$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Metro Hotel Sydney Central

3 stars
431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
201 reviews
Great value!

Great value, clean room, couldn't have been in a more convenient location for us as we went to see... See full review

  • jaynez87
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great Location - Beautiful Interior!

I was so suprised at the quality of this hotel considering the location and cheap price. Will... See full review

  • Crystal0306
  • Dec 6, 2013
Conveniently located in Sydney's southern CBD at the corner of Pitt and Campbell Streets and opposite the Capitol Theatre, the Metro Hotel Sydney Central offers 220 well appointed guest rooms and suites on 10 accommodation floors. Located just minutes away from Sydney attractions Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Star City Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Markets and the city's dining and cinema districts. Metro Hotel Sydney Central is a short walk for business guests to all major corporate and government offices and for those attending one of the many national or international conferences and trade shows at Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel is just a pleasant 10 minute journey. Public transportation is conveniently close to Metro Hotel Sydney Central with Town Hall Station, Central Station and the Coach Terminal all just a short walk. Metro Light Rail services are only a few footsteps from the hotel. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street. All rooms have high speed Internet access and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk located in the lobby area (internet use charges apply). Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. All the hotel rooms and public areas are smoke free. Credit Card Payments; Card transaction fees will apply to guests finalising accounts using a credit card

Hotel Map

-33.8793 151.2069
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport
Area description
Conveniently located in Sydney's southern CBD at the corner of Pitt and Campbell Streets and opposite the Capitol Theatre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Hotel Sydney Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Metro Hotel Sydney Central Rooms

Standard Twin Room
The room caters for a maximum of 3 adults, and a maximum of 1 child but cannot exceed 3 guests in total.Private ensuite bathroom with shower over bath. Room facilities include tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, small refrigerator, air-conditioning and heating, TV and radio, FOXTEL, alarm clock, telephone STD/IDD and WIRELESS internet access, hairdryer.
Superior Twin Room
Located on the higher floors, 2 x single beds- wireless available in every rooms (charges apply). Value for money accommodation within walking distance from Central Station and all major attractions within Sydney CBD.
Deluxe Triple
Great space for sharing travellers, with all major Sydney attractions at your doorstep. 3 x single beds- LCD TV with FOXTEL channels. Wireless available in every room (charges apply).
One Bedroom Junior Suite
With separate bedroom and lounge for additional privacy and comfort. Excellent for the corporate travellers who want a space to work while in the city
Deluxe Twin
2 x single beds. Wireless available in every room. Enjoy your time at our rooftop outdoor pool or spend your day by visiting Sydney attractions.
Deluxe Double
1 x double bed- wireless in every room (charges apply). Elegant style accommodation within walking distance from Central Station and all major attractions within Sydney CBD.
Standard Double Room
The room caters for a maximum of 3 adults, and a maximum of 1 child but cannot exceed 3 guests in total.Private ensuite bathroom with shower over bath. Room facilities include tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, small refrigerator, air-conditioning and heating, TV and radio, FOXTEL, alarm clock, telephone STD/IDD and WIRELESS internet access, hairdryer.
Superior Double Room
Located on the higher floors, comfortable with 1 x double bed- wireless available in every room (charges apply). Close to Central Station, Darling Harbour and Chinatown

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.8 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Government House: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.2 mi

Dining

Hotel Restaurant
Indulge in the tasty cuisine and warm ambience of the Hotel Restaurant.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Metro Hotel Sydney Central has 3 options for conferences: Metro Hotel Sydney Central Function Room, Restaurant and Metro Hotel Sydney Central Boardroom. All conference spaces may be booked any day of the week (subject to availability). Whether you're planning a small business meeting for 2 or a theatre style conference for 140, we can tailor make your event with professionalism. Our 'all in one' policy including conference equipment, room hire and catering makes it quick and easy to book a hassle free event. Please call us to discuss any event you may have in mind. Our conference packages are listed below however we are more than happy to design a proposal to cater specifically to your needs and requirements.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Sep 28, 2011

Worth the money

I was looking for a low cost hotel in Sydney, and came to the conclusion that such doesn't really exist. Unless you want to do one of the backpacker hotels of course. Correct me if I'm wrong though =) The Metro Hotel Sydney Central is nicely located, only about a 10 mins walk from central station where the airport shuttle stops. The hotel is located in Chinatown (or at least it seems so), and darling harbour, and the shopping areas are close by. The town hall train stop is about 10 mins away from where you can reach all Sydney by train. I haven't tried the bus system, maybe there is something even closer. The room had standard equipment. Everything was clean and I had no interference with the service staff. When I arrived they tried to charge me extra for the wireless, but since I booked this hotel specifically with internet access, they did not charge me, and gave me internet. Very nice of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Victoria Galleries are close by (north of St. George and Park Street), and there are lots of shops there. If you're in the gallery make sure to see the old clock in the top. It doesn't work, but it beautifully manufactured. Oh, and check out Manly or Bondi Beach.

Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 4, 2011

Its all good except for the placement

Its all good except for the placement of the toilet,it might be just me, but i don,t like sitting on an angle while i,m doing the crossword either put a bigger rounder loo in or reset original to an angle to suit a big man. Everything else is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert
Not Provided
Jun 16, 2011

This is a good hotel in a very

This is a good hotel in a very convenient location close to train station and areas of interest downtown. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room was clean and towels etc sufficent. There is adequate security as that can be an issue in the Sydney CBD. I booked online and there were week day cheaper prices offered but you need to book in well in advance., (Tuesday, Thursday seem better than Wednesday.) I can definitely recommend this hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DIANNE
Not Provided
Jun 8, 2011

Everything was fine, we had a

Everything was fine, we had a great stay. One problem, our stay had been pre paid for our group of 8, and 2 night's accommodation was debited to my Credit card in error. This was duly refunded, but it did take me a few phone calls and faxes for this to be sorted out, even though the desk clerk took copies of my paperwork when we checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Man
Not Provided
May 30, 2011

Great location but was quite n

Great location but was quite noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert
Not Provided
May 27, 2011

good service, nice rooms in a

good service, nice rooms in a convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brett
Not Provided
May 25, 2011

Good location, reasonable value

Good location, reasonable value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 23, 2011

We stayed at the Metro Hotel Sydney

We stayed at the Metro Hotel Sydney Central to go to the Capitol Theatre - straight across the road. Great location, easy to find from Central Railway station. Friendly, courteous staff. Clean, neat rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. Clean bathrooms with all the toiletries one needed 'on tap'. Breakfast in the restaurant was great value with lots of variety. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 16, 2011

Motel well located . Service was

Motel well located . Service was good. Room appeared to have been recently done up except for the bathroom which is still a little tired. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kerry
Not Provided
May 16, 2011

The location is conveniently close

The location is conveniently close to Central Railway Station and if you're up for a walk, it's possible to hike up Pitt St to the mall for shopping and continue on down to the harbour and Circular Quay, the bridge and the Opera House. The staff at hotel reception were very efficient and courteous. The room was small but bright, neat and clean. The bathroom had the odd cracked tile and it just looked a bit 'daggy'. Othewise everything worked OK, although there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. We had booked a Superior Room, but it was hard to see what difference there might have been between the Surperior and Standard options. The tea and coffee-making facilities were much appreciated, and there is a small fridge and a nice flat screen television. The in-house restaurant is only open for breakfasts ($15.00 for the buffet selection) but there are lots of great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 7, 2011

It was fine for what I needed.

It was fine for what I needed. but there was a slight smell of smoke in the foyer outside the lifts. Happy to stay there again -especially when I need to catch an early train again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search