$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

5 stars
View map of 176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
29 reviews
Great overnight before heading home

Simply great. This is more like Shangri-La I expected. Stayed at one in Cains for a few days before... See full review

  • Jenny12S
  • Nov 15, 2014
A perfect hotel for families!!!

The hotel has a great position, huge rooms with breathtaking view, kind , professional and helpful... See full review

  • Dada'
  • Sep 23, 2014
  • Sydney Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Paddington Markets (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Manly Beach (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
General

Guests who stay at Shangri-La will have no doubt they are at a five-star hotel.  Evenings draw Sydney's most affluent residents to the Altitude Restaurant and Blu Horizon Bar on the hotel's 36th floor. Harbour views are perfect for champagne sipping.  Dine on cured southern bluefin tuna with celeriac remoulade and other fresh seafood selections. Shangri-La's casual Cafe Mix and Lobby Lounge serve three meals daily to downtown workers and hungry sightseers.

 

CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La bases its harmonious treatments on Asian philosophies, aiming to heal the mind and spirit. Visit the health club and indoor swimming pool to revitalize.

 

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking facilities (fees apply).

Location

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney introduces hotel patrons to the best the city has to offer. Rooms at Shangri-La afford spectacular views of Darling Harbour and the Sydney Opera House. The hotel is a top choice for global celebrities, discerning business travelers and honeymooners who enjoy the hotel's award-winning service, Pacific Rim cuisine and posh Easter-influenced spa. Sizeable suites are unforgettable.

Dining
  • Wynyard Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Monorail Station Darling Drive (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sydney Airport (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
Rooms

Shangri-La's 563 spacious guest quarters frame Darling Harbour or the Sydney Opera House, making them the most coveted in the city. Interiors rely on views for inspiration while delivering subtle extravagances. Plush beds with velvet throws, thick duvets and violet pillows promise deluxe rest. All rooms offer a pillow menu, full-size executive writing desk and free Wi-Fi.  

 

Property features

Guests who stay at Shangri-La will have no doubt they are at a five-star hotel.  Evenings draw Sydney's most affluent residents to the Altitude Restaurant and Blu Horizon Bar on the hotel's 36th floor. Harbour views are perfect for champagne sipping.  Dine on cured southern bluefin tuna with celeriac remoulade and other fresh seafood selections. Shangri-La's casual Cafe Mix and Lobby Lounge serve three meals daily to downtown workers and hungry sightseers.

 

CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La bases its harmonious treatments on Asian philosophies, aiming to heal the mind and spirit. Visit the health club and indoor swimming pool to revitalize.

 

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking facilities (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Rooms look out on Sydney Opera House
  • Award-winning Altitude Restaurant
  • Top-notch CHI Spa
Nearby attractions
  • Rooms look out on Sydney Opera House
  • Award-winning Altitude Restaurant
  • Top-notch CHI Spa
Business
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Business center with secretarial services, fax and copying capabilities (fees apply)
  • Meeting facilities with high-tech equipment and features
Transportation

Rocks district pampering with delicious views

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$163
4.5 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 57 reviews
★★★★
$87
2.8 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★★
$122
4.1 / 5 7 reviews
★★★★★
$215
4.7 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$88
4.0 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★★
$161
4.4 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★★
$154
4.4 / 5 60 reviews
★★★★★
$157
4.8 / 5 6 reviews

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney Rooms

Deluxe Grand Harbour View
Experience our Deluxe Grand Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. Each room faces north and features views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and The Rocks area. These rooms are 45 to 50 square meters in size.
Executive Darling Harbour
Experience our Executive Darling Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms, located on the 22nd-29th floors, face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region and are between 40-50 sqm in size.
Executive Opera City View
Experience our Executive Opera House City View Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms, located on the 22nd-29th floors, are between 40-50 sqm and face East towards Circular Quay, the city and the Sydney Opera House.
Executive Grand Harbour
Experience our Executive Grand Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. Each room features breathtaking views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House from the 22nd - 29th floor. Room size varies between 45-50 sqm.
Grand Harbour Suite
Experience our Executive Grand Harbour Suite complete with Wifi, media hub facilities with access to the Horizon Club Lounge. The room is 83 square meters and features a 270 degree view of Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and Darling Harbour.
Horizon Club Darling
These rooms face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region. Each room comes with access to the Horizon Club Lounge which includes continental breakfast, evening drinks and canapes served between 6-8pm.
Deluxe Opera House City View
Experience our Deluxe Opera House City Rooms INCLUSIVE of Complimentary internet access. These rooms face East towards Circular Quay, the city and Sydney Opera House.
Deluxe Darling Harbour View
Experience our Deluxe Darling Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.9 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.3 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.4 mi

Dining

Blu Horizon Bar
An attraction in its own right, the New York-inspired Blu Horizon Bar exudes urban sophistication. This exclusive cocktail lounge is located high above the city with panoramic views of Darling Harbour, The Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.
Altitude Restaurant
From traditional pub dining along the streets of Sydney's historic Rocks district to superlative experiences at Altitude restaurant on level 36, dining at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney offers a delicious sampling of Australia's culinary past.The floor to ceiling windows at Altitude restaurant allow diners to enjoy the most outstanding Harbour views of any Sydney Restaurant as an appropriate accompaniment to the finest contemporary Australian cuisine. A 16 person private dining room is available for more intimate gatherings.
Cafe Mix
Cafe Mix offers freshly prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets with a selection on Indian, Japanese, Australian, Italian, Chinese, Thai and Malay cuisines and an extensive fresh seafood buffet. A la carte dining is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Femagari
Couples
Santiago de Chile, Región Metropolitana, Chile
Nov 25, 2011

Fantastic free wifi

Its a pleasure to have free wifi at rooms. The only complaint of my wife was no full body mirror in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Altitud. Grat vew,

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fariba121
Couples
denver, colorado
Feb 24, 2013

great hotel!

The staff at this hotel makes your experience great!! definitely worth upgrading to the club level rooms both for the extra attention and concierge and also the wonderful afternoon and evening snacks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bridge climb is great - dont miss out

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lacy
Single
uk
Mar 13, 2013

the best hotel in the best location

couldn't have been a better experience for a lone traveller,will definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solo Travel Steve
Single
San Diego, CA
Aug 24, 2010

Shangri-La does it again!

Shangri-La's current motto is to "embrace a stranger as one's own". And they are 2-for-2 with me. My first experience was at the Mactan resort in Cebu, Philippines last November, and most recently, last week at Shangri-La Sydney. There is seriously not a request that goes ungranted with courtesy and a smile. My flight arrived very early in the morning and I was understandably too early to check in. I was prepared to wait it out, but they encouraged me to utilize the health club for pool and shower facilities after my long flight! Unreal! Next thing I knew my amazing corner room was ready. I had views to the south towards the CBD and a window that faced northeast with perfect views of the Opera house. The TV had my name on it when I arrived welcoming me![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Hart's Pub and ask for the taster paddle! A great close by alternative to the very high priced food at Shangri-La, and amazing micro brews and the best pub food I may have ever had! get the steak sandwich!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Mac56
Business
Washington DC
Apr 22, 2010

Shangri - La Sydney

smooth check in, room ready & very clean and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Oregon Coast
Sep 5, 2010

Amazing service, excellent location

Two friends and I recently spent 3 fabulous weeks at the Shangri-la hotel in Sydney, I can't say enough about the hotel staff, especially the staff of the Horizon Club. The Club is an excellent feature, with an amazing staff. They treated us like family and friends, gave us wonderful recommendations, efficiently made any reservations we needed, and provided all the extras that made our stay so wonderful, from umbrellas to outlet adapters to advice on shortcuts and shopping. And that's not to mention the wonderful daily breakfasts, tea service and happy hours. The hotel is in a lovely location, just far enough off the beaten path to be quiet, but close enough to everything to be convenient. And the views are out of this world! I highly recommend the Shangri-la and can't wait to visit there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
South Point, Ohio
Nov 19, 2010

Luxary hotel

Wonderful hotel, excellent service and facilities, a but if a walk to Circular Quay. Truely a full service beautiful hotel with a spectacular view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 11, 2010

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney was AMAZING!

Check-in was easy. We requested a room above the 20th floor and that was granted. Huge room with living room and beautiful bathroom. Full bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us in the room (complimentary). Plate of chocolates also waiting for us by the champagne. No charges for things like internet, pool, hot tub, gym. Excellent service. Just an amazing experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrLisa
Couples
San Jose, CA
Apr 4, 2011

Shangri-La Sydney

We were in Sydney for our first vacation there. We will DEFINITELY return, and when we do, we will stay at Shangri La. We also spent a few nights at Marriott at the Harbour. Not only was Shangri La far less expensive, it was MUCH better in every way! Can we say VIEW? wowee! and the amenities in the room: never seen so many in any hotel, ever! Even high end laundry powder for one's hand wash. All high quality amenities like L'Occitane toiletries, toothpaste and brush, razor, comb, bath salts even. Fully stocked desk, too. very comfy bed. The Shangri La had the best of EVERYTHING. if you go to Sydney, stay there! And when you do, go to the top floor of the hotel to the bar for a night cap. Stunning views and yummy cocktails. Perfectly located, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go shopping in The Rocks neighborhood for art and groovy Australian stuff. Go to the neighborhoods of Paddington and Woolooroo for amazing fashion. Food? coffee?? wine??? anywhere in Sydney!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marlon NYC
Single
New York City
Jun 12, 2014

Five stars all the way

Great view of the opera house. Excellent prompt service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top