$176 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

InterContinental SYDNEY

5 stars
CNR BRIDGE AND PHILLIP STREETS, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
17 reviews
Great Tourist Hotel!

Everyone was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable at the Intercontinental. Went during New Year's... See full review

  • Nikki213
  • Jan 5, 2014
sydney

great stay....friendly courteous staff...great breakfast and rooms had great views, even thought it... See full review

  • rajw
  • Aug 1, 2013
Deluxe quarters for dignitaries and celebrities with harbor views

Check-in to the five-star InterContinental Sydney hotel has become a pastime for celebrities and royalty. Though the hotel boasts an exterior that has withstood nearly two centuries, there is nothing stale about the interior. Constructed to offer guests breathtaking views of the Sydney Harbour, the hotel's rooms, dining venues and rooftop lounges offer a deluxe experience. For style, sophistication and world class treatment, InterContinental Sydney delivers.  

Highlights
  • Chef Justin North of Etch wins 2009 SMH Good Food Guide Chef of the Year
  • Indoor swimming pool with sweeping views of Sydney Harbour
  • Rooftop lounge with wraparound terrace
  • Mix of contemporary design and traditional architecture
Rooms
If not merely for sweeping vistas of the harbor from the windowed sitting areas, the 509 guest rooms inspire. Rooms blend the needs of business travelers--a spacious work area, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), electrical converters and dual phone lines with messaging--with those of the vacationer. Expect plush bedding, stellar views and contemporary design. Hues of cream, plum, heather and silver induce relaxation amid a catalogue of offerings.
Features

An unsurpassed dining experience marks Etch, the babe of award-winning chef Justin North. The restaurant serves organic European cuisine to Sydney's glamorous. For something a bit more casual, Café Opera (famous for their weekend seafood buffet) serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The indoor swimming pool, 24-hour fitness center and rooftop lounge with a wraparound terrace please discerning and design-conscious guests. The hotel also offers a spa and salon.

Both parking and Wi-Fi are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Circular Quay Station (.06 mi/.1 km)
  • Galeries Victoria Monorail Stop (1.2 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Airport (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
Attractions
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Manly Beach (10 mi/16.2 km)
Business
  • Business center staffed from 8 a.m. – 6 p.m.
  • Copying, courier, fax and secretarial services (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental SYDNEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Government House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Government House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.3 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.2 mi

Dining

Aria Restaurant
This restaurant does not participate in the IHG Dining Rewards Program. ARIA Restaurant is situated on the very edge of Sydney Harbour. It is jointly owned and operated by Matt Moran and Peter Sullivan. The restaurant provides a dining experience that en
Baccomatto Osteria
Attached to the Cambridge Hotel in Surry Hills, Baccomatto Osteria is a cross between a small cafe by day and ritzy Italian osteria in the evening. The ultra modern decor centres around a magnificent marble bar.
Bathers' Pavilion
Housed in a Moorish inspired building that was built as a changing shed by Mosman Council in 1921, the restaurant serves dishes that showcase European culinary traditions, with seafood the star of the menu. The Bathers' Pavilion is also accessible by wate
Bills
This is the original icon of the modern Sydney cafe scene, and the first eatery to introduce communal dining to Australia. More than a decade on, it's still perfect for catching up with friends for a leisurely brekkie over a newspaper while sipping a grea
Billy Kwong
This restaurant does not participate in the IHG Dining Rewards Program. Celebrity Chef and Author Kylie Kwong is an Australian born Chinese. Wonderful home cooked Chinese, her beliefs lie in utilising Fair Trade, locally grown produce to be served and co
Buon Ricordo
Opened in 1987 Buon Ricordo invokes a feeling of warmth and intimacy with attentive and nurturing service. Throughout the restaurant you will find many works of art. Over the years the restaurant has become known for using only the freshest of ingredients
Cafe Sydney
With its spectacular harbour backdrop wonderful ambience and consistent standard of cuisine Cafe Sydney is acknowledged as one of the centrepieces of Sydney dining. One of the secrets of the success of the restaurant has been the nurturing of strong worki
Catalina
This restaurant does not participate in the IHG Dining Rewards Program. One of the greatest restaurant destinations situated on a landmark Rose Bay site on Sydney Harbour eastern foreshore.The restaurant was designed as homage to the beauty of Sydney Har
Est
This restaurant does not participate in the IHG Dining Rewards Program. Contemporary Australian restaurant, award winning service and a wine list personally selected by Frank Moreau make Est. an experience not to be missed.
Fish at The Rocks
This restaurant does not participate in the IHG Dining Rewards Program. Housed in a historic building dating back to 1919, the restaurant's interior echoes the tranquillity of the ocean. Those with a crustacean fixation can feast on whole Tasmanian lobst

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SYDNEY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Woods, CA (formerly NYC)
Dec 27, 2009

jf you like hills and $44 breakfasts...

The hotel is in a great location, so close down the hilly slope to the Sydney Opera House and ferry quays. But difficult for those with walking disabilities; taxis are hard to find at the harbor -- however, can be found outside the hotel. The hotel is in a very prestigious area with no shops or restaurants in sight. Across the street, inside an office building, there is a large food court (open to 4 pm) and small shops for office workers. The hotel's prices for food and beverages are out of sight for the average, no business account traveler. I found the room set up for a male business traveler; the refrigerator bar taking up valuable space for personal storage space. Small closets. Best part: a really comfy bed and remote control window covering. Service was mostly very good. I was given an early checkin, but at 11 pm my remote TV control "died"; I called and a technician appeared in five minutes and returned in another five minutes with a working remote. (However, should this really have happened in a five star hotel? the tech said that the room personnel should have checked this out and kept it in working condition.) I had a lovely Park View of the Royal Botanical Gardens, but I won't stay here again (even if I could afford the food). For the average tourist, the area around the Queen Victoria Bldg. in Sydney would seem the best (Hilton, Swissotel); it's busy but has lot's to do, eat and shop. No hills, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A number of restaurants can be found at Circular Quay and Opera House, but not as many as one might expect. Shopping is also limited. Nice out of doors harbor bistros; good in warmer, dryer weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palo alto,california
Feb 25, 2010

Not worth the money

Well, let me just say that, for $1027 for 3 nights I feel very disappointed. I had been looking forward to a peaceful environment where, after long days of sight-seeing my husband and I would be able to go back to our hotel and enjoy sitting in a nice lounge,enjoy cocktails,have a bite to eat etc. Unfortunately, the prices of everything were so prohibitive that we had to go to the local grocery store for our snacks & drinks. The cocktail menu in The Cortile was outrageous. Every drink was $25!! We were shocked. The coffee shop offered either Continental breakfast or a full breakfast for fixed prices--also way too expensive. The restaurant was very non-inviting. It reminded me of a dining hall in a stuffy private school. My husband and I walked in and immediately walked out. We tried room service and I believe my hamburger and fries was $28. We were also very disapponted by the pool area. We opened the door and felt a rush of hot air. It was so stiflingly hot in that room that we couldn't even go for a swim--so much for taking a refreshing dip!. The website shows a jacuzzi somewhere--we never found it. Lastly, it was very upsetting that we were not allowed access to the rooftop lounge/bar/restaurant area. It was only for the guests who were in the 'Club Intercontinental' which, I'm assuming were the very high priced rooms. This isn NOT advertised anywhere in their website. I had been really looking forward to having cocktails up on the roof w/ a view of Sydney harbor....oh well. Guess that's only for the priviledged few who pay MORE than $300/night! I definitely would not stay here again. Our room was nice and clean with good decor and the front desk staff was nice but that's about all I can say that's positive. The location is close to Circular Quay but it would have been better to have stayed on the other side of 'The Rocks'(especially since we had to go outside of our hotel to eat). We found out later(by our cab driver) that the Intercontinental is where the president stays when he's in Sydney--guess we know where all our taxpayers dollars are going!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

skip the double decker red busses---too expensive and each stop takes forever. I can't tell you how many times we sat baking in the sun on the top level. The lower level was too hot. We paid $70 for the 2 of us and hopped off within 1/2 an hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redsoxfansf
Business
Boston
Sep 14, 2013

Short stop, great view

Amazing view of sydney harbor, centrally located - short walk to gardens, rock, downtown and trains. Hotel restaurant satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 26, 2009

Intercontinental Sydney

Traveled on business, room was very nice, lobby was beautiful. Very good service and attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul R. Bear
Business
Vallejo, CA
Sep 24, 2009

Good location and great quality

It was good overall. I just wished they have a larger bar area and live entertainment at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abc's
Business
Manama, Bahrain
Dec 3, 2010

Wonderful location

Wonderful location a block uphill from the Circular Quay and down the street from the Opera House. Even with a city view room was still able to look over the Royal Botanic Gardens & part of east harbor - beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wait on buying small souveniers until you have a chance to visit Paddy's Market between Darling Harbor and Chinatown - much better prices and a fun experience, but check the hours, they aren't open everyday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson, NV
Oct 9, 2009

Very Nice...!

The hotel was very very nice! The driveway up to the lobby was crowded, as taxi cabs and cars trying to pick up/drop off was chaotic. The lobby is quaint. The reception staff, concierge, and bellhop were great! The room itself is very nice, especially the view of Circular Quay, the Harbor Bridge, and the Royal Botanic Gardens from the bay window. I only wished the cushions were plush instead of plastic. The television needs to be updated with a flatscreen!!! The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. The closet was a tad bit small. The bathroom NEEDS an update quickly! The black and white tile floor was ugly, the shower/tub was small, the counter space was cramped for two people, and the space was simply SMALL!!! Other than that, a very good located within walking distance to the gardens and the opera house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 14, 2009

nice

We had a great time and its in a great location. My only complaint is that either this or the actual hotel website described city and harbor views from the rooftop bar or the roof area in general but only Intercontinental Club members are allowed up there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hk
Dec 15, 2010

my stay at intercontinetal sydney

all are good, except could not make local and international call in room, needed to go down to the lobby.however, they did not charge me for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nikki213
Business
LA
Jan 5, 2014

Great Tourist Hotel!

Everyone was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable at the Intercontinental. Went during New Year's week and although they were incredibly busy they took the time to make sure everyone was comfortable and had a good time. Great location near the Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Opera House, Botanical Gardens, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top