$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

5 stars
View map of 176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 20, 2009

A fabulous place to stay!

the hotel's staff was friendly, professional, and always helpful. this hotel would have ranked 5 stars except the pool, fitness center and business center are all being remodeled so there is little or no services of these. I wish this would have been mentioned in the booking information. Otherwise, our stay was great! Location, location, location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The "hop on Hop off" tour was good for getting around and getting a basic knowledge of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location, but soft bed

Hotel was great except for a few things. They told us local calls were 90 cents but when we got out bill it was much more because we were calling a local cell number which turns out to cost a minimum of $2.40. We thought that was unfair. Also, the bed was very soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Sep 8, 2010

Lovely views

I found it difficult to find the Shangri-La on foot from Wynyard Station, possibly because I'd never been to Sydney before. Once you're at the hotel, it's very easy to figure how get around the area. The visitor center in The Rocks is nearby, so that should be any visitor's first stop. While the hotel is luxurious, and the staff is absolutely lovely, I felt as though it isn't really meant for the tourist who wants to wander on their own. Which isn't to say that the hotel staff wouldn't have provided any maps or answered any questions, but when you're walking around in your casuals, the last thing you want to do is be at the front desk of a glam hotel looking like you don't belong. (The staff here never made us feel like we didn't belong, I just always felt under-dressed.) All in all, if you want a hotel that will do everything for you, stay here. If you are used to being more independent, perhaps you would prefer somewhere else. I loved my stay here, and the view from my room was exactly what I expected and hoped for. It really is a lovely place to stay, and if you're travelling for business, a great place to relax and get work done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Explorer Pass for Sydney and Bondi Buses will cover ferries, trains, and buses. This is a multi-day pass, available in either 3 or 5 day options. The 24-hour Bondi/Sydney pass does NOT include trains or ferries, which is a bit confusing when you read the literature and the multi-day sounds the same as a 24-hour pass. Also, I found it difficult to find a map that had bus routes and train routes on it that went all over Sydney. But that's probably because Sydney is really big, so it's difficult to get all the areas shown on one map and still be able to read it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC, USA
Jul 8, 2009

Stunning views from great hotel

Stuuning location - the bar on the 36th floor is to die for. Best views of Sydney imaginable. Staff were all superb - super helpful and friendly. Health club/spa excellent. Great service - had a superb massage after a 20 hour flight! Main restaurant was over-priced for the 'buffet' $69 !!! - and they told me a-la-carte would have a 45 minute wait!! I had bar snacks/light food instead, which was reasonable, but average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the 36th floor bar for cocktails. STUNNING views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AHP
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 19, 2010

Family Wedding

Hotel rooms and service were excellent. The only problem was the promised free in-room wifi. The reception was poor at best. I had to go to the lobby to get a signal. Hotel staff was disinterested in my problem. They should not promise things that don't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take a right out the main entrance onto Cumberland Street there is a market and a couple of nice inexpensive pubs with nice menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frquent Travelllerr
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 4, 2014

Nice, but poorly trained staff

Room was nice, as to be expected. Wait time checking in and checking out was unacceptably long (10+ minutes). Staff, although very nice, forgot or mixed up drink orders multiple times when dining in the "club." Pool smelled of chlorine horribly-- worse than any public pool ever visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Femagari
Business
Santiago de Chile, Región Metropolitana, Chile
Nov 25, 2011

Fantastic free wifi

Its a pleasure to have free wifi at rooms. The only complaint of my wife was no full body mirror in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Altitud. Grat vew,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fariba121
Business
denver, colorado
Feb 24, 2013

great hotel!

The staff at this hotel makes your experience great!! definitely worth upgrading to the club level rooms both for the extra attention and concierge and also the wonderful afternoon and evening snacks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bridge climb is great - dont miss out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lacy
Business
uk
Mar 13, 2013

the best hotel in the best location

couldn't have been a better experience for a lone traveller,will definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solo Travel Steve
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 24, 2010

Shangri-La does it again!

Shangri-La's current motto is to "embrace a stranger as one's own". And they are 2-for-2 with me. My first experience was at the Mactan resort in Cebu, Philippines last November, and most recently, last week at Shangri-La Sydney. There is seriously not a request that goes ungranted with courtesy and a smile. My flight arrived very early in the morning and I was understandably too early to check in. I was prepared to wait it out, but they encouraged me to utilize the health club for pool and shower facilities after my long flight! Unreal! Next thing I knew my amazing corner room was ready. I had views to the south towards the CBD and a window that faced northeast with perfect views of the Opera house. The TV had my name on it when I arrived welcoming me![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Hart's Pub and ask for the taster paddle! A great close by alternative to the very high priced food at Shangri-La, and amazing micro brews and the best pub food I may have ever had! get the steak sandwich!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top