$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

4 stars
68 HARBOUR STREET, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
102 reviews
GREAT DARLING HARBOUR LOCATION

Great Darling Harbour location .Close to Cafes and Restaurants. Also has great bar and restaurants... See full review

  • Curc
  • Feb 19, 2014
Good venue to Sydney Entertainment Centre

Stay at hotel was pleasant. The lighting system in room hard to work out controls could not turn on... See full review

  • Celtic Woman concert goer
  • Jan 19, 2014
Kids eat free at this comfortable hotel close to Darling Harbour

Holiday Inn at Darling Harbour occupies the interiors of Sydney's former Wool Store with 346 quiet rooms and suites in the center of the action. The historic hotel is positioned close enough to wander by foot to Sydney's best attractions, including Darling Harbour, Chinatown, the buzzing entertainment center, plus public transportation to beaches, shops and the airport. This family-friendly hotel welcomes business travelers and offers free meals for children.

Highlights
  • Kids eat free at Shipley's Restaurant
  • Close proximity to sightseeing
  • Near trains, monorails and ferries
Rooms

Simple, comfortable rooms are an ideal spot for guests to kick up their feet and relax after a long day. Vanilla linens, carpets and drapery blend with pale gray walls to whisper calm. Rooms have a small work desk with high-speed Internet (fees apply). Complimentary newspapers are offered daily. One-bedroom suites on higher floors include upgrades like flat screen TVs, robes and a lounge area. Laundry service is available (fees apply).

Features

Shipley's Restaurant features local cuisine with an ambiance reminiscent of Sydney's once powerful wool trade industry.  Massive iron beams guard a dining room where guests enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner--kids eat free! JB's Bar serves a casual pub lunch and dinner to the business set.

Guests have access to an offsite gym with fitness equipment, a sauna, whirlpool and steam room.

The hotel offers parking and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Monorail Metro Transport on Pyrmont Street (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Central Station Devonshire Street (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Sydney Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
Attractions
  • Sydney Aquarium (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Art Gallery of New South Wales (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sydney Cricket Ground (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Paddington Markets (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Manly Beach (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
Business

  • Business center with courier service, copy, fax and printing  capabilities (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Secretarial services

Hotel Map

-33.8783 151.2033
Nearby airports
Darling Harbour: Shopping / Restaurants/ Pubs, (SYD), 16.00, KM, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.9 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.1 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.7 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Dining

Shipley's Restaurant
Shipley's echoes memories of a bygone era when it was once a bustling Wool Trading Floor, today it is a modern and vibrant restaurant. Start your day with our Breakfast Buffet featuring a great selection of hot and cold temptations. In the Evening you can
JB's Bar
JB's Bar opens for lunch and dinner daily. Patrons can relax and unwind with friends or sit back and watch the passers-by in Darling Harbour. There are nightly beverage promotions as well as daily Chefs meal specials. Open daily from 11am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne
Not Provided
Nov 8, 2010

Was adequate for pricing. Staff

Was adequate for pricing. Staff not overly friendly (but was very busy period due to Chinese New year).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john
Not Provided
Oct 25, 2010

Very convenient to the Entertainment

Very convenient to the Entertainment Centre and to Chinatown certainly an hotel I would stay in again and recommend to everyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Oct 3, 2010

Enjoyed the stay!

If you arrive too early to check in. Hotel will store your bags for you until check in time. Attended two concerts during the stay that were right across the street at the entertainment center. Convenient and quite hotel. We enjoyed our stay. If you forget your adapters for electronics, the front desk has some and did not charge for using. Day tour buses will pick you up for most trips just outside of the hotel front door. When it's time to leave, Taxi's can be found right out front of the hotel for a quick trip back to the airport, no waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from the hotel. Entertainment center across the street. Paddy's market, small mall, food store, about a 100 yard walk. Very convienient monorail station. If you love Chinese food, this will be Heaven for you. Long walk to major shopping but not too bad. Short walk to Darling Harbour for attractions, ferries, dining, shopping and pubs.

Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zak
Not Provided
Sep 13, 2010

As we were attending a conference

As we were attending a conference at the entertainment centre the location was excellent. Everything else was very average- room was dull and had a funny smell. The monorail noise a problem as we were on level 3. We didn't have breakfast - but the queues out of the door meant we didn't fell as though we were missing much. I expect much more from the Holiday Inn. Spend the money and stay at the Novotel if you have to stay at Darling Harbour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anup
Not Provided
Sep 13, 2010

They have average service!

They have average service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 13, 2010

This hotel was great and filled

This hotel was great and filled all our requirements. The room was fairly basic however we were hardly in it. Fantastic location as we were attending seminars at the Entertainment Centre....straight across the road. China Town is just around the corner. Also close to Paddys Market and Darling Harbour. Can't comment on the resturant as we didn't dine there.....did have a few drinks in the bar though and the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth
Not Provided
Sep 13, 2010

I stay and strongly recommend

I stay and strongly recommend Holiday Inn Darling Harbour to all who attend Conferences at the Convention Centre opposite. Wish I was on a commission basis for all I have sent. :) However, would not recommend if it wasnt up to standard. Congrats to all. Elizabeth M Rae www.fasttracksuccesss.com.au

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 9, 2010

Holiday Inn staff were quite h

Holiday Inn staff were quite helpful My room was clean and well presented There wasn't a minibar, although on book out, was asked if used the minibar? No matter, just a comment No drinking water and jug in the fridge Tea coffee and milk I considered insufficient for 2 people, no matter, a comment that this may be checked My partner and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others to stay and look forward to staying again when visting Sydney

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 8, 2010

A bit over price and the monorail

A bit over price and the monorail track is literary outside of my window

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn DARLING HARBOUR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terry
Not Provided
Sep 8, 2010

I was very happy with the room

I was very happy with the room only downfall was roomservice breakfast was cold when it arrived I will stay again and go down for breakfast in futher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search