$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hilton Sydney

5 stars
View map of 488 George Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TRAVEL BUG TIMMY
Business
ATLANTA
Mar 16, 2011

SYDNEY SENSATIONAL

THE SERVICE WAS VERY NICE, THE COMPLETE STAFF HELPED ME WITH ALL OF MY CONCERNS. THE HOTEL LOBY WAS BEAUTIFUL. I THOUGHT THE ROOMS WERE A BIT SMALL BUT ASIDE FROM THAT EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine State native
Business
Florida
Mar 13, 2011

Comfort and Convenience

This hotel was a big surprise. Not your average Hilton. Not that Hiltons are average, but this was a most sophisticated hotel with five star service. Its location could not have been better, unless you have to have a close up view of the Opera House- for that stay at the Four Seasons, but you will fork out a lot more dough that you could have spent at the marvelous shopping in walking distance of the Hilton. Directly across the street is the QVB, Queen Victoria Building, a site worth visiting even if you don't have the dollars to spend at Versace. The room's amenities were very pleasing and very European in style. All in all,I would stay there again. Nice job, Hilton. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I did not have the time to eat at the Brasserie, the hotel's highly acclaimed restaurant on site, but it looked like it a place that would have high on my list if I had. The one thing I would have liked is a few more options for late night dining. After 11PM your only choice in the hotel is room service limited to gourmet-ish pizza. Yes, 11PM is late for dinner but when you are vacation and your evening is packed with entertainment sometimes that is the only chance you get.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Feb 15, 2011

Convenient location

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Sydney, and while this will never be my favorite, it is certainly not the worst. Comparatively good rates may be available. Hotel is in a good location for transit--very close to the Town Hall station, so a quick train ride to Airport, Circular Quay, etc. Walking distance to main sights, although it is a fair distance to the Botanical Gardens, Opera House, Ferries, etc. Close to shopping (Pitt street mall). Rooms are small, and they seem to have sacrificed comfort for style: decor is very trendy but not entirely user-friendly. Room was clean. Staff was helpful. Mini bar charges automatically for anything you so much as touch, so be warned, and prices are steep. Internet is very expensive, even for Sydney ($29 for 24 hours). I did not try the restaurants, as they seemed overpriced. Coffee/tea maker in room. Traffic noise was a small issue even on the 28th floor (I could hear the rumble of the buses all night), and would be much worse on lower floors. I would stay here again if I found a very good deal, but not otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The weekly transit pass is a great deal, and covers ferries, trains and buses (but not additional "gate fee" for the airport).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveller, and Fussy Too
Business
Arlington, VA
Feb 12, 2011

Great Stay, Highly Recommended

Great hotel if you are a Hhonors member. Nice executive club and great breakfast buffet. Hotel is central to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jan 9, 2011

Comfortable Hilton on the Harbour

No taxi needed to reach this hotel from cruise! Wonderful. Comfortable room. We wished that we could stay for one more night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to local cruises and buses...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bridgewater, NJ
May 16, 2010

Hilton Sydney

Hotel was very nice. The location seemed to be right in the middle of the business and shopping district, so not as easy to find restaurants or cafes for food. But it was near subway stations for easy access around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longmont, CO
Apr 10, 2010

Great Stay in Sydney

The service from the front desk staff and the concierge staff was fantastic. The concierge staff helped us find a tour to wine country and the front desk was very responsive to any (small) issues we had. We stayed on the executive lounge floor and found the amenities and service excellent. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brucepo
Business
denver
Mar 3, 2010

Internet rip-off

Great hotel, but when you're spending $200 a night getting I feel that it's unacceptable to get nickle-dimed. Paying $29.00 for internet access is robbery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norman, OK
Feb 8, 2010

Excellent Hotel in Sydeny CBD

Hotel is within walking distance of Darling Harbor, Circular Quay and The Rocks. Very Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel has been recently renovated with the newest amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Excellant

Excellent The hotel is located at the heart of the shopping district (Market street and George St.); the room and the bedding were excellent for a good night sleep. Service with a smile from the staff and the prices were very good for the 5 star services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shooping at the door step. If you are booking the rooms do it on-line, if not the rates at the counter at a very high price for any changes like upgrades.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top