$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

Mercure Sydney

4 stars
View map of 818-820 George Street, PO Box 7082, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Yank
Business
Mountain View, CA
May 17, 2010

Meh

This hotel was great, for me. There were some problems that might bother others, though. Notably, the bathroom towels did not seem to be collected daily, and services that are usually complementary were charged to my room: breakfast and internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Harbor Bridge Climb

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jessup, PA
Apr 20, 2010

Perfect

Sydney was the perfect trip, couldn't ask for anything better then this. Great hotel, perfect service, awesome location, I loved it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

do as much as you can!

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newcastle nsw
Mar 14, 2010

great service by staff

staff service excellent. restuarant excellent. rooms where disappointing out dated bathroom one bedside table.rooms need revamping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Foster City, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Geo's Review of the Mercure Sydney

Staff is great, helpful in every way. Noise from hall and adjacent room was occasionally bothersome. Bathroom functional, but a bit dated. Location was great - near both rail and bus lines reaching all over the city. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Munich, Germany
Jan 24, 2010

Mercure Sydney

Informed staff that AC was very loud, no action was thaken on that day, instead we moved to another room, next day move back to the room were the AC was to loud, nothing was changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Munich, Germany
Jan 24, 2010

Mercure Sydney

Informed staff that AC was very loud, no action was thaken on that day, instead we moved to another room, next day move back to the room were the AC was to loud, nothing was changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
siuju
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jan 18, 2010

great overall

Experience a few glitches during check-in as the hotel doesn't have the record of what type of room I booked. I've booked a deluxe room but they end up give me regular room which I have to go down to reception and change it. Thanks for the "team lead" who dealt with me and she changed it to a huge room which consists of 2 double beds and 360 degrees of view. Excellent value. The worst part is internet access which there is no free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to central station that can get you to anywhere. A bit longer walk to free shuttle. Good distance to chinatown. Beware of one way drive in downtown as this hotel is at the corner of 2 roads.

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon,Wisconsin
Dec 3, 2009

The visit Down Under, reasonably priced

The staff were more than helpful. They were exceptionally pleasant. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was walkable to all attractions and very convenient to buses and trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cargo bar/restaurant on Darling Harbor. Walk took about 20 minutes.

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Nurse
Business
Central Coast, CA
Nov 21, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

The only thing we didn't like about this hotel was the location. It was a pretty far walk to the harbours. But there were plenty of coffee shops and restaurants nearby. Bus stations and train stations were right outside the hotel. The service was fabulous and the concierges were very helpful with airport shuttles, tours, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Bulli, spanish tapas restaurant. Was recommended by the concierge. FABULOUS meal!!!! And very tasty sangria :-)

Review of Mercure Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFranciscan traveller
Business
San Francisco CA
Oct 27, 2009

Solid choice

This hotel is clean, centrally located, and quiet enough (we were on a high floor in the back of the building). The concierge was helpful, and the pool has a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top