Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

5 stars
176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
28 reviews
Great overnight before heading home

Simply great. This is more like Shangri-La I expected. Stayed at one in Cains for a few days before... See full review

  • Jenny12S
  • Nov 15, 2014
A perfect hotel for families!!!

The hotel has a great position, huge rooms with breathtaking view, kind , professional and helpful... See full review

  • Dada'
  • Sep 23, 2014
Asian-influenced pampering in The Rocks

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney introduces hotel patrons to the best the city has to offer. Rooms at Shangri-La afford spectacular views of Darling Harbour and the Sydney Opera House. The hotel is a top choice for global celebrities, discerning business travelers and honeymooners who enjoy the hotel's award-winning service, Pacific Rim cuisine and posh Easter-influenced spa. Sizeable suites are unforgettable.

Highlights
  • Rooms look out on Sydney Opera House
  • Award-winning Altitude Restaurant
  • Top-notch CHI Spa
Rooms

Shangri-La's 563 spacious guest quarters frame Darling Harbour or the Sydney Opera House, making them the most coveted in the city. Interiors rely on views for inspiration while delivering subtle extravagances. Plush beds with velvet throws, thick duvets and violet pillows promise deluxe rest. All rooms offer a pillow menu, full-size executive writing desk and free Wi-Fi.  

 

Features

Guests who stay at Shangri-La will have no doubt they are at a five-star hotel.  Evenings draw Sydney's most affluent residents to the Altitude Restaurant and Blu Horizon Bar on the hotel's 36th floor. Harbour views are perfect for champagne sipping.  Dine on cured southern bluefin tuna with celeriac remoulade and other fresh seafood selections. Shangri-La's casual Cafe Mix and Lobby Lounge serve three meals daily to downtown workers and hungry sightseers.

 

CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La bases its harmonious treatments on Asian philosophies, aiming to heal the mind and spirit. Visit the health club and indoor swimming pool to revitalize.

 

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking facilities (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Wynyard Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Monorail Station Darling Drive (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sydney Airport (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
Attractions
  • Sydney Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Paddington Markets (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Manly Beach (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Business center with secretarial services, fax and copying capabilities (fees apply)
  • Meeting facilities with high-tech equipment and features
Policies and Fees
Levels 30-35 of the hotel will be under renovation from 01 Aug until late October. The lobby and the entrance area will also undergo renovation from late July to mid-September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney Rooms

Deluxe Darling Harbour View
Experience our newly refurbished Deluxe Darling Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region.
Deluxe Grand Harbour View
Experience our newly refurbished Deluxe Grand Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. Each room faces north and features views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and The Rocks area. These rooms are 45 to 50 square meters in size.
Executive Darling Harbour
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Darling Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms, located on the 24th-29th floors, face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region and are between 40-50 sqm in size.
Executive Opera City View
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Opera House City View Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms, located on the 24th-29th floors, are between 40-50 sqm and face East towards Circular Quay, the city and the Sydney Opera House.
Executive Grand Harbour
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Grand Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. Each room features breathtaking views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House from the 24th - 29th floor. Room size varies between 45-50 sqm.
Grand Harbour Suite
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Grand Harbour Suite complete with Wifi, media hub facilities with access to the Horizon Club Lounge. The room is 83 square meters and features a 270 degree view of Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and Darling Harbour.
Horizon Club Darling
These rooms face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region. Each room comes with access to the Horizon Club Lounge which includes continental breakfast, evening drinks and canapes served between 6-8pm.
Deluxe Opera House City View
Experience our newly refurbished Deluxe Opera House City Rooms INCLUSIVE of Complimentary internet access. These rooms face East towards Circular Quay, the city and Sydney Opera House.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

-33.8614 151.2064
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Perfectly located in the historic rocks district overlooking Sydney's most famous icons - the Sydney opera house and harbour bridge. The hotel is within walking distance of the central business district and close to major tourist attractions/ restaurants/ shopping and transport facilities. Major Attractions : Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Botanical Garden, Sky Tower, Circular Quay, Sydney Museum, National Maritime Musem, Powerhouse Museum Activities: Bridge Climb, Sky Walk, Ghost Tours.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.9 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.3 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.4 mi

Dining

Blu Horizon Bar
An attraction in its own right, the New York-inspired Blu Horizon Bar exudes urban sophistication. This exclusive cocktail lounge is located high above the city with panoramic views of Darling Harbour, The Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.
Altitude Restaurant
From traditional pub dining along the streets of Sydney's historic Rocks district to superlative experiences at Altitude restaurant on level 36, dining at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney offers a delicious sampling of Australia's culinary past.The floor to ceiling windows at Altitude restaurant allow diners to enjoy the most outstanding Harbour views of any Sydney Restaurant as an appropriate accompaniment to the finest contemporary Australian cuisine. A 16 person private dining room is available for more intimate gatherings.
Cafe Mix
Cafe Mix offers freshly prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets with a selection on Indian, Japanese, Australian, Italian, Chinese, Thai and Malay cuisines and an extensive fresh seafood buffet. A la carte dining is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian8
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Fantastic Trip

The location is good for doing everything and the room is comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oddchanin
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Sep 5, 2011

Great hotel... But request for renovated rooms!!!

The staff at Shangrila Sydney was wonderful.... However, do ask for the renovated rooms on the lower floors... They are much more comfortable than the older Horizon club rooms... The view of the Opera house and the bridge is unbeatable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mary Poppins was practically perfect in every way!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
50-year old American Woman
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 5, 2011

A Hotel for Mountain Climbers

The hotel is on a very steep hill. To walk anywhere you have to go down a very steep incline or use the more than 50 stone steps (truly!) - horrible for anyone with bad knees - and only worse when you have to climb back up! I'm so glad we took a cab to the hotel from the airport and not the recommended train - I can't imagine how we'd have taken our bags up the steps. You'd be better off with the Four Seasons Hotel which is at the bottom of the same hill or one of many other hotels in the Circular Quay area. The other great problem with our room was that the so-called king bed was actually two twin beds with some sort of platform in the middle. This platform was raised above the level of the twin beds so you had to roll up a hard surface (not exactly a mattress) to meet in the middle - again probably fun for climbers! The hotel service was great however, especially the concierge, room service, and housekeeping (we had to call for missing tea bags). Regretfully we would not stay at this hotel if we're ever back in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrLisa
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 4, 2011

Shangri-La Sydney

We were in Sydney for our first vacation there. We will DEFINITELY return, and when we do, we will stay at Shangri La. We also spent a few nights at Marriott at the Harbour. Not only was Shangri La far less expensive, it was MUCH better in every way! Can we say VIEW? wowee! and the amenities in the room: never seen so many in any hotel, ever! Even high end laundry powder for one's hand wash. All high quality amenities like L'Occitane toiletries, toothpaste and brush, razor, comb, bath salts even. Fully stocked desk, too. very comfy bed. The Shangri La had the best of EVERYTHING. if you go to Sydney, stay there! And when you do, go to the top floor of the hotel to the bar for a night cap. Stunning views and yummy cocktails. Perfectly located, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go shopping in The Rocks neighborhood for art and groovy Australian stuff. Go to the neighborhoods of Paddington and Woolooroo for amazing fashion. Food? coffee?? wine??? anywhere in Sydney!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location, but soft bed

Hotel was great except for a few things. They told us local calls were 90 cents but when we got out bill it was much more because we were calling a local cell number which turns out to cost a minimum of $2.40. We thought that was unfair. Also, the bed was very soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Point, Ohio
Nov 19, 2010

Luxary hotel

Wonderful hotel, excellent service and facilities, a but if a walk to Circular Quay. Truely a full service beautiful hotel with a spectacular view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AHP
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 19, 2010

Family Wedding

Hotel rooms and service were excellent. The only problem was the promised free in-room wifi. The reception was poor at best. I had to go to the lobby to get a signal. Hotel staff was disinterested in my problem. They should not promise things that don't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take a right out the main entrance onto Cumberland Street there is a market and a couple of nice inexpensive pubs with nice menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Sep 8, 2010

Lovely views

I found it difficult to find the Shangri-La on foot from Wynyard Station, possibly because I'd never been to Sydney before. Once you're at the hotel, it's very easy to figure how get around the area. The visitor center in The Rocks is nearby, so that should be any visitor's first stop. While the hotel is luxurious, and the staff is absolutely lovely, I felt as though it isn't really meant for the tourist who wants to wander on their own. Which isn't to say that the hotel staff wouldn't have provided any maps or answered any questions, but when you're walking around in your casuals, the last thing you want to do is be at the front desk of a glam hotel looking like you don't belong. (The staff here never made us feel like we didn't belong, I just always felt under-dressed.) All in all, if you want a hotel that will do everything for you, stay here. If you are used to being more independent, perhaps you would prefer somewhere else. I loved my stay here, and the view from my room was exactly what I expected and hoped for. It really is a lovely place to stay, and if you're travelling for business, a great place to relax and get work done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Explorer Pass for Sydney and Bondi Buses will cover ferries, trains, and buses. This is a multi-day pass, available in either 3 or 5 day options. The 24-hour Bondi/Sydney pass does NOT include trains or ferries, which is a bit confusing when you read the literature and the multi-day sounds the same as a 24-hour pass. Also, I found it difficult to find a map that had bus routes and train routes on it that went all over Sydney. But that's probably because Sydney is really big, so it's difficult to get all the areas shown on one map and still be able to read it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon Coast
Sep 5, 2010

Amazing service, excellent location

Two friends and I recently spent 3 fabulous weeks at the Shangri-la hotel in Sydney, I can't say enough about the hotel staff, especially the staff of the Horizon Club. The Club is an excellent feature, with an amazing staff. They treated us like family and friends, gave us wonderful recommendations, efficiently made any reservations we needed, and provided all the extras that made our stay so wonderful, from umbrellas to outlet adapters to advice on shortcuts and shopping. And that's not to mention the wonderful daily breakfasts, tea service and happy hours. The hotel is in a lovely location, just far enough off the beaten path to be quiet, but close enough to everything to be convenient. And the views are out of this world! I highly recommend the Shangri-la and can't wait to visit there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solo Travel Steve
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 24, 2010

Shangri-La does it again!

Shangri-La's current motto is to "embrace a stranger as one's own". And they are 2-for-2 with me. My first experience was at the Mactan resort in Cebu, Philippines last November, and most recently, last week at Shangri-La Sydney. There is seriously not a request that goes ungranted with courtesy and a smile. My flight arrived very early in the morning and I was understandably too early to check in. I was prepared to wait it out, but they encouraged me to utilize the health club for pool and shower facilities after my long flight! Unreal! Next thing I knew my amazing corner room was ready. I had views to the south towards the CBD and a window that faced northeast with perfect views of the Opera house. The TV had my name on it when I arrived welcoming me![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Hart's Pub and ask for the taster paddle! A great close by alternative to the very high priced food at Shangri-La, and amazing micro brews and the best pub food I may have ever had! get the steak sandwich!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top