$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Devere Hotel Sydney

3 stars
44-46 Macleay Street, Potts Point Sydney, Sydney, NS 2011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Excellent, economic, decent and convenient accommodation in the heart of the city!!!

My wife and I booked our vacation in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia during an extremely busy... See full review

  • Happy Rotarian
  • Jun 12, 2014
Nice room

We paid a bit extra for a 'bay view room'. Very light and a nice view #small window# of a bit of... See full review

  • Paul Hes
  • Aug 6, 2014
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Devere Hotel Sydney is conveniently located close to many attractions, provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Devere Hotel Sydney is situated in the trendy bayside suburb of Potts Point, only 2 kilometres from Sydney's CBD and 10 kilometres from the airport. The hotel is 30 walk from Darling Harbour, Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Trains and bus stops are just metres away. The Devere is a 100% non-smoking property.

Hotel Map

-33.8712 151.2252
Area served
Sydney
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport
Area description
Simply Comfortable & Affordable! Great Value Accommodation conveniently located only 20 minutes walk to the city's business district and Opera House

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Devere Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Devere Hotel Sydney Rooms

Superior Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Superior Triple
This room offers one double bed and one twin along with basic amenities
Superior Single
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Standard Twin
This room offers two twin beds along with basic amenities
Standard Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities.
Premium Studio - Family
This room offers one double bed and two twins along with basic amenities

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Government House: 1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • General Post Office: 1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.7 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Devere Hotel Sydney

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Devere

My wife and I stayed at the Devere early March and as long as you dont mind being right on top of the Red Light district but we never felt uncomfortable when walking through, it has ideal transport links to all the major sites in the city. dispite location there were plenty of places to eat at reasonable prices near by. The staff were helpful and friendly we stayed in the newly renovated 2nd floor and would recommend these rooms very stylish

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackaroo
San Diego
Apr 4, 2012

Tiny room but had it all.

A/C was on 24/7 but barely cooled the room. Staff excellent, and friendly. Clean. Well worth the price, and nearby to everything. Maybe a mile from the Red Light District which was good. Don't need THEM in front of my hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Order a bigger room, get some space to move and avoid the $25 wifi charge, that has too many problems to begin with.

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathyC
London UK
Mar 30, 2013

Great time

The hotel is not in the best area but has everything you need on your doorstep. It's a short walk from Kings Cross station and then only a few minutes into the centre; getting around was easy. Walking back late to the hotel was also fine and at no point did I feel worried. The hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff. I would have liked free wifi but popped down to the local MacDonalds and used the free wifi there with a coffee. As I booked early I got a good price on my room which also had a view of the bay close by. All in all, it was perfectly satisfactory and worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShawnGQ
New York
May 31, 2013

Great Value

Overall great value. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very pleasant. Rooms were just average. My only complaint is that the hotel doesn't offer free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maki
Fukuoka, Japan
Sep 25, 2011

Cost

Hotel accomodation cost is very reasoanble even it locates close to the center of Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai cuisine

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neogeo
United States
Oct 6, 2011

Devere Hotel Review

Good hotel, good price, free wifi, close to king's cross. No major issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soapy
Lake Macquarie
Jun 21, 2014

overnight stay

This overnight stay before travelling home after air flight was great and exactly what my sister described to me. Short walk to rail station, plenty of places to eat and accommodation was very quite and comfortable. Will be back will highly recommend to friend & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep your mouth shut when in street.

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single Flyer
Perth, WA
Mar 21, 2012

Affordable Sydney Stay

I come to Sydney several times a year to go to the Opera. I've stayed at several hotels but have found the Devere suits me best. There is a bus that goes between Central Station and Circular Quay and stops right outside the hotel entrance. The train station at King's Cross is a few minutes walk from the hotel, and there are plenty of places to eat or to shop for food. The staff are very helpful and I feel safe and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When visiting the Art Gallery take the bus to Circular Quay and get out at Woolomolooo and walk up the steps and you are there and opposite the Botanical Gardens.

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geofftwmba
toowoomba
Jun 22, 2014

Handy for train travel

The hotel is ideally located just 5 minutes walk from King's Cross Station. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable.There are many different styles and shapes of rooms but this was standard double. The room was spacious and had a separate kitchen sink area with fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Fast checkin and checkout and good security-the room keycard also opens the front door for late night entry. Many food outlets and convenience stores nearby that are open late or all night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford street is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel and the city shops slightly further.

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missy O
Business
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Mar 26, 2012

Good spot for a weekend in Sydders!

I was there for work/fun and the De Vere is a great location if you want to get to know Sydney beyond the city and the Rocks. It's a great spot for restaurants and cafes and public transport is close. I think given where it is, it is good value for money. You do get what you pay for and if you go for the cheaper rooms they are quite basic. The staff are always friendly and helpful and that is half the battle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search