$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

5 stars
27 O'Connell Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
14 reviews
Great location

Large room with high ceilings and lots of light. Excellent location, easy to walk to harbor and... See full review

  • Flatpoint78
  • Feb 11, 2014
Stayed for two nights

I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. Location is very good, staff was helpful, my... See full review

  • DakineOofa
  • Aug 3, 2013
Historic exterior with millennial style in Sydney’s business district

At first glance it appears the Radisson Plaza Hotel shows her finest side; a grand sandstone exterior dating back to the 1800s was once a bank and newspaper office before becoming a five-star hotel. Yet the interiors of the Radisson Plaza impress anew. Muted layers of wood, glass and stone play on the hotel's historic features. The property caters to business travelers with free Wi-Fi and a multilingual staff ready to tackle any need. Located in the central business district, guests can walk to Hyde Park, the Opera House and public transportation.

Highlights
  • Award winning Bilson's Restaurant
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Extensive health club with body treatments

 

Rooms

Cozy guest rooms boast a sunny ambiance with shades of tan, gold and white. Big windows are dressed with thick taupe curtains. The hotel's 336 rooms and 26 suites are furnished with signature beds, a moveable blonde wood desk with ergonomic chair, flat screen TV and a deep tub. All guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access in every room.

Features

Diners at Radisson Blu Plaza Sydney can indulge on mouth-watering culinary specialties, extensive wine list and cutting edge a la carte dining at the award-winning Bentley Restaurant and Bar on site. Tony Bilson, creator of Australian cuisine, has won hearts (and awards) from local and international foodies for the fare at Bilson's Restaurant. Stylish diners reserve well in advance for fine French-inspired lunch and dinner. The menu shifts with the season to include items such as cannelloni of Tasmanian ocean trout, celeriac and spanner crab remoulade. For a casual option, the Bistro Fax Restaurant and Bar serves three meals a day. 

The hotel health club offers an indoor pool, spa, steam room, gymnasium, plus massage and beauty treatment rooms (expect detox wraps, manicures and more).

 Indoor parking facilities are available (fees apply). Wi-Fi is complimentary to all guests.

Transportation
  • Circular Quay Train Stop (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Galeries Victoria Monorail Stop (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Sydney Airport (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
Attractions
  • Pitt Street Mall (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Darling Harbour (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.6 mi/9.0 km)
  • Manly Beach (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Business

  • Business center
  • Copy service
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Video checkout
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8657 151.2089
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
SYDNEY KINGSFORD SMITH ARPT, (SYD), 12.00, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Government House: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Dining

Bistro Fax Restaurant
Bistro Fax is located near hotel lobby -Modern Australian Cuisine
Bentley Restaurant + Bar
Bentley Restaurant + Bar is located onsite at the corner of O'Connell, Hunter and Pitt Streets. Dress Code: Smart Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 14
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fred from Victoria
Victoria, BC
Apr 12, 2013

Great location

Very quite and loved the location. The bed was very comfortable and best night sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kidnplay01
Sydney / NSW/ Australia
Jul 2, 2012

A welcome stay in the city of Sydney

Being a local, i just stayed at the hotel as it was just for a romantic getaway. It was the top floor we received with a bottle of Sparkling on arrival. Not sure why we got the champas but i was happy to take it. If you were a visitor to Sydney you would be happy with its location close to circulary quay where you get a ferry to the Zoo or Manly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty about Rockpool Bar and Grill, Jamies Restaurant, Bilsons

Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brubro
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Winner Hotel in Sydney Central Business District

Spent 5 nights to start our 3-week Australia vacation and was very pleased with everything, especially location, room comfort, free wifi, fitness center, and great water pressure in the shower. Concierge was helpful on several occasions. Short walk to the harbor, opera house, the Rocks (definitely visit) and great shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For very casual breakfast or lunch, the food court at near 1 Martin Place offers great variety, quality and reasonably low prices, especially compared with hotel restaurants.

Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Tripper
LA
Jan 17, 2012

Great location

Clean modern room in a great location. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kb0ban
Slinger, WI, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Great Staff

We were actually in the hotel for very short periods of time. It was very well located, clean, and comfortable. The only negative would be the bathroom layout, I found the sink and faucet controls to be very nice to look at but somewhat hard to use. The staff was absolutely top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooksville, FL
Dec 11, 2010

Last Night in Australia

We picked this hotel to spend our last night in Australia after arriving from Ayers Rock. We read the reviews about the Sydney airport hotels and none sounded too apealing. A hotel within walking distance to the shops and restaurants of The Rocks and Circular Quay was just what we wanted for a memorable conclusion to our 3 week adventure. The Radisson is in ideal location. We had an atrium room that was very nicely appointed. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We did not realize that we could have checked in on-line ahead of time for our international flight (to the US). This would have saved at least one hour waiting in the queue at the airport. Also, the taxi ride to the international terminal on a Sunday morning was 1 hour, not the usual half hour travel time, so allow additional time.

Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooksville, FL
Dec 11, 2010

Last Night in Australia

We picked this hotel to spend our last night in Australia after arriving from Ayers Rock. We read the reviews about the Sydney airport hotels and none sounded too apealing. A hotel within walking distance to the shops and restaurants of The Rocks and Circular Quay was just what we wanted for a memorable conclusion to our 3 week adventure. The Radisson is in ideal location. We had an atrium room that was very nicely appointed. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We did not realize that we could have checked in on-line ahead of time for our international flight (to the US). This would have saved at least one hour waiting in the queue at the airport. Also, the taxi ride to the international terminal on a Sunday morning was 1 hour, not the usual half hour travel time, so allow additional time.

Back to menu Return to top