$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Mercure Sydney

4 stars
View map of 818-820 George Street, PO Box 7082, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aronf
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 24, 2012

Nice place!

Located right at the Central Station stop, it was convenient to access the entire city (not to mention the airport). The room was very nice and they have a pillow menu that made our sleep more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of really good coffee places right down the street (Gloria Jean's is one and the other is right next to it) for breakfast... much cheaper than the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jessup, PA
Apr 20, 2010

Perfect

Sydney was the perfect trip, couldn't ask for anything better then this. Great hotel, perfect service, awesome location, I loved it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

do as much as you can!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newcastle nsw
Mar 14, 2010

great service by staff

staff service excellent. restuarant excellent. rooms where disappointing out dated bathroom one bedside table.rooms need revamping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Foster City, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Geo's Review of the Mercure Sydney

Staff is great, helpful in every way. Noise from hall and adjacent room was occasionally bothersome. Bathroom functional, but a bit dated. Location was great - near both rail and bus lines reaching all over the city. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Munich, Germany
Jan 24, 2010

Mercure Sydney

Informed staff that AC was very loud, no action was thaken on that day, instead we moved to another room, next day move back to the room were the AC was to loud, nothing was changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
siuju
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jan 18, 2010

great overall

Experience a few glitches during check-in as the hotel doesn't have the record of what type of room I booked. I've booked a deluxe room but they end up give me regular room which I have to go down to reception and change it. Thanks for the "team lead" who dealt with me and she changed it to a huge room which consists of 2 double beds and 360 degrees of view. Excellent value. The worst part is internet access which there is no free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to central station that can get you to anywhere. A bit longer walk to free shuttle. Good distance to chinatown. Beware of one way drive in downtown as this hotel is at the corner of 2 roads.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon,Wisconsin
Dec 3, 2009

The visit Down Under, reasonably priced

The staff were more than helpful. They were exceptionally pleasant. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was walkable to all attractions and very convenient to buses and trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cargo bar/restaurant on Darling Harbor. Walk took about 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Nurse
Business
Central Coast, CA
Nov 21, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

The only thing we didn't like about this hotel was the location. It was a pretty far walk to the harbours. But there were plenty of coffee shops and restaurants nearby. Bus stations and train stations were right outside the hotel. The service was fabulous and the concierges were very helpful with airport shuttles, tours, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Bulli, spanish tapas restaurant. Was recommended by the concierge. FABULOUS meal!!!! And very tasty sangria :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFranciscan traveller
Business
San Francisco CA
Oct 27, 2009

Solid choice

This hotel is clean, centrally located, and quiet enough (we were on a high floor in the back of the building). The concierge was helpful, and the pool has a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Korea
Oct 24, 2009

Ask and then you will get

stayed a week before asking for someone to change bedsheets if possible... everymorning getting knocks on door from cleaners telling me they have to clean as they are going home soon... never got morning papers until I asked... then was told the papers are wet and I can have it if I want a wet paper or "BAD LUCK"... WHAT???... check out staff asked us to pay total bill, did not believe us and sent us to business centre to print confirmation from you guys.. ok.. we did that and went down and lined up again to give this in and they simply said "thats all"... ??? ... what??? ... no "thank you"... no nothing... we walked off... we could not believe the rudeness we got... never again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrittMarie
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 16, 2008

Beautiful pool views

Mercure Sydney was a special hotel not because of the location, which is alright but not stellar, and certainly not because of ease of access (it took 3 times around the block to finally find the entrance to the hotel). The room was average, though it could have been cleaner. The bed was comfortable and it's always nice to have a fridge and real glasses as well as tea/coffee maker in the room. The pool and exercise area are fantastic, if only for the views. The area is on top of the hotel, completely enclosed with big window and, especially the viewing area around the end of the pool, was not too brightly lit allowing for wonderful night (and day) views of the city. Always a nice touch in any hotel :) The fact that the area is open 24 hours is an additional plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a quick note, dining possibilities nearby drop dramatically after 7pm. We were stuck eating fast food as most of the other restaurants were closed. However, for those willing to walk a bit further the possibilities are seemingly endless.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top