$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Devere Hotel Sydney

3 stars
View map of 44-46 Macleay Street, Potts Point Sydney, Sydney, NS 2011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
29 reviews
Excellent, economic, decent and convenient accommodation in the heart of the city!!!

My wife and I booked our vacation in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia during an extremely busy... See full review

  • Happy Rotarian
  • Jun 12, 2014
Great Value

Overall great value. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very pleasant. Rooms were... See full review

  • ShawnGQ
  • May 31, 2013
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Devere Hotel Sydney is conveniently located close to many attractions, provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Devere Hotel Sydney is situated in the trendy bayside suburb of Potts Point, only 2 kilometres from Sydney's CBD and 10 kilometres from the airport. The hotel is 30 walk from Darling Harbour, Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Trains and bus stops are just metres away. The Devere is a 100% non-smoking property.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Devere Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Devere Hotel Sydney Rooms

Standard Twin
This room offers two twin beds along with basic amenities
Standard Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities.
Premium Studio - Family
This room offers one double bed and two twins along with basic amenities
Superior Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Superior Triple
This room offers one double bed and one twin along with basic amenities
Superior Single
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Government House: 1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • General Post Office: 1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.7 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Devere Hotel Sydney

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackaroo
San Diego
Apr 4, 2012

Tiny room but had it all.

A/C was on 24/7 but barely cooled the room. Staff excellent, and friendly. Clean. Well worth the price, and nearby to everything. Maybe a mile from the Red Light District which was good. Don't need THEM in front of my hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Order a bigger room, get some space to move and avoid the $25 wifi charge, that has too many problems to begin with.

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MacRS4
Business
London
Dec 11, 2012

Horrible, horrible experience

We stayed here for a couple of nights as it looked good value and it was in the party area of Sydney (Potts Point/Kings Cross). I'd also stayed here before a few years ago and while I remember the rooms being basic they were clean and liveable. Never again. The rooms have become very run down. Firstly, the lights in the bathroom didn't work at all, the toilet was constantly filling (the noise was SO annoying), and the bed was appalling. The bed moved around the floor comically everytime you so much as moved. If you're a back-packer looking for cheap non-backpacking hotel in Sydney, fair enough, this may suffice. For me? Like I say, never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BIJU P
Business
Abu Dhabi
Aug 22, 2013

Please renew the hotel rooms with ample space.

This hotel rooms are very small and Toilet like aircraft model also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jay the traveler.
Business
Melbourne, VIC
Oct 1, 2013

Beware and skip this one

Bad, sad, mad! - Surprise, had to pay $25 per night parking, Website said room had wireless, but hotel told me "O your room doesnt have a good signal, you'll have to pay $15 more per night for internet in another room." Located in the heart of the RED LIGHT DISTRICT luring all the distasteful folks around. Noisy and nasty. Furniture looked like it was picked from curb side rubbish heap. Folks there not too friendly either - waiter sat me at a table and I waited over 20 min until suprisingly noted "did you order" and the manager couldn't care less. Enjoy your holiday at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashville, tn
Feb 28, 2010

not for me

Location is good, close to many restaurants and bars. However, it is very very outdated and just didn't feel clean. The linens were clearly from the 1980's and carpeting older, floors creaked. No optioon for internet. Didn't work for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vangie
Business
California
Aug 28, 2011

Lobby was filthy! Awful red district location. Parking was four blocks away and dangerous at night.

This is rated as three-star, but it is a low class, dirty hotel that should be down graded to one star. Better yet, taken off the Orbitz list. A horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joeyme
Business
Kyles Ford
Feb 28, 2015

loud

Constant noise from elevator and airshaft. Not a good night's sleep. If you manage to avoid the airshaft, you might have a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NoDevereDear
Business
Atlanta
Apr 6, 2015

Run for Your Life

Does not offer free Wifi as advertised. It's 15$ a day! Smells awful. Dirty. Location is nice until you start walking to the Kings Cross station. You are literally in the red light district. Have no idea how this is a 3 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hans R
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 20, 2011

price doesnt reflect the stars

Never been to a hotel that doesn't even provide Kleenex. Bed was small and uncomfortable. Staff acted like robots, not real friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joeyme
Business
Tennessee
Feb 2, 2013

noisy

Room located next to elevator, which could be heard clanking on every trip, as well as by air shaft that sounded like a large truck idleing nearby. Power outlets inconveniently located; my travel adapter would not fit. Had to unplug air conditioner to plug in laptop. Airport shuttle is not free. Wifi requires an expensive room upgrade. Breakfast is not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gfkoala
Business
Massachusetts, U.S.A.
Mar 26, 2013

Not what I expected

I was diappointed in this hotel for the price I paid and even more so knowing what it was worth before I paid only half price. The pictrues of the acomidation did NOT match. style, outside scenery picts. and although I know it said "contenetal breakfast available" WHO would pay 12 dollars for cereal and a piece of fruit that looked like it had been sitting around a long while. The room was and hallways around were plastered with signs saying no smoking. But he room and hallways smelled musty. My sheets on the tiny twin beds were strachy (clean white) but not comfortable by what i thought 3 star standards would be. Plus it had a wooled blanket that looked like it was from 1970. The TV was literally mounted as close to the ceiling as possible. which made watching uncomfortable unless you were laying on the bed flat, staring up at the ceiling. I think to spend so much and then be told that WIFI costs sooooo much was insane. that was the main reason i stayed at this hotel. instead I just used there computer but stil had to pay 4 dollars an hour. ticked me off. This was supposed to be my first place to relax after a 19 hour journey in a squished airplane. I chose to really only sleep cause when ever i came back to my room i would get annoyed i was paying so much and getting so little. The sights from the window i had was NOTHING. the window was tempered plastic so it was opake could not see through it if i tried but since light only came in through the first 4 inches I think it looked at the wall of another building. The only nice view i found while there was in the Public Bathroom on the 5th floor of the hotel. To top it off although there are signs saying it was a nonsmoking hotel the hallway and room were musty and smelled as if a 60 year old smoker with a wet dog had lived there. I will NOT ever go back to that hotel. I stayed in 2 hostels and 1 motel and 1 other 3 star hotel while i was in Australia and all were much better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

THe circular Quay is a good train trip it takes 2 stops on and off from Kings cross, i only took one try to walk the distance. Go to the Botanical garden while you are in Sydney but DON"T stay at this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top