$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Leisure Inn Sydney Central

3 stars
28 Regent Street, Sydney, NS 2008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
16 reviews
Good location, clean room

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to Central Station, close to Chinatown, and the free shuttle... See full review

  • Nevi
  • Mar 11, 2014
Not bad

Very good location. Very clean, but unable to adjust aircon volumn. See full review

  • L2p10
  • Mar 13, 2014
Affordable, minimalist hotel close to Sydney’s Central Station

Leisure Inn Sydney Central promises a tidy place to lay your head without clearing the cash from your wallet. Minimalist in style and amenities, the only flashy sight at this hotel is the glowing reception desk. Basic, Asian-inspired rooms with earth-toned carpets and beds afford comfort for budget hunters. The hotel is situated near George Street with easy access to Central Station.

Highlights
  • 5 minutes to Central Station
  • Affordability in a great location
  • Rainforest showerheads
Rooms
The hotel's 46 snug, no-frills rooms evoke contemporary Japanese style. The wardrobe and headboard made from organic materials give rooms a touch of style. Sand-colored carpet and stone-hued throws generate an earthy feel. Life-size photography by local photographer Richard Stanley offers guests a sneak peek at the Sydney Opera House. Other room perks include rain showerheads, Wi-Fi (fees apply), LCD TV with Foxtel channels, mini-fridge, air conditioning and new double-glazed, sound-blocking windows. Not all rooms have a window.
Features
The hotel is positioned close to Central Station making arrivals and departures easy. The friendly staff is happy to offer sightseeing recommendations. Rooms feature rain showerheads and offer necessary comforts during your stay in Sydney. The hotel offers Wi-Fi (fees apply), work table and telephone with voice mail in rooms.
Transportation
  • Monorail Stop (Haymarket)
  • Central Station (5 minute walk)
  • Sydney International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Victoria Building (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The Rocks (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Circular Quay (1.9 mi/3.2 km)
  • Oxford Street (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.2 mi/8.5 km)
  • Manly Beach (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
Policies and fees

Parking is $36 per day at Mercure Central Hotel, located next to the property. Cost is subject to change without prior notice.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8848 151.2028
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is opposite the major transport interchange of Sydney's Central Station, and is also handily convenient to the University of Technology, the Head Quarters of ABC Studios, the Sydney College of TAFE and China Town.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Leisure Inn Sydney Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Leisure Inn Sydney Central Rooms

Superior King
Newly Refurbished Superior king bed room with double glazed windows, rainforest shower head, tea and coffee making facilities, mini refrigerator, writing desk and LCD TV with FOXTEL. Rates are for 2 people.
Twin Room
Room with one Twin bed including air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay TV, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and voice mail. Our non-smoking guestrooms feature; rainforest shower heads, tea & coffee making facilities, air conditioning, writing desk, WIFI access, FOXTEL multi channel cable entertainment on personalized LCD TV's and life-size photography by renowned local photographer Richard Stanley
Double Room
Room with one queen bed including air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay TV, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and voice mail. Our non-smoking guestrooms feature; rainforest shower heads, tea & coffee making facilities, air conditioning, writing desk, WIFI access, FOXTEL multi channel cable entertainment on personalized LCD TV's and life-size photography by renowned local photographer Richard Stanley.
Superior Triple Room
Spacious centralized air-conditioned room with 1 single over double bunk bed, most with district outlooks, double glazed windows, rainforest shower head, tea and coffee making facilities, mini refrigerator, writing desk and LCD TV with Foxtel
Superior Quad Room
Spacious centralized air-conditioned room with 1 Queen bed and a set of single over single bunk beds, most with district outlooks, double glazed windows, rainforest shower head, tea and coffee making facilities, mini refrigerator, writing desk and LCD TV with Foxtel
Family Room
Designed for families that need space, this extra large air-conditioned room most with district outlooks features 2 queen beds and 1 single bed, oversized bathroom with rainforest shower head, tea & coffee making facilities, mini refrigerator, writing desk and LCD TV with Foxtel

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.1 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 1.2 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 1.3 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.6 mi
  • Customs House: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.8 mi
  • Government House: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 2 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nevi
Melbourne, Australia
Mar 11, 2014

Good location, clean room

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to Central Station, close to Chinatown, and the free shuttle bus stop is 5 minutes down the road. Very convenient to get everywhere in the city, we mostly walked - Darling Harbor is 15-20 minutes away, Circular Quay less than half an hour. Our room was clean an spacious (spacious for the price), the beds were very comfortable we got a good night's sleep. There is no individual control over the air con, but we liked the temperature they had set - fresh, not cold, not hot and stuffy, just right. Our floor was very quiet - I've been in cheap hotels where you can hear everyone going in the corridors, people in other rooms as well - not in this one. Nice, quiet and clean - what more can you ask from a cheap hotel. Saying that, everything "extra" is charged - need a brelly, that will be $5 a day, wi-fi is $5 an hour, $15 for 1 day. My 1 hour of wi-fi was only 40 minutes, so watch out for that - their system is bugged and sometimes starts counting down from 40-50 minutes rather than the 60 it is supposed to. Overall, a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
san diego adventurer
san diego ca
Sep 27, 2009

sydney austraillia leisure inn

I enjoyed the convenient location, close to central station and all the ameninties of the room were very nice , clean and very quiet . I was only visitng Sydney for 2 days so needed the rest at night which i got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Central station just 2 blocks away, and purchased the train/bus/ferry pass for a day, all day use on all venues for a very reasonable price. Saw the entire city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L2p10
Perth
Mar 13, 2014

Not bad

Very good location. Very clean, but unable to adjust aircon volumn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, NY
Jul 30, 2011

Great place to stay.

They had my room ready and let me check-in even though I arrived a few hours before check-in began. The staff was very helpful with locations for things to do in the city, and they were great with getting me a ride back to the airport when I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann Edison
Chicago
Oct 30, 2013

Close to Central Station

Close to Central Station for transportation to almost everywhere as Sydney has trains, buses, & ferries to all the top sites. Laundry on 1st floor, Internet is $15/day and good speed, good breakfast across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

buy the train/bus/ferry pass level 3 for city and outside trips to Manly and Blue Mountain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Monica, Ca.
Dec 5, 2009

good location, great price

The price was excellent. It was only a block away from the Central Station for trains, bus, subway. Great shopping nearby. Close enough for a long walk to the harbors, have your walking shoes on! Buses run regularly, buy bus passes prior to getting on. Or ride the 555 from Central Station free to the harbor. McDonalds with McCafe around the corner, 7-11 also there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy bus tickets at the small newspaper kiosks along the sidewalks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tegan
Business
Nelson NZ
Oct 15, 2011

No windows and tiny.

The staff were great which is just as well because the hotel is very average and overpriced. The twin room i booked had no windows and was tiny. I was not prepared to stay in the room it was so claustrophobic, i therefore spent three days moving from room to room. If the room description had stated no windows i would have known not to book it. I was also angry to find that even though it was an Australian hotel the price was in USD with no indication that this was the case. When booking an Australian hotel i expect it to be in AUD unless otherwise specified. All in all not a good experience. I wil lnot use Orbitz again nor will i stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aussie explorer
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2011

More a college dorm than a hotel

There were no windows in my room. Not a lot of space. Bathroom is nice though. Staff friendly. It is adequate if you are looking for a place to sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 14, 2009

OK for a quick stay

This was perfect for a one-night stay in Sydney before our morning flight home. We had already toured downtown Sydney earlier during our trip, so it worked out well that this location was further south than our previous hotel -- closer to airport (our shuttle dropped us up first upon arrival, picked us up first to leave!) + close to Chinatown, where we picked up last minute souvenirs. But, our standard room was tiny, had no windows, and was laid out like a railroad-style dorm room. The headboards of our 2 beds were lined up back-to-back (we had to sleep with our heads together, feet at opposite ends). It was a super-convenient and efficient room, but any longer than a night and we might have gone nuts! It was quiet though, and the reception service was great (although they are not 24-hrs). Maybe some of the other rooms are bigger. Very close to Central Station and a block away from McDonald's (for free wifi).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Leisure Inn Sydney Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manila, Philippines
Oct 22, 2009

A ggod, inexpensive stay

Very comfortable room, especially for the price. The window looked out into a ventilation shaft. No frills, but clean, and just off of a major road in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head down to the Circular Quay area for great fish and chips, plus wonderful cheesecake in a restaurant close to the famous opera house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top