fitness center. On the Park Rejuvenation, the hotel's signature spa, boasts decadent treatments like lemongrass salt glow or Shiatsu massage.

 

The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Transportation
  • Metro Monorail  (1 block)
  • St. James Station Railway (.12 mi/.2 km)
  • Kingsford Smith International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pitt Street Mall (1 block)
  • Darling Harbour (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Manly Beach  (7.5 mi/12 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access in guest rooms and lobby
  • Meeting facilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services

Hotel Map

-33.8716 151.2097
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton on the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton on the Park Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Room
DVD player
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.8 mi

Dining

The Conservatory Bar
This chic bar is the perfect place to sip away the twilight hours. Enjoy sweeping views of the park through dramatic two-storey windows in a classy, smart setting offering communal tables and private nooks. Live entertainment from Thursday.
The Gallery Tea Lounge
Our fashionable Sydney High Tea is set in the timeless surroundings of The Gallery Tea Lounge. Indulge in a traditional high tea stand with fine-leaf teas and an exquisite selection of pastries and snacks.
Feast
With a contemporary setting overlooking the magnificent park, a world of flavours awaits you at Feast, the signature buffet restaurant of Sheraton on the Park.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton on the Park

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike B
Business
Hong Kong
Apr 27, 2014

Great Spot for Business

Club Lounge is good. Staff very helpful. Suites comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Exit Hotel and Turn Right. First Eatery on the right (Elizabeth Street) is EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eve P.
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 18, 2014

Welcoming staff at the Sheraton made us feel like family!

The staff at the Sheraton welcomed us after our 20+ hours of travel! We knew arriving at 8:00 am Sydney time meant our room wouldn't be ready, however, they were obviously used to people traveling far, and handed us the keys to their spa and invited us to use the showers and facilities. We were very grateful for that and then we checked our bags with the Concierge and went to explore Sydney. The staff was very helpful directing us to the correct spot where we caught our double decker tour bus to see the sights. When we returned our room was ready and our luggage had already been delivered to our room! Perfect timing as we really needed to nap by then! The room was a very generous size, the bathroom was enormous with a full tub and separate shower, plenty of fluffy white towels etc. The bed was so comfortable and we needed a rollaway bed, which was delivered with a smile and was also very comfy. We napped then went in search for dinner at the Westfield shopping mall that was at the next corner. The next morning we had the buffet breakfast - that was a bit costly and don't think we'd do that again, but it was good food and service.The Concierge was so helpful as he told us how to get to the ferry to go to the Taronga Zoo and the best way to get our daughter to her Bridge Climb! We then checked our bags with the Concierge and headed to our destinations. We returned early afternoon to collect our bags and make our way to our Cruise ship. Thanks Sheraton for taking such great care of three weary travelers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan from USA
Business
USA
Apr 12, 2013

Not what we booked

We arrived at 9 am and told the guy at the desk that we needed 2 beds in our room. We asked twice to make sure. He assured us that there would be 2 beds. Later in the day, when we came back to check in, we were put in a king, and there were not 2 beds in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senior cruisers
Business
Australia
Feb 8, 2013

Sydney short break

Sheraton on the Park is a traditional five star hotel with full amenities and excellent service. Our king bed room had everything. It was huge with separate dressing room and bath and shower. The location is opposite St James station (direct line from the airport) and on the free city shuttle bus route so convenient for getting around. Being in the city, the City View rooms actually look onto the building next door so there is not actually a 'view', but as we got a very reasonable rate this was not an issue for us. Other rooms look over Hyde Pk. We spent three days sightseeing around the city, harbour and beaches but the hotel would be perfect for a business stay as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cooler guy
Business
Portland Ore
Jan 27, 2013

Sheraton on the park. outstanding

I have moved from several hotels in the last 2 weeks around AU for work. My normal stay is around 2 days per hotel on average. This hotel was outstanding. it was a clean as you can ask for and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best. Across the street from the park and events. St Marys Chuch is also across the street and it a must see for photographers. Pubs are nearby as well as many nice eateries.. You can find high end resturants as well as fast food. A perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you step out the back of the hotel on castlereagh (i think) turn right and there is a great value pub that offers $6 icy cold beer. if you turn to the left up 1 block there is another local pub that gets very busy due to locals hangout. quite fun as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boomerchick
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 18, 2012

central Sydney location

Very nice hotel and a decent value in a city as expensive as Sydney. Staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie W JP
Business
Kobe, Japan
Nov 29, 2012

Great Location. High Comfort and rooms

Overall very nice hotel and location and high quality rooms and comfort levels. Easy to get to anywhere in the CBD. Also, rooms were very clean and cleaning staff friendly. A bit of noise from next room with loud tv and small amount of road noise due to being on the city view hyde park side, which is next to a main road - so request higher floor levels to avoid this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

there is an exit at the back of the hotel taking you right into the cbd (castlereigh Street) rather than going out the front and walking around the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hnh1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 11, 2012

Business

Good central location an easy taxi ride from the airport. Spacious well appointed room but a bit short on storage space. Would not accept frequent traveller card when booked through non-hotel travel site. A$9 for a bottle of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Botanical gardens, opera house, Darling harbor, ferries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChgoTravlr
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Acceptable, but not 5 star

The "city view" room looked directly into a brick wall. The room was small, badly lit, and had cheap material (tiles in the bathroom, fixtures, and carpeting). The water pressure was also poor. However, the bed was very comfortable, and the location was easily accessible to the monorail and the free bus service (route 555). Overall, it is an acceptable hotel, but more equivalent to a three star property in the States. I have previously stayed in the Shangri-La Sysney, which was far superior for only a few dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 555 bus picks up outside the front door, with free service to Circular Quay, Chinatown, and various shopping malls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton on the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 30, 2011

Fantastic Experience

The hotel experience was exactly what I needed. My only disappointments were that I still had to pay for internet (at over $20/day) and I had to depart early on checkout and couldn't enjoy the hotel longer (though that's no fault of theirs). The room was perfect, well appointed with a comfortable king bed and beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was included in my rate, and the buffet had plenty of options to satisfy anybody. All the attractions of the city are within a reasonable walking distance (Darling Harbour, Opera House, The Rocks), and if you would prefer a taxi they are always waiting outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top