$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Devere Hotel Sydney

3 stars
View map of 44-46 Macleay Street, Potts Point Sydney, Sydney, NS 2011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
30 reviews
Excellent, economic, decent and convenient accommodation in the heart of the city!!!

My wife and I booked our vacation in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia during an extremely busy... See full review

  • Happy Rotarian
  • Jun 12, 2014
Locaton

The hotel was only 3 star. It did not have reliable internet. Only a few plug ins and none right... See full review

  • Sharon S.
  • Aug 31, 2015
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Devere Hotel Sydney is conveniently located close to many attractions, provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Devere Hotel Sydney is situated in the trendy bayside suburb of Potts Point, only 2 kilometres from Sydney's CBD and 10 kilometres from the airport. The hotel is 30 walk from Darling Harbour, Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Trains and bus stops are just metres away. The Devere is a 100% non-smoking property.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Devere Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

★★★
$55
3.6 / 5 12 reviews
★★★
$57
2.4 / 5 5 reviews
★★
$49
4.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$68
3.4 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$95
4.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★
$50
4.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★
$48
1.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$82
4.4 / 5 7 reviews
★★★★
$105
3.8 / 5 10 reviews

Devere Hotel Sydney Rooms

Standard Twin
This room offers two twin beds along with basic amenities
Standard Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities.
Premium Studio - Family
This room offers one double bed and two twins along with basic amenities
Superior Double
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities
Superior Triple
This room offers one double bed and one twin along with basic amenities
Superior Single
This room offers one double bed along with basic amenities

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Government House: 1 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • General Post Office: 1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.7 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Devere Hotel Sydney

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 30
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NoDevereDear
Single
Atlanta
Apr 6, 2015

Run for Your Life

Does not offer free Wifi as advertised. It's 15$ a day! Smells awful. Dirty. Location is nice until you start walking to the Kings Cross station. You are literally in the red light district. Have no idea how this is a 3 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joeyme
Single
Kyles Ford
Feb 28, 2015

loud

Constant noise from elevator and airshaft. Not a good night's sleep. If you manage to avoid the airshaft, you might have a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adam H.
Single
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

Suitable, not Great

For the price, I was expecting it to be a bit nicer but, for Sydney, it is not a terrible value. King's Cross is not an area suitable for a family, but as an individual traveler, it is fine. My room was comfortable and clean and good enough, but it was an average experience, overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be aware that the drinking laws have recently changed and you cannot go into a bar after a certain time. This can put a damper on a night out.

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Aline
Single
englewood florida
Sep 2, 2014

always stay there

staff more than helpful, go out of there way, helping with bags . internet, ect. price good value and hotel near all shops, stayed there 5 times already, would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pomme traveller
Single
uk
Jan 28, 2014

an ok stay in the city

room always clean, room 111 staff always friendly, had to move 2x in 5 days of visit... no view at all in this room. 1st move room next to lift and too noisy (i was in a queen superior tho, so a bad position for the best room they offer) moved along corridor to double superior but no offer of discount, room again was nice no view again tho! but app no rooms as bank hols w/e. stayed in room 107 for 3 nights but the sat night had awful neighbours - walls were thin, arguing all night, so noisy, no sleep.. next morning moved to 103, slept better, still double superior as no queen left .. view was bit better but still not worthy of queen superior room quality. walked past reception and a couple were offered an upgrade to bay view window even tho i had been told there was no rooms free with view or superior... staff were always helpful with moving and apologetic (even gave me a btl of wine as apology to help me sleep if i had trouble again) .... would i stay again .. prob not, but then again i wouldnt be in sydney again anyway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jay the traveler.
Single
Melbourne, VIC
Oct 1, 2013

Beware and skip this one

Bad, sad, mad! - Surprise, had to pay $25 per night parking, Website said room had wireless, but hotel told me "O your room doesnt have a good signal, you'll have to pay $15 more per night for internet in another room." Located in the heart of the RED LIGHT DISTRICT luring all the distasteful folks around. Noisy and nasty. Furniture looked like it was picked from curb side rubbish heap. Folks there not too friendly either - waiter sat me at a table and I waited over 20 min until suprisingly noted "did you order" and the manager couldn't care less. Enjoy your holiday at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grizzle
Single
Charlotte, NC
Apr 30, 2013

Great location but lacks clenliness

Yes, the hotel is old, but it could have used a thorough cleaning. My sheets had holes in them, and the walls clearly had areas that left much to be desired. The staff were all very lovely, the hotel it located in a great area, with easy access to trains, and Sydney Opera House etc. It was a little dangerous that I had to stand on a chair to turn on the air con...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathyC
Single
London UK
Mar 30, 2013

Great time

The hotel is not in the best area but has everything you need on your doorstep. It's a short walk from Kings Cross station and then only a few minutes into the centre; getting around was easy. Walking back late to the hotel was also fine and at no point did I feel worried. The hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff. I would have liked free wifi but popped down to the local MacDonalds and used the free wifi there with a coffee. As I booked early I got a good price on my room which also had a view of the bay close by. All in all, it was perfectly satisfactory and worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gfkoala
Single
Massachusetts, U.S.A.
Mar 26, 2013

Not what I expected

I was diappointed in this hotel for the price I paid and even more so knowing what it was worth before I paid only half price. The pictrues of the acomidation did NOT match. style, outside scenery picts. and although I know it said "contenetal breakfast available" WHO would pay 12 dollars for cereal and a piece of fruit that looked like it had been sitting around a long while. The room was and hallways around were plastered with signs saying no smoking. But he room and hallways smelled musty. My sheets on the tiny twin beds were strachy (clean white) but not comfortable by what i thought 3 star standards would be. Plus it had a wooled blanket that looked like it was from 1970. The TV was literally mounted as close to the ceiling as possible. which made watching uncomfortable unless you were laying on the bed flat, staring up at the ceiling. I think to spend so much and then be told that WIFI costs sooooo much was insane. that was the main reason i stayed at this hotel. instead I just used there computer but stil had to pay 4 dollars an hour. ticked me off. This was supposed to be my first place to relax after a 19 hour journey in a squished airplane. I chose to really only sleep cause when ever i came back to my room i would get annoyed i was paying so much and getting so little. The sights from the window i had was NOTHING. the window was tempered plastic so it was opake could not see through it if i tried but since light only came in through the first 4 inches I think it looked at the wall of another building. The only nice view i found while there was in the Public Bathroom on the 5th floor of the hotel. To top it off although there are signs saying it was a nonsmoking hotel the hallway and room were musty and smelled as if a 60 year old smoker with a wet dog had lived there. I will NOT ever go back to that hotel. I stayed in 2 hostels and 1 motel and 1 other 3 star hotel while i was in Australia and all were much better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

THe circular Quay is a good train trip it takes 2 stops on and off from Kings cross, i only took one try to walk the distance. Go to the Botanical garden while you are in Sydney but DON"T stay at this hotel.

Review of Devere Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London man
Single
London
Aug 21, 2012

Good price for the location

This hotel is good for the price given its location. A short walk from Kings Cross it is handy for seeing Sydney. The hotel decor is tired but the place is clean and the staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top