$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Metro Hotel On Pitt

4 stars
300 Pitt Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
205 reviews
Best for price

January 24 2014. Right in the center of everything, pubs,restaurants, train and buses a minute... See full review

  • froggy
  • Jan 23, 2014
Consistently meets or exceeds all expectations

I have stayed at the Metro on Pitt on many occasions over the last few years, and have found the... See full review

  • Fiitzy
  • Nov 23, 2013
Superbly located, Metro hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveler seeking affordability and convenience in the heart of Sydney. Offering 115 well appointed rooms each featuring a spacious bathroom with roomy walk-in shower, Metro Hotel on Pitt has the perfect room for every occasion. Our Budget Rooms are an affordable option for travelers looking to save on their accommodation without missing out on all the basic in-room facilities and perfect city location. Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe and King Spa rooms are spacious and are our top of the range options. These are perfect for longer stays or just for that special weekend away. And if you are travelling with a third person or a child our Executive Deluxe Rooms have a convenient separate lounge area with a sofa bed (charges apply) for extra comfort and privacy. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Centrepoint Tower, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street, Hyde Park and much more. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts at Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, or the Sydney Entertainment Centre, the hotel is just a pleasant 10 minute stroll from these venues. Major corporate and government offices are also within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal are both just a short walk away; the city Monorail service is only a few footsteps from the hotel. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay, the Rocks and beyond.

Hotel Map

-33.8749 151.2082
Area served
In the centre of Sydney
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Centrepoint Tower, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts at Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, or the Sydney Entertainment Centre, the hotel is just a pleasant 10 minute stroll from these venues. Major corporate and government offices are also within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal are both just a short walk away; the city Monorail service is only a few footsteps from the hotel. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay, the Rocks and beyond.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Hotel On Pitt also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Metro Hotel On Pitt Rooms

King Spa
Our top of the range room with large windows looking out onto Pitt Street and a King size bed. With all the great amenities and a large en-suite bathroom with Spa Bath and separate shower. 1 King bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room features tea/coffee making facilities, high-speed internet access, FOXTEL and free to air channels. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 2 Single beds only. Max 2 guests.
Superior Queen Room
Comfortable well appointed Superior Room features TV with FOXTEL and free to air channels, high-speed internet access. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 1 Queen Bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Superior Deluxe Queen
Boutique-style rcomfort in the heart of the city! Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe rooms feature flat screen TV with FOXTEL, internet access and large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. 1 Queen bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Superior Deluxe Twin
Boutique-style comfort in the heart of the city! Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe rooms feature flat screen TV with FOXTEL, internet access and large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. 2 Single beds. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Standard Queen Room
Standard Queen Room features tea/coffee making facilities, high-speed internet access, FOXTEL and free to air channels. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 1 Queen bed only. Max 2 guests.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Customs House: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Government House: 1.1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.7 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi

Dining

Paradiso Restaurant
Indulge in the tasty cuisine and warm ambience of the Paradiso Restaurant. It has a relaxed atmosphere where refreshments are available throughout the day. In the evening guests can enjoy their favourite cocktail and dinner. Open 7 days.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Hotel On Pitt

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 27, 2010

Bit overpriced for it is. Not

Bit overpriced for it is. Not bad, but overpriced I thought

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malcolm
Not Provided
Sep 1, 2010

Television was very hard to turn

Television was very hard to turn on and off. Also very hard to change channels. Fan in Bathroom never turned off even with the light out. Very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graham
Not Provided
Feb 4, 2010

Extreamly small room,very quit

Extreamly small room,very quite,clean,and servicable for an overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 7, 2011

A basic hotel, but clean and perfectly

A basic hotel, but clean and perfectly fine for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lion tourer
England
Jul 9, 2013

Perfectly located

Easy to walk to most city attractions from the hotel or pick up the free tourist bus. Reception staff friendly, patient and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisbethSab
Perth WA Australia
Sep 21, 2013

super location!

Had great three days! Everything of interest and good restaurants within walking distance. Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JakeL
Liverpool
Nov 20, 2013

Decent hotel, good location

Great location right in the city centre. Town hall station is just around the corner so it was easy getting to and from the airport. The room was clean and modern but very compact in size. Nice modern bathroom with large shower. My room was at the back so there was no traffic noise. I didn't eat in the restaurant but the prices appeared reasonable. Free wifi was great, as most Sydney hotels charge for wifi. The hotel staff were pleasant and efficient. Overall a good choice for people wanting a reasonably priced hotel in a central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldy but a Goodie
Perth Western Australia
Dec 11, 2013

Friendly -clean and close to all attractions

Only a one night stop over befoe a cruise, very convenient, we were very comfortable. Wil luse again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee and Nikie
Surprise, AZ USA
Feb 6, 2011

Stay at the Pitt

Stayed here only the one night after returning from 2 weeek cruise. We were very ealy for check-in but were able to get us right into our room and let us stay until noon before checking out the next day. Also very close to Darling Harbor, China Town, etc. Room was on the small side but the air worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny loves Sydney
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 13, 2010

Amazing location, perfect for solo trip!

I was there for 6 nights, traveling solo. I didn't spend much time in my room, I basically just slept and got ready there! The room is a little small (but still do-able) for two people, but perfect for one. Everyone who worked there was super friendly and very helpful. The air conditioning was great, the water pressure was good, and my unit came with a mini-refrigerator! The location was great, it's only a couple blocks away from major shopping areas and restaurants. The only thing that wasn't so great was that I could hear my neighbors talking next door (we shared a connecting door that was locked), but after putting on the A/C it diffused the sound, so it wasn't that bad. I'm a heavy sleeper, so it worked out okay. I'm not sure if the connecting door was specific to my unit though, it may not be an issue for other rooms in the hotel. They also let me check in really early (8am) and had my room ready to go. And I had a late night flight, so they held my luggage in their storage for the day after I checked out. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is within a very short walking distance to the QVB, Pitt Street Mall, The Galeries Victoria, World Square Mall, Myer, David Jones, and the Town Hall rail station. And within all those shopping areas is a myriad of restaurants, cafes, coffee shops, dessert shops, pubs, food courts, and bars. Keep in mind that shopping in Sydney is more expensive than shopping in the United States!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search