$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Metro Hotel On Pitt

4 stars
300 Pitt Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
19 reviews
Great Friday night stay

Check in staff responsive and helpful. I was not happy with the room he gave us when we first got... See full review

  • Attw
  • Dec 1, 2014
Better Than I Thought

Upon arrival, which was several hours before check-in due to early morning cruise debarkation, I... See full review

  • automobile
  • Mar 22, 2014
Superbly located, Metro hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveler seeking affordability and convenience in the heart of Sydney. Offering 115 well appointed rooms each featuring a spacious bathroom with roomy walk-in shower, Metro Hotel on Pitt has the perfect room for every occasion. Our Budget Rooms are an affordable option for travelers looking to save on their accommodation without missing out on all the basic in-room facilities and perfect city location. Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe and King Spa rooms are spacious and are our top of the range options. These are perfect for longer stays or just for that special weekend away. And if you are travelling with a third person or a child our Executive Deluxe Rooms have a convenient separate lounge area with a sofa bed (charges apply) for extra comfort and privacy. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Centrepoint Tower, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street, Hyde Park and much more. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts at Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, or the Sydney Entertainment Centre, the hotel is just a pleasant 10 minute stroll from these venues. Major corporate and government offices are also within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal are both just a short walk away; the city Monorail service is only a few footsteps from the hotel. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay, the Rocks and beyond.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Hotel On Pitt also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Metro Hotel On Pitt Rooms

King Spa
Our top of the range room with large windows looking out onto Pitt Street and a King size bed. With all the great amenities and a large en-suite bathroom with Spa Bath and separate shower. 1 King bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room features tea/coffee making facilities, high-speed internet access, FOXTEL and free to air channels. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 2 Single beds only. Max 2 guests.
Superior Queen Room
Comfortable well appointed Superior Room features TV with FOXTEL and free to air channels, high-speed internet access. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 1 Queen Bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Superior Deluxe Queen
Boutique-style rcomfort in the heart of the city! Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe rooms feature flat screen TV with FOXTEL, internet access and large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. 1 Queen bed. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Superior Deluxe Twin
Boutique-style comfort in the heart of the city! Our beautifully appointed Superior Deluxe rooms feature flat screen TV with FOXTEL, internet access and large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. 2 Single beds. 3rd person in an extra bed at $50 per night. Max 3 guests.
Standard Queen Room
Standard Queen Room features tea/coffee making facilities, high-speed internet access, FOXTEL and free to air channels. Good sized en-suite bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. 1 Queen bed only. Max 2 guests.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Customs House: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Government House: 1.1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.7 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi

Dining

Paradiso Restaurant
Indulge in the tasty cuisine and warm ambience of the Paradiso Restaurant. It has a relaxed atmosphere where refreshments are available throughout the day. In the evening guests can enjoy their favourite cocktail and dinner. Open 7 days.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Hotel On Pitt

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chieko
Tokyo Japan
Feb 27, 2014

Good place to go around the city

It's easy to get the hotel on foot from the train station and bus stop. There are lots of eating spots and must see places within walking distance though, it's quiet in the evening. If you are a first time visiter in Sydney, you must join free guide walking tour from the Town Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You could walk to the China town to have very nice lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Attw
Business
Sydney
Dec 1, 2014

Great Friday night stay

Check in staff responsive and helpful. I was not happy with the room he gave us when we first got into the room. We went back to him and he quickly assigned us to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mawon
Business
chicago
May 31, 2014

no

I was not happy with this hotel. I felt like I was in a closet. rooms are too small. bathroom is ok, shower was great. but would not go bk to this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sindrin
Business
Hampshire, UK
May 26, 2014

Try harder

Very pushy reception staff to book day trips when all I was doing was looking at the leaflets in the lobby to get an idea of what I could do on top of what i'd already got planned. Room wasn't particually clean, very noisy (rattley) aircon, no opening windows, shower that leaked all over the bathroom floor. Location was lovely 20min walk to main attractions, would look for other hotel on same street in future. Would not recommand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mociute
Business
Erie, CO, USA
Apr 4, 2014

Sydney trip

Our room was very small, but did have everything we needed. Location is very good for using public transportation, and felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter a Traveller
Business
San Francisco, USA
Apr 1, 2014

vacationing

The hotel is located at city center and easy to get to the most places around the city by walk, bus, train, and ferry. The condition of room is unremarkable. I will rate it as three and half stars. The door of room can not be bolted from inside. I asked to fix three times for the first three days but never got fixed. One morning 6AM, someone was knocking the door, we were uneasy in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
automobile
Business
Daimond Bar, CA
Mar 22, 2014

Better Than I Thought

Upon arrival, which was several hours before check-in due to early morning cruise debarkation, I went directly to to hotel because I had luggage that needed to be held. I didn't think my room would be ready for me until check-in time of 3:00 p.m. However, within an hour of my arrival they were able to accommodate me - nice! My expectations are always reasonable but this exceeded them. The room was small but clean, as were the linens on the bed and towels in the bathroom. I don't spend much time in my room while on vacation because I am a tourist so my accommodations were great. The hotel is situated in a wonderful location the access of public transportation was great and everything I needed was within walking distance. Though not a 5-star hotel my accommodations were perfect and suited my needs. Thanks to the great staff, who were so accommodating and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of shopping all around - stores galore!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joyce Pai
Business
Summit, NJ
Mar 9, 2014

We were forced to accept lower grade room

We paid and reserved a delux room with a queen bed plus a twin bed. We arrived before 10 am and was told that they only have one delux room each floor and it is next to the lift. if we want a quiet room, we have to take a room in the next grade which is only one queen size bed without any refund of price difference. We had to stay in a very small room for 3 days. Other customers behind us got rooms to check in right away, but he would not give us a room before 2pm. We had to take a taxi back at 2pm to check in the room. We believe that the manager is practicing discrimination against us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chieko
Business
Tokyo Japan
Feb 27, 2014

Good place to go around the city

It's easy to get the hotel on foot from the train station and bus stop. There are lots of eating spots and must see places within walking distance though, it's quiet in the evening. If you are a first time visiter in Sydney, you must join free guide walking tour from the Town Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You could walk to the China town to have very nice lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thomas
Business
Como Italy
Jan 29, 2014

Ok for a couple of nights.

the reception was polite, but they appeared to get defensive if more than one person turned up. The 1st room I was given was so small with no storage space in which to unpack any clothing, but was moved to another room upon requesting room to unpack the Wi fi was all but non obtainable, I complained I was informed that they would have it checked out, the next day I again complained to another receptionist who informed me that two many people were using it . When checking out the original person, I again complained, he said I shouldn't have been told that The position of the hotel was well suited to walk around Sydney

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel On Pitt

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldy but a Goodie
Business
Perth Western Australia
Dec 11, 2013

Friendly -clean and close to all attractions

Only a one night stop over befoe a cruise, very convenient, we were very comfortable. Wil luse again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top