$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Devere Hotel Sydney

3 stars
44-46 Macleay Street, Potts Point Sydney, Sydney, NS 2011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
26 reviews
Excellent, economic, decent and convenient accommodation in the heart of the city!!!

My wife and I booked our vacation in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia during an extremely busy... See full review

  • Happy Rotarian
  • Jun 12, 2014
Great Value

Overall great value. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very pleasant. Rooms were... See full review

  • ShawnGQ
  • May 31, 2013
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Devere Hotel Sydney is conveniently located close to many attractions, provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Devere Hotel Sydney is situated in the trendy bayside suburb of Potts Point, only 2 kilometres from Sydney's CBD and 10 kilometres from the airport. The hotel is 30 walk from Darling Harbour, Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Trains and bus stops are just metres away. The Devere is a 100% non-smoking property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Devere Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Devere Hotel Sydney Rooms

Superior Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Superior Triple
This room offers one double bed and one twin along with basic amenities
Superior Single
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Standard Twin
This room offers two twin beds along with basic amenities
Standard Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities.
Premium Studio - Family
This room offers one double bed and two twins along with basic amenities

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Devere Hotel Sydney

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Rotarian
Business
Bahamas
Jun 12, 2014

Excellent, economic, decent and convenient accommodation in the heart of the city!!!

My wife and I booked our vacation in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia during an extremely busy period. In spite of all the hotels throughout the city being saturated with Rotarians traveling to the 2014 Rotary International Conventions which include the DeVere Hotel we were fortunate to find a suite there. Initially we were a bit hesitant because the hotel was only at the level of a 3 star and had preferred a 4 or 5 star hotel, but eventually we confirmed our booking and hoped for the best. Upon arrival we were attended promptly, but with a slight delay. Apparently during the booking with the travel company an error was made and it went undetected by us until days before traveling, long after the period to make changes without penalty. We explained the situation to the front desk clerk who referred us to the Manager who listened to our situation (the travel company did not take into account our travel period and the difference the time change. They booked the first day of accommodation to start on the same day we left our country, but our arrival was not until two days later and they booked our departure from the hotel a day earlier). Without confusion the Manager made the adjustment. Not being able to give a refund of caused, but instead he gave us a voucher for a breakfast buffet for the total time of our stay and adjusted the date of our departure without penalty. Our stay at the hotel was very accommodating and we totally enjoyed our time there. The room was very clean and the room service was extremely efficient. When the maid see the do not disturb sign on the door she would put a note under the door to ensure that we know she was there and to let the front desk know if we left the sign on in error. This was followed up with call from room service. The hotel have a dining room on the fifth level that serves a generous breakfast buffet which we found to be very tasty and delicious. The hotel also have a restaurant for fine dining on the ground floor level which serves dinner daily. The hotel is situated with in walking distance to everything. For example: the shops, restaurants, parks, museums, tours, the train station is along one of the city's common bus routes which includes several different buses. Car rental is almost not ever needed. The busses and trains are very efficient and reliable. The upkeep of the hotel is great and I think it's with in accordance with a three star hotel. The security level at the hotel and throughout the city is very high. CCTV cameras are everywhere and the police station is less than five minutes walking distance away. We felt safe while walking everywhere we went. The things I did not like about the hotel was the internet was not free and I think it was very expensive at a rate of about $15.00 per day or $4.00 per hour. I would recommend that the hotel highlight the cost for the breakfast buffet and dinner(min. Cost) on their website to ensure guest do not mistakenly think it's included. This would allow guest to budget for meals in advance. I think the internet cost should be reduced and they should allow to accommodate more than one device connected at a time (a minimum of 2).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Enquire in advance about the tours and book in house in advance. Also enquire into the cost of the breakfast and dining in house and book in advance. If you are traveling with children or which to save on meals book a room with a kitchen so that you can

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackaroo
Business
San Diego
Apr 4, 2012

Tiny room but had it all.

A/C was on 24/7 but barely cooled the room. Staff excellent, and friendly. Clean. Well worth the price, and nearby to everything. Maybe a mile from the Red Light District which was good. Don't need THEM in front of my hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Order a bigger room, get some space to move and avoid the $25 wifi charge, that has too many problems to begin with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathyC
Business
London UK
Mar 30, 2013

Great time

The hotel is not in the best area but has everything you need on your doorstep. It's a short walk from Kings Cross station and then only a few minutes into the centre; getting around was easy. Walking back late to the hotel was also fine and at no point did I feel worried. The hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff. I would have liked free wifi but popped down to the local MacDonalds and used the free wifi there with a coffee. As I booked early I got a good price on my room which also had a view of the bay close by. All in all, it was perfectly satisfactory and worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShawnGQ
Business
New York
May 31, 2013

Great Value

Overall great value. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very pleasant. Rooms were just average. My only complaint is that the hotel doesn't offer free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maki
Business
Fukuoka, Japan
Sep 25, 2011

Cost

Hotel accomodation cost is very reasoanble even it locates close to the center of Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neogeo
Business
United States
Oct 6, 2011

Devere Hotel Review

Good hotel, good price, free wifi, close to king's cross. No major issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guamani
Business
Shekou, China
Nov 28, 2011

Very good budget hotel

Hotel is well located with access to public transportation very easy to go anywhere in downtown Sydney. Hotel is a little old with a few stairs to go up and down if you carry heavy luggage. Room was basic but confortable. It had a small kitchen and everything was very clean. Grocery stores very close by. I would stay there once again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J Catt
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Apr 18, 2012

good location for lively night life

The hotel was easy to find on a small but lively street. Plenty of late night bars and cafes for the 20-30's traveller. Only 5 min walk to the tube station or 15 minutes to walk to the heart of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful,(free storage for my bike). The room was simple and quiet (no view to inner court). Spacious bathroom with a surprise adjacent kitchenette. I felt it was good value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shahster
Business
Lansdowne, Virginia
Aug 19, 2012

Good value for the money.

Staff was courteous and helpful. There is a bus stand outside the hotel, which avoids having to go to Kings Cross station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London man
Business
London
Aug 21, 2012

Good price for the location

This hotel is good for the price given its location. A short walk from Kings Cross it is handy for seeing Sydney. The hotel decor is tired but the place is clean and the staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top