$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Metro Hotel On Pitt

4 stars
300 Pitt Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
18 reviews
Better Than I Thought

Upon arrival, which was several hours before check-in due to early morning cruise debarkation, I... See full review

  • automobile
  • Mar 22, 2014
Good place to go around the city

It's easy to get the hotel on foot from the train station and bus stop. There are lots of eating... See full review

  • Chieko
  • Feb 27, 2014
Superbly located, Metro hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveler seeking affordability and convenience in the heart of Sydney. Offering 115 well appointed rooms each featuring a spacious bathroom with roomy walk-in shower, Metro Hotel on Pitt has the perfect room for every occasion. Our Budget Rooms are an affordable option for travelers looking to save on their accommodation without missing out on all the basic in-room facilities and perfect city location. Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe and King Spa rooms are spacious and are our top of the range options. These are perfect for longer stays or just for that special weekend away. And if you are travelling with a third person or a child our Executive Deluxe Rooms have a convenient separate lounge area with a sofa bed (charges apply) for extra comfort and privacy. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Centrepoint Tower, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street, Hyde Park and much more. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts at Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, or the Sydney Entertainment Centre, the hotel is just a pleasant 10 minute stroll from these venues. Major corporate and government offices are also within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal are both just a short walk away; the city Monorail service is only a few footsteps from the hotel. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay, the Rocks and beyond.

Hotel Map

-33.8749 151.2082
Area served
In the centre of Sydney
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Centrepoint Tower, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts at Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, or the Sydney Entertainment Centre, the hotel is just a pleasant 10 minute stroll from these venues. Major corporate and government offices are also within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal are both just a short walk away; the city Monorail service is only a few footsteps from the hotel. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay, the Rocks and beyond.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Hotel On Pitt also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Metro Hotel On Pitt Rooms

King Spa
Our top of the range room with large windows looking out onto Pitt Street and a King size bed. With all the great amenities and a large en-suite bathroom with Spa Bath and separate shower. 1 King bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room features tea/coffee making facilities, high-speed internet access, FOXTEL and free to air channels. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 2 Single beds only. Max 2 guests.
Superior Queen Room
Comfortable well appointed Superior Room features TV with FOXTEL and free to air channels, high-speed internet access. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 1 Queen Bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Superior Deluxe Queen
Boutique-style rcomfort in the heart of the city! Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe rooms feature flat screen TV with FOXTEL, internet access and large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. 1 Queen bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Superior Deluxe Twin
Boutique-style comfort in the heart of the city! Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe rooms feature flat screen TV with FOXTEL, internet access and large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. 2 Single beds. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Standard Queen Room
Standard Queen Room features tea/coffee making facilities, high-speed internet access, FOXTEL and free to air channels. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 1 Queen bed only. Max 2 guests.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Customs House: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Government House: 1.1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.7 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi

Dining

Paradiso Restaurant
Indulge in the tasty cuisine and warm ambience of the Paradiso Restaurant. It has a relaxed atmosphere where refreshments are available throughout the day. In the evening guests can enjoy their favourite cocktail and dinner. Open 7 days.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Hotel On Pitt

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joyce Pai
Business
Summit, NJ
Mar 9, 2014

We were forced to accept lower grade room

We paid and reserved a delux room with a queen bed plus a twin bed. We arrived before 10 am and was told that they only have one delux room each floor and it is next to the lift. if we want a quiet room, we have to take a room in the next grade which is only one queen size bed without any refund of price difference. We had to stay in a very small room for 3 days. Other customers behind us got rooms to check in right away, but he would not give us a room before 2pm. We had to take a taxi back at 2pm to check in the room. We believe that the manager is practicing discrimination against us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mawon
Business
chicago
May 31, 2014

no

I was not happy with this hotel. I felt like I was in a closet. rooms are too small. bathroom is ok, shower was great. but would not go bk to this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sindrin
Business
Hampshire, UK
May 26, 2014

Try harder

Very pushy reception staff to book day trips when all I was doing was looking at the leaflets in the lobby to get an idea of what I could do on top of what i'd already got planned. Room wasn't particually clean, very noisy (rattley) aircon, no opening windows, shower that leaked all over the bathroom floor. Location was lovely 20min walk to main attractions, would look for other hotel on same street in future. Would not recommand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bp, ks
Mar 14, 2011

metro hotel on pitt

When I emailed the hotel for info it was outstanding in getting info back. When we got there it was a very different matter. I was not able to get a good answer on getting a shuttle to the airport. When we got to the room we were so exhausted from the airport problems that all we wanted to rest. The room was very small. The bedding was not changed unless they were asked to do so. It was difficult to communicate at times with the staff. When I had a copy made of some travel info I had to ask to get part 2 of it. They did accept the lost luggage the following day and put it in the room, but I understand that is common practice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It was easy to walk to many of the attractions in Sydney from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thomas
Business
Como Italy
Jan 29, 2014

Ok for a couple of nights.

the reception was polite, but they appeared to get defensive if more than one person turned up. The 1st room I was given was so small with no storage space in which to unpack any clothing, but was moved to another room upon requesting room to unpack the Wi fi was all but non obtainable, I complained I was informed that they would have it checked out, the next day I again complained to another receptionist who informed me that two many people were using it . When checking out the original person, I again complained, he said I shouldn't have been told that The position of the hotel was well suited to walk around Sydney

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mociute
Business
Erie, CO, USA
Apr 4, 2014

Sydney trip

Our room was very small, but did have everything we needed. Location is very good for using public transportation, and felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter a Traveller
Business
San Francisco, USA
Apr 1, 2014

vacationing

The hotel is located at city center and easy to get to the most places around the city by walk, bus, train, and ferry. The condition of room is unremarkable. I will rate it as three and half stars. The door of room can not be bolted from inside. I asked to fix three times for the first three days but never got fixed. One morning 6AM, someone was knocking the door, we were uneasy in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Western Sydney
Jan 3, 2011

Night in the City

Was comfortable but simple, the room smelled like cigarettes though which wasnt pleasant. Great location for getting around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many Museums with exhibitions on near by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AugiNancy
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Nov 10, 2013

Post cruise trip in Sydney

The hotel is very centrally located within walking distances to the Circular quay and the Darling Harbor. The hotel is not fancy but clean and comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is small to US standard but consistent with European hotel room. For the price it is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling harbor has many nice restaurants to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCJ
Business
Knoxville, TN
Feb 6, 2011

Good value and excellent location

The Metro has a great location just one block from the Town Hall, the Queen Victoria Building and the shopping complexes linked to it, and only minutes from the circular key and the Opera House. The rooms are small and awkward in design but are quiet and comfortable and the price is a bargain (the Hilton just across the street is three times higher per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do try the Queen Victoria Building (the natives call it QVB) which is both a spectacular shopping experience in its own right and the start of a huge underground shopping experience, lots of restaurants and stores of all kinds, and direct access to the trains which take you anywhere in and around Sydney. Try a day trip to Gosford and see the beautiful Hawksberry River

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top