$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Mercure Sydney

4 stars
View map of 818-820 George Street, PO Box 7082, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Nurse
Business
Central Coast, CA
Nov 21, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

The only thing we didn't like about this hotel was the location. It was a pretty far walk to the harbours. But there were plenty of coffee shops and restaurants nearby. Bus stations and train stations were right outside the hotel. The service was fabulous and the concierges were very helpful with airport shuttles, tours, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Bulli, spanish tapas restaurant. Was recommended by the concierge. FABULOUS meal!!!! And very tasty sangria :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canberra
Jul 14, 2010

great location

Great location: very easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Foster City, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Geo's Review of the Mercure Sydney

Staff is great, helpful in every way. Noise from hall and adjacent room was occasionally bothersome. Bathroom functional, but a bit dated. Location was great - near both rail and bus lines reaching all over the city. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Yank
Business
Mountain View, CA
May 17, 2010

Meh

This hotel was great, for me. There were some problems that might bother others, though. Notably, the bathroom towels did not seem to be collected daily, and services that are usually complementary were charged to my room: breakfast and internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Harbor Bridge Climb

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon,Wisconsin
Dec 3, 2009

The visit Down Under, reasonably priced

The staff were more than helpful. They were exceptionally pleasant. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was walkable to all attractions and very convenient to buses and trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cargo bar/restaurant on Darling Harbor. Walk took about 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Munich, Germany
Jan 24, 2010

Mercure Sydney

Informed staff that AC was very loud, no action was thaken on that day, instead we moved to another room, next day move back to the room were the AC was to loud, nothing was changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Ananymous
Business
Louisiana
Oct 27, 2013

Average

Couldn't control the temperature of the room which resulted in an uncomfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
will go back to Sydney
Business
Virgina
Dec 20, 2010

Noisy

The rooms were small but clean with comfortable beds; however it was really loud you could everything going on in the rooms beside, above, and below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newcastle nsw
Mar 14, 2010

great service by staff

staff service excellent. restuarant excellent. rooms where disappointing out dated bathroom one bedside table.rooms need revamping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Korea
Oct 24, 2009

Ask and then you will get

stayed a week before asking for someone to change bedsheets if possible... everymorning getting knocks on door from cleaners telling me they have to clean as they are going home soon... never got morning papers until I asked... then was told the papers are wet and I can have it if I want a wet paper or "BAD LUCK"... WHAT???... check out staff asked us to pay total bill, did not believe us and sent us to business centre to print confirmation from you guys.. ok.. we did that and went down and lined up again to give this in and they simply said "thats all"... ??? ... what??? ... no "thank you"... no nothing... we walked off... we could not believe the rudeness we got... never again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top