$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

4 stars
View map of 28 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, NS 2011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
9 reviews
Good Sydney Base

We wanted a reasonably-priced base in a convenient location and with the option of preparing our... See full review

  • Ian A.
  • Mar 26, 2015
great buy

the place was clean and staff was very helpful, also they are on restaurant row so plenty of good... See full review

  • 2two7
  • Oct 3, 2014
2 Km's East of Town Hall. Studios, best described as self catering hotel rooms. 9 floors. Many with great views of Bridge & Opera House or of Elizabeth Bay across the Harbour o Manly. Bus at door. Train close by. Three minutes to town hall. Walk thru Garderns to Circular Quay. Secure parking under building. Coin operated Washing and drying machines. 24 Hour reception. Outdoor pool. ADSL internet Broadband connection to each studio. Free Gym membership whilst a guest Supermarket opposite open till midnight. Surrounded by restaurants & cafes.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney Rooms

Harbour View
Room offers two twin beds or a queen bed with views of The Bridge & Opera House or of Elizabeth Bay across the Harbour, cooking facilities - 2 burner hot plate, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, fridge, pots & pans glassware and individual A/C, iPod dock.
District View Studio
Room offers a double bed or twins beds with District View, Streetscape or surrounding buildings, cooking facilities - 2 burner hot plate, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, fridge, pots & pans, glassware, individual A/C, TV, ADSL broadband connection, iPod dock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1 mi
  • General Post Office: 1 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 1.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.7 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron7
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
Dec 19, 2011

Excellent value and courteous, helpful staff

We were extremely satisfied with the standard of accommodation, the helpful staff and the convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 27, 2011

Sydney is Expensive!

The hotel is in a great neighborhood (Potts Point) right across from a market (Woolworths). Always lots of people out on the street so the location has a very safe feel to it. Once you figure out the bus system, it is fairly easy to get around to where you want to go (CBD, Circular Quay (pronounced "key"), etc. There are lots of eating places nearby, but they seemed pricey to me - although I'm realizing the cost of meals in Australia is a lot more than what I'm used to. As for the room, it was not in the best condition (mold in bathroom, peeling paint, etc.). As we didn't expect a 5-star hotel we didn't let this bother us. The staff was beyond helpful, any question put to them they did their best to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Craig S.
Business
Ipswich
Mar 15, 2015

Just Adequate

Stayed for 2 nights in a studio apartment. The main problem with this hotel/apartment is the tired bathroom, especially the shower curtain [ why are these things still around ] which because the shower was small just attacks you as you shower. The taps and toilet continued to leak throughout the stay also. The only other gripe, aside from needing to fix the tv before being able to use, was the cleanliness of the items to use in the kitchenette, and when i proceeded to clean a glass and plate, found, in the cupboard, only a sponge with mould marks (?) on it. The staff were pleasant enough, however, and the bed was comfortable, and gave a good night sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron7
Business
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
Dec 19, 2011

Excellent value and courteous, helpful staff

We were extremely satisfied with the standard of accommodation, the helpful staff and the convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Aug 19, 2009

good location, great views

This hotel is located near many inexpensive resterants and can be reached easity from the Kings Cross train stop. You can walk to downtown in about 1/2 hour through the arborium. We didn't pay for a view room. HJowever we were assigned a room on the 8th floor which had a view of downtown Sydney, the operahouse, and the bridge. Our only bad experience was trying to use the shuttle bus to go to the airport. They didn't show up so we had to take a cab. The hotel did refund our fees for the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit the zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 29, 2011

Nice hotel

Nice place to stay for a family. Good pantry facility. Was upgraded to a room with an ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Mar 1, 2010

Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

We enjoyed our stay at the Macleay very much. We were close to great restaurants as well as the train station that enabled us to get around Sydney.There is a nice grocery store across the street where we purchased food for the room. Since the room had a refrigerator, microwave, pots and pans and other dishes we were able to save money making our own food and spend more dollars on the sites and activities.I will add that eating out is quite expensive in Australia so anytime you can cook your own meal will be helpful to your pocketbook. Last but not least the staff at the Macleay were fantastic. Kudos to [...] at the front desk and to [...] who did a fabulous job cleaning our room each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2two7
Business
Mammoth Lakes, California
Oct 3, 2014

great buy

the place was clean and staff was very helpful, also they are on restaurant row so plenty of good food is close plus a 24hr grocery right accross the road.....although they advertise having an airport shuttle they DO NOT have one, you have to pay for a private shuttle service that only picks up once an hr....all and all was a great price and value, rooms have everything you need nothing more nothing less and i would definitely stay here again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a taxi as its only 10$ more than the shuttle but with no waiting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ian A.
Business
Taunton
Mar 26, 2015

Good Sydney Base

We wanted a reasonably-priced base in a convenient location and with the option of preparing our own meals, and this hotel met our needs perfectly. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the surrounding area pleasant despite being only a few minutes from Kings Cross. Access to the City Centre and key sites such as the Opera House and Circular Key was easy, due to good access to public transport or a walk of around 20 minutes. Would definitely use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kuke
Business
Livonia NY
Oct 6, 2012

love the view!

waking up to see the harbour everyday was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top