$146 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

InterContinental SYDNEY

5 stars
View map of CNR BRIDGE AND PHILLIP STREETS, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SYDNEY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nikki213
Business
LA
Jan 5, 2014

Great Tourist Hotel!

Everyone was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable at the Intercontinental. Went during New Year's week and although they were incredibly busy they took the time to make sure everyone was comfortable and had a good time. Great location near the Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Opera House, Botanical Gardens, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sydtrav9
Business
Hawaii
Jan 30, 2013

Amazing buffet breakfast, luxurious hotel, excellent location

We got a good deal and a free breakfast buffet which was truly memorably awesome . And we have compared many fine buffets in the past and this was the best one perhaps ever. The room was very clean and luxurious (got early check-in too) by helpful staff at reception. Wonderful central location . Could see the harbor from our room even though it was a city view . Air conditioning worked very well (unlike the Sofitel hotel where they had a pre-set sneaky setting to block cold temps) . Nice indoor pool upstairs with good views. This would be an amazing hotel to watch the fireworks next time .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Upgrade to the breakfast buffet to be included . It is well worth it, breakfast is expensive in Sydney anyway. This hotel is also very close to the pier for cruise ship people and those wanting to experience the heart of Sydney .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rajw
Business
california
Aug 1, 2013

sydney

great stay....friendly courteous staff...great breakfast and rooms had great views, even thought it was not a harbor view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
100 Day Mike
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 12, 2009

Great hotel, great location

Set within a couple minutes' walk from both the Domain and Circular Quay, the InterContinental makes a perfect base for exploring the city by foot, bus, train, and ferry. During our stay the hotel staff were exceptional across the board, including one front desk (not even the concierge) employee who not only gave us some great ideas for where to get unique and interesting photographers (one of us is a photog), but even practically walked us onto the right ferry for the trip. It's definitely an expensive hotel, but if you want a perfect Sydney experience without risk, you can't go wrong here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry from Circular Quay out to Watson's Bay for a couple hours' trip on a nice day. The ferry ride is very pleasant, and a walk around the small community and headland park is a great way for a romantic couple or family to spend an afternoon. Doyle's has great fish and chips, but they're a little pricey. Walk over to the lighthouse (if you don't get one when disembarking, stop by Doyles and ask for a free map) and enjoy the views of the crashing surf below.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma, CA
Dec 4, 2010

Fabulous!

The view from our room was fantastic. The employees were very helpful. The location is within walking distance to shopping, transportation and tourist sights. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother/Daughter
Business
Raleigh, NC
Dec 30, 2010

Great location and amenities

The hotel is in a great location, nearby Sydney harbor, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Gardens, shopping. The hotel is immaculate and staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel buffets and room service items were very pricey. Walking down to Circular Quay area has dining alternatives.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
H
Jan 30, 2011

Sydney

Excellent. Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 16, 2010

Dream come true getaway!

I arrived early in the morning and upon check-in, my room was ready for me! Since check-in is typically not until mid-afternoon, I was appreciative because I had just spent the past 20+ hours traveling to Sydney from Chicago. My room on the 12th floor had a beautiful view overlooking the Royal Botanic Gardens. It was spacious, clean, comfortable and welcoming. The hotel features all of the modern amenities in a prestigious location in the Central Business District (CBD) / Circular Quay and just minutes from the Opera House. The hotel concierge service is quite helpful, so don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions. I did not spend much time in my room other than as a resting place whilst staying in Sydney, so I did not see any reason to pay more for any different view. Why pay for the view when you can - within minutes - walk to see the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Hyde Park, etc.?! And if you're looking to go further away, you can very easily take the train or catch a bus from the Circular Quay, or taxis are plentiful in the CBD. When using the hotel's Internet service, you are prompted to complete a log-in page when connecting your computer. The page prompts you to enter the number of hours or the number of days you wish to have connectivity. Please be careful because this log-in page is not very clear. You can buy connectivity time by the hour or by the day. So, just be certain you're entering the correct number for the amount of time you wish to purchase. It's too bad the hotel does not offer free Wifi, but it is what it is. Also, there are nearby locations that do offer free Wifi, but those locations were nearly always swarming with people trying to take advantage of the availability. It was worth the money to just buy the amount of connectivity time I wanted at the hotel. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant, so I cannot comment on the food or the prices. There are plenty of places with close proximity, so I'd recommend venturing out and exploring. Overall, you cannot go wrong at the InterContinental Sydney! Prior to booking my stay, I had read myriad reviews of this hotel and various other five-star hotels in the CBD / Circular Quay. There's an equal mix of both positive and negative reviews for all of the hotels. I have nothing by high remarks for price/service/location/amenities at InterContinental Sydney. Unless you plan to spend a lot of time in the room due to work, I would not be so concerned about what view you have. You're truly so close to everything, so the view isn't worth the extra price per night. Happy travels, mates!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce A.
Business
Richmond
Dec 23, 2014

WorldTraveller

Best hotel in Sydney, close to the Opera House and Sydney Harbor with lots of awesome please to eat and sightsee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can book tours from the Hotel or walk down to the Harbor and see the different option. Five minutes from the Opera House and the Harbor and lots to see within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top