$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

InterContinental SYDNEY

5 stars
View map of CNR BRIDGE AND PHILLIP STREETS, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SYDNEY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sydtrav9
Hawaii
Jan 30, 2013

Amazing buffet breakfast, luxurious hotel, excellent location

We got a good deal and a free breakfast buffet which was truly memorably awesome . And we have compared many fine buffets in the past and this was the best one perhaps ever. The room was very clean and luxurious (got early check-in too) by helpful staff at reception. Wonderful central location . Could see the harbor from our room even though it was a city view . Air conditioning worked very well (unlike the Sofitel hotel where they had a pre-set sneaky setting to block cold temps) . Nice indoor pool upstairs with good views. This would be an amazing hotel to watch the fireworks next time .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Upgrade to the breakfast buffet to be included . It is well worth it, breakfast is expensive in Sydney anyway. This hotel is also very close to the pier for cruise ship people and those wanting to experience the heart of Sydney .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abc's
Business
Manama, Bahrain
Dec 3, 2010

Wonderful location

Wonderful location a block uphill from the Circular Quay and down the street from the Opera House. Even with a city view room was still able to look over the Royal Botanic Gardens & part of east harbor - beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wait on buying small souveniers until you have a chance to visit Paddy's Market between Darling Harbor and Chinatown - much better prices and a fun experience, but check the hours, they aren't open everyday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 16, 2010

Dream come true getaway!

I arrived early in the morning and upon check-in, my room was ready for me! Since check-in is typically not until mid-afternoon, I was appreciative because I had just spent the past 20+ hours traveling to Sydney from Chicago. My room on the 12th floor had a beautiful view overlooking the Royal Botanic Gardens. It was spacious, clean, comfortable and welcoming. The hotel features all of the modern amenities in a prestigious location in the Central Business District (CBD) / Circular Quay and just minutes from the Opera House. The hotel concierge service is quite helpful, so don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions. I did not spend much time in my room other than as a resting place whilst staying in Sydney, so I did not see any reason to pay more for any different view. Why pay for the view when you can - within minutes - walk to see the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Hyde Park, etc.?! And if you're looking to go further away, you can very easily take the train or catch a bus from the Circular Quay, or taxis are plentiful in the CBD. When using the hotel's Internet service, you are prompted to complete a log-in page when connecting your computer. The page prompts you to enter the number of hours or the number of days you wish to have connectivity. Please be careful because this log-in page is not very clear. You can buy connectivity time by the hour or by the day. So, just be certain you're entering the correct number for the amount of time you wish to purchase. It's too bad the hotel does not offer free Wifi, but it is what it is. Also, there are nearby locations that do offer free Wifi, but those locations were nearly always swarming with people trying to take advantage of the availability. It was worth the money to just buy the amount of connectivity time I wanted at the hotel. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant, so I cannot comment on the food or the prices. There are plenty of places with close proximity, so I'd recommend venturing out and exploring. Overall, you cannot go wrong at the InterContinental Sydney! Prior to booking my stay, I had read myriad reviews of this hotel and various other five-star hotels in the CBD / Circular Quay. There's an equal mix of both positive and negative reviews for all of the hotels. I have nothing by high remarks for price/service/location/amenities at InterContinental Sydney. Unless you plan to spend a lot of time in the room due to work, I would not be so concerned about what view you have. You're truly so close to everything, so the view isn't worth the extra price per night. Happy travels, mates!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palo alto,california
Feb 25, 2010

Not worth the money

Well, let me just say that, for $1027 for 3 nights I feel very disappointed. I had been looking forward to a peaceful environment where, after long days of sight-seeing my husband and I would be able to go back to our hotel and enjoy sitting in a nice lounge,enjoy cocktails,have a bite to eat etc. Unfortunately, the prices of everything were so prohibitive that we had to go to the local grocery store for our snacks & drinks. The cocktail menu in The Cortile was outrageous. Every drink was $25!! We were shocked. The coffee shop offered either Continental breakfast or a full breakfast for fixed prices--also way too expensive. The restaurant was very non-inviting. It reminded me of a dining hall in a stuffy private school. My husband and I walked in and immediately walked out. We tried room service and I believe my hamburger and fries was $28. We were also very disapponted by the pool area. We opened the door and felt a rush of hot air. It was so stiflingly hot in that room that we couldn't even go for a swim--so much for taking a refreshing dip!. The website shows a jacuzzi somewhere--we never found it. Lastly, it was very upsetting that we were not allowed access to the rooftop lounge/bar/restaurant area. It was only for the guests who were in the 'Club Intercontinental' which, I'm assuming were the very high priced rooms. This isn NOT advertised anywhere in their website. I had been really looking forward to having cocktails up on the roof w/ a view of Sydney harbor....oh well. Guess that's only for the priviledged few who pay MORE than $300/night! I definitely would not stay here again. Our room was nice and clean with good decor and the front desk staff was nice but that's about all I can say that's positive. The location is close to Circular Quay but it would have been better to have stayed on the other side of 'The Rocks'(especially since we had to go outside of our hotel to eat). We found out later(by our cab driver) that the Intercontinental is where the president stays when he's in Sydney--guess we know where all our taxpayers dollars are going!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

skip the double decker red busses---too expensive and each stop takes forever. I can't tell you how many times we sat baking in the sun on the top level. The lower level was too hot. We paid $70 for the 2 of us and hopped off within 1/2 an hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Woods, CA (formerly NYC)
Dec 27, 2009

jf you like hills and $44 breakfasts...

The hotel is in a great location, so close down the hilly slope to the Sydney Opera House and ferry quays. But difficult for those with walking disabilities; taxis are hard to find at the harbor -- however, can be found outside the hotel. The hotel is in a very prestigious area with no shops or restaurants in sight. Across the street, inside an office building, there is a large food court (open to 4 pm) and small shops for office workers. The hotel's prices for food and beverages are out of sight for the average, no business account traveler. I found the room set up for a male business traveler; the refrigerator bar taking up valuable space for personal storage space. Small closets. Best part: a really comfy bed and remote control window covering. Service was mostly very good. I was given an early checkin, but at 11 pm my remote TV control "died"; I called and a technician appeared in five minutes and returned in another five minutes with a working remote. (However, should this really have happened in a five star hotel? the tech said that the room personnel should have checked this out and kept it in working condition.) I had a lovely Park View of the Royal Botanical Gardens, but I won't stay here again (even if I could afford the food). For the average tourist, the area around the Queen Victoria Bldg. in Sydney would seem the best (Hilton, Swissotel); it's busy but has lot's to do, eat and shop. No hills, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A number of restaurants can be found at Circular Quay and Opera House, but not as many as one might expect. Shopping is also limited. Nice out of doors harbor bistros; good in warmer, dryer weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson, NV
Oct 9, 2009

Very Nice...!

The hotel was very very nice! The driveway up to the lobby was crowded, as taxi cabs and cars trying to pick up/drop off was chaotic. The lobby is quaint. The reception staff, concierge, and bellhop were great! The room itself is very nice, especially the view of Circular Quay, the Harbor Bridge, and the Royal Botanic Gardens from the bay window. I only wished the cushions were plush instead of plastic. The television needs to be updated with a flatscreen!!! The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. The closet was a tad bit small. The bathroom NEEDS an update quickly! The black and white tile floor was ugly, the shower/tub was small, the counter space was cramped for two people, and the space was simply SMALL!!! Other than that, a very good located within walking distance to the gardens and the opera house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 26, 2009

Intercontinental Sydney

Traveled on business, room was very nice, lobby was beautiful. Very good service and attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul R. Bear
Business
Vallejo, CA
Sep 24, 2009

Good location and great quality

It was good overall. I just wished they have a larger bar area and live entertainment at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 14, 2009

nice

We had a great time and its in a great location. My only complaint is that either this or the actual hotel website described city and harbor views from the rooftop bar or the roof area in general but only Intercontinental Club members are allowed up there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SYDNEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
100 Day Mike
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 12, 2009

Great hotel, great location

Set within a couple minutes' walk from both the Domain and Circular Quay, the InterContinental makes a perfect base for exploring the city by foot, bus, train, and ferry. During our stay the hotel staff were exceptional across the board, including one front desk (not even the concierge) employee who not only gave us some great ideas for where to get unique and interesting photographers (one of us is a photog), but even practically walked us onto the right ferry for the trip. It's definitely an expensive hotel, but if you want a perfect Sydney experience without risk, you can't go wrong here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry from Circular Quay out to Watson's Bay for a couple hours' trip on a nice day. The ferry ride is very pleasant, and a walk around the small community and headland park is a great way for a romantic couple or family to spend an afternoon. Doyle's has great fish and chips, but they're a little pricey. Walk over to the lighthouse (if you don't get one when disembarking, stop by Doyles and ask for a free map) and enjoy the views of the crashing surf below.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top