$172 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

5 stars
View map of 176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Femagari
Business
Santiago de Chile, Región Metropolitana, Chile
Nov 25, 2011

Fantastic free wifi

Its a pleasure to have free wifi at rooms. The only complaint of my wife was no full body mirror in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Altitud. Grat vew,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian8
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

It's wonderful!

The transportation is convenient to go anywhere. Besides, the view is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian8
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Fantastic Trip

The location is good for doing everything and the room is comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oddchanin
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Sep 5, 2011

Great hotel... But request for renovated rooms!!!

The staff at Shangrila Sydney was wonderful.... However, do ask for the renovated rooms on the lower floors... They are much more comfortable than the older Horizon club rooms... The view of the Opera house and the bridge is unbeatable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mary Poppins was practically perfect in every way!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
50-year old American Woman
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 5, 2011

A Hotel for Mountain Climbers

The hotel is on a very steep hill. To walk anywhere you have to go down a very steep incline or use the more than 50 stone steps (truly!) - horrible for anyone with bad knees - and only worse when you have to climb back up! I'm so glad we took a cab to the hotel from the airport and not the recommended train - I can't imagine how we'd have taken our bags up the steps. You'd be better off with the Four Seasons Hotel which is at the bottom of the same hill or one of many other hotels in the Circular Quay area. The other great problem with our room was that the so-called king bed was actually two twin beds with some sort of platform in the middle. This platform was raised above the level of the twin beds so you had to roll up a hard surface (not exactly a mattress) to meet in the middle - again probably fun for climbers! The hotel service was great however, especially the concierge, room service, and housekeeping (we had to call for missing tea bags). Regretfully we would not stay at this hotel if we're ever back in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrLisa
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 4, 2011

Shangri-La Sydney

We were in Sydney for our first vacation there. We will DEFINITELY return, and when we do, we will stay at Shangri La. We also spent a few nights at Marriott at the Harbour. Not only was Shangri La far less expensive, it was MUCH better in every way! Can we say VIEW? wowee! and the amenities in the room: never seen so many in any hotel, ever! Even high end laundry powder for one's hand wash. All high quality amenities like L'Occitane toiletries, toothpaste and brush, razor, comb, bath salts even. Fully stocked desk, too. very comfy bed. The Shangri La had the best of EVERYTHING. if you go to Sydney, stay there! And when you do, go to the top floor of the hotel to the bar for a night cap. Stunning views and yummy cocktails. Perfectly located, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go shopping in The Rocks neighborhood for art and groovy Australian stuff. Go to the neighborhoods of Paddington and Woolooroo for amazing fashion. Food? coffee?? wine??? anywhere in Sydney!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location, but soft bed

Hotel was great except for a few things. They told us local calls were 90 cents but when we got out bill it was much more because we were calling a local cell number which turns out to cost a minimum of $2.40. We thought that was unfair. Also, the bed was very soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Point, Ohio
Nov 19, 2010

Luxary hotel

Wonderful hotel, excellent service and facilities, a but if a walk to Circular Quay. Truely a full service beautiful hotel with a spectacular view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AHP
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 19, 2010

Family Wedding

Hotel rooms and service were excellent. The only problem was the promised free in-room wifi. The reception was poor at best. I had to go to the lobby to get a signal. Hotel staff was disinterested in my problem. They should not promise things that don't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take a right out the main entrance onto Cumberland Street there is a market and a couple of nice inexpensive pubs with nice menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Sep 8, 2010

Lovely views

I found it difficult to find the Shangri-La on foot from Wynyard Station, possibly because I'd never been to Sydney before. Once you're at the hotel, it's very easy to figure how get around the area. The visitor center in The Rocks is nearby, so that should be any visitor's first stop. While the hotel is luxurious, and the staff is absolutely lovely, I felt as though it isn't really meant for the tourist who wants to wander on their own. Which isn't to say that the hotel staff wouldn't have provided any maps or answered any questions, but when you're walking around in your casuals, the last thing you want to do is be at the front desk of a glam hotel looking like you don't belong. (The staff here never made us feel like we didn't belong, I just always felt under-dressed.) All in all, if you want a hotel that will do everything for you, stay here. If you are used to being more independent, perhaps you would prefer somewhere else. I loved my stay here, and the view from my room was exactly what I expected and hoped for. It really is a lovely place to stay, and if you're travelling for business, a great place to relax and get work done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Explorer Pass for Sydney and Bondi Buses will cover ferries, trains, and buses. This is a multi-day pass, available in either 3 or 5 day options. The 24-hour Bondi/Sydney pass does NOT include trains or ferries, which is a bit confusing when you read the literature and the multi-day sounds the same as a 24-hour pass. Also, I found it difficult to find a map that had bus routes and train routes on it that went all over Sydney. But that's probably because Sydney is really big, so it's difficult to get all the areas shown on one map and still be able to read it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top