$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

5 stars
View map of 176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solo Travel Steve
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 24, 2010

Shangri-La does it again!

Shangri-La's current motto is to "embrace a stranger as one's own". And they are 2-for-2 with me. My first experience was at the Mactan resort in Cebu, Philippines last November, and most recently, last week at Shangri-La Sydney. There is seriously not a request that goes ungranted with courtesy and a smile. My flight arrived very early in the morning and I was understandably too early to check in. I was prepared to wait it out, but they encouraged me to utilize the health club for pool and shower facilities after my long flight! Unreal! Next thing I knew my amazing corner room was ready. I had views to the south towards the CBD and a window that faced northeast with perfect views of the Opera house. The TV had my name on it when I arrived welcoming me![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Hart's Pub and ask for the taster paddle! A great close by alternative to the very high priced food at Shangri-La, and amazing micro brews and the best pub food I may have ever had! get the steak sandwich!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Evaluator
Business
Hong Kong, China
Jul 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel was great. I loved my stay there. It was so much fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chillin in australia
Business
PHoenix, AZ
Apr 25, 2010

Good service and location

Service and location were excellent. Price was fair. However, for a five star hotel, felt that the rooms could be updated. They do not even have LCD or plasma TVs. For 250-300 a night, i would expect an LCD instead of an old 27 inch CRT. Ipod compatible radio would also be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Mac56
Business
Washington DC
Apr 22, 2010

Shangri - La Sydney

smooth check in, room ready & very clean and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 11, 2010

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney was AMAZING!

Check-in was easy. We requested a room above the 20th floor and that was granted. Huge room with living room and beautiful bathroom. Full bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us in the room (complimentary). Plate of chocolates also waiting for us by the champagne. No charges for things like internet, pool, hot tub, gym. Excellent service. Just an amazing experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redghost
Business
Beijing, China
Feb 22, 2010

good but expensive

free business center with printing is the most valueable point of this hotel. The room is old and not very very clear. Good view but you have to pay more to get the room. Good locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Feb 3, 2010

Shangri-La hotel review

Excellent location for the Circular Quay (pronounced "Key") and the rocks. Lot's of cafes, pubs, shops and restaurants around. Walking distance (10-15 mins) to the opera house

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bridge Climb is a must do in Sydney.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 20, 2009

A fabulous place to stay!

the hotel's staff was friendly, professional, and always helpful. this hotel would have ranked 5 stars except the pool, fitness center and business center are all being remodeled so there is little or no services of these. I wish this would have been mentioned in the booking information. Otherwise, our stay was great! Location, location, location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The "hop on Hop off" tour was good for getting around and getting a basic knowledge of the area.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC, USA
Jul 8, 2009

Stunning views from great hotel

Stuuning location - the bar on the 36th floor is to die for. Best views of Sydney imaginable. Staff were all superb - super helpful and friendly. Health club/spa excellent. Great service - had a superb massage after a 20 hour flight! Main restaurant was over-priced for the 'buffet' $69 !!! - and they told me a-la-carte would have a 45 minute wait!! I had bar snacks/light food instead, which was reasonable, but average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the 36th floor bar for cocktails. STUNNING views!

Back to menu Return to top