$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Devere Hotel Sydney

3 stars
44-46 Macleay Street, Potts Point Sydney, Sydney, NS 2011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
25 reviews
Excellent, economic, decent and convenient accommodation in the heart of the city!!!

My wife and I booked our vacation in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia during an extremely busy... See full review

  • Happy Rotarian
  • Jun 12, 2014
Great Value

Overall great value. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very pleasant. Rooms were... See full review

  • ShawnGQ
  • May 31, 2013
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Devere Hotel Sydney is conveniently located close to many attractions, provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Devere Hotel Sydney is situated in the trendy bayside suburb of Potts Point, only 2 kilometres from Sydney's CBD and 10 kilometres from the airport. The hotel is 30 walk from Darling Harbour, Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Trains and bus stops are just metres away. The Devere is a 100% non-smoking property.

Hotel Map

-33.8712 151.2252
Area served
Sydney
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport
Area description
Simply Comfortable & Affordable! Great Value Accommodation conveniently located only 20 minutes walk to the city's business district and Opera House

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Devere Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Devere Hotel Sydney Rooms

Superior Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Superior Triple
This room offers one double bed and one twin along with basic amenities
Superior Single
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Standard Twin
This room offers two twin beds along with basic amenities
Standard Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities.
Premium Studio - Family
This room offers one double bed and two twins along with basic amenities

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Government House: 1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • General Post Office: 1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.7 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Devere Hotel Sydney

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Rotarian
Bahamas
Jun 12, 2014

Excellent, economic, decent and convenient accommodation in the heart of the city!!!

My wife and I booked our vacation in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia during an extremely busy period. In spite of all the hotels throughout the city being saturated with Rotarians traveling to the 2014 Rotary International Conventions which include the DeVere Hotel we were fortunate to find a suite there. Initially we were a bit hesitant because the hotel was only at the level of a 3 star and had preferred a 4 or 5 star hotel, but eventually we confirmed our booking and hoped for the best. Upon arrival we were attended promptly, but with a slight delay. Apparently during the booking with the travel company an error was made and it went undetected by us until days before traveling, long after the period to make changes without penalty. We explained the situation to the front desk clerk who referred us to the Manager who listened to our situation (the travel company did not take into account our travel period and the difference the time change. They booked the first day of accommodation to start on the same day we left our country, but our arrival was not until two days later and they booked our departure from the hotel a day earlier). Without confusion the Manager made the adjustment. Not being able to give a refund of caused, but instead he gave us a voucher for a breakfast buffet for the total time of our stay and adjusted the date of our departure without penalty. Our stay at the hotel was very accommodating and we totally enjoyed our time there. The room was very clean and the room service was extremely efficient. When the maid see the do not disturb sign on the door she would put a note under the door to ensure that we know she was there and to let the front desk know if we left the sign on in error. This was followed up with call from room service. The hotel have a dining room on the fifth level that serves a generous breakfast buffet which we found to be very tasty and delicious. The hotel also have a restaurant for fine dining on the ground floor level which serves dinner daily. The hotel is situated with in walking distance to everything. For example: the shops, restaurants, parks, museums, tours, the train station is along one of the city's common bus routes which includes several different buses. Car rental is almost not ever needed. The busses and trains are very efficient and reliable. The upkeep of the hotel is great and I think it's with in accordance with a three star hotel. The security level at the hotel and throughout the city is very high. CCTV cameras are everywhere and the police station is less than five minutes walking distance away. We felt safe while walking everywhere we went. The things I did not like about the hotel was the internet was not free and I think it was very expensive at a rate of about $15.00 per day or $4.00 per hour. I would recommend that the hotel highlight the cost for the breakfast buffet and dinner(min. Cost) on their website to ensure guest do not mistakenly think it's included. This would allow guest to budget for meals in advance. I think the internet cost should be reduced and they should allow to accommodate more than one device connected at a time (a minimum of 2).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Enquire in advance about the tours and book in house in advance. Also enquire into the cost of the breakfast and dining in house and book in advance. If you are traveling with children or which to save on meals book a room with a kitchen so that you can

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maki
Fukuoka, Japan
Sep 25, 2011

Cost

Hotel accomodation cost is very reasoanble even it locates close to the center of Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neogeo
United States
Oct 6, 2011

Devere Hotel Review

Good hotel, good price, free wifi, close to king's cross. No major issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShawnGQ
New York
May 31, 2013

Great Value

Overall great value. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very pleasant. Rooms were just average. My only complaint is that the hotel doesn't offer free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathyC
London UK
Mar 30, 2013

Great time

The hotel is not in the best area but has everything you need on your doorstep. It's a short walk from Kings Cross station and then only a few minutes into the centre; getting around was easy. Walking back late to the hotel was also fine and at no point did I feel worried. The hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff. I would have liked free wifi but popped down to the local MacDonalds and used the free wifi there with a coffee. As I booked early I got a good price on my room which also had a view of the bay close by. All in all, it was perfectly satisfactory and worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackaroo
San Diego
Apr 4, 2012

Tiny room but had it all.

A/C was on 24/7 but barely cooled the room. Staff excellent, and friendly. Clean. Well worth the price, and nearby to everything. Maybe a mile from the Red Light District which was good. Don't need THEM in front of my hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Order a bigger room, get some space to move and avoid the $25 wifi charge, that has too many problems to begin with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pomme traveller
uk
Jan 28, 2014

an ok stay in the city

room always clean, room 111 staff always friendly, had to move 2x in 5 days of visit... no view at all in this room. 1st move room next to lift and too noisy (i was in a queen superior tho, so a bad position for the best room they offer) moved along corridor to double superior but no offer of discount, room again was nice no view again tho! but app no rooms as bank hols w/e. stayed in room 107 for 3 nights but the sat night had awful neighbours - walls were thin, arguing all night, so noisy, no sleep.. next morning moved to 103, slept better, still double superior as no queen left .. view was bit better but still not worthy of queen superior room quality. walked past reception and a couple were offered an upgrade to bay view window even tho i had been told there was no rooms free with view or superior... staff were always helpful with moving and apologetic (even gave me a btl of wine as apology to help me sleep if i had trouble again) .... would i stay again .. prob not, but then again i wouldnt be in sydney again anyway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grizzle
Charlotte, NC
Apr 30, 2013

Great location but lacks clenliness

Yes, the hotel is old, but it could have used a thorough cleaning. My sheets had holes in them, and the walls clearly had areas that left much to be desired. The staff were all very lovely, the hotel it located in a great area, with easy access to trains, and Sydney Opera House etc. It was a little dangerous that I had to stand on a chair to turn on the air con...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Aline
englewood florida
Sep 2, 2014

always stay there

staff more than helpful, go out of there way, helping with bags . internet, ect. price good value and hotel near all shops, stayed there 5 times already, would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy S
Oakland, CA
Sep 6, 2011

Good place for price

The fabulous neighborhood and the discount price I paid made The Devere work well for me. Decor is rather shabby, but if that's not an issue for you, this is a good choice. Good complementary breakfast and friendly staff. Close to train and bus stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search