$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JinLA
Couples
LA
Dec 9, 2011

Good location and value

located in city center. walking distance to public transportation, shopping, opera, and at least two museums. the wharf (cruises and ferries to zoo and Manly Beach) is also within 10-15 minute walking distance. room size and furnishings were average but clean. good value for price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

museums and ferries to zoo and Manly Beach.

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greek mama
Couples
Germantown, MD, USA
Sep 23, 2011

australian explorer

historic hotel so the hotel was scaled down. the only thing was the construction next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walk it's good for you. Anyway you'll get there quicker,except if you take the free cbd shuttle that takes you around.

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveltraveltravel
Single
California, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Great location but other than that...

Right in the heart of the CBD, walking distance to anything and everything. Per the other reviews, there is construction next door (I brought ear plugs). I didn't bring a computer (the in room safe and internet are separate charges too), but they didn't even have a business center to check emails. Room was small but clean. Plus, it was just me and I didn't spend much time there anyway. I didn't have breakfast and found that some hotel staff were nicer/more helpful than others. Overall, I would stay there again, just not more than 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wangnaw
Business
Emeryville CA
Jun 27, 2011

Economical and Good Location

Pros: good location, friendly staff, classy hall and ambiance. Cons: bed wasn't too comfortable, bathroom wasn't too learn, blankets left me a little cold. Lighting was a little poor, 10 dollars for internet though there was an accesspoint you can access. Elevators are slow, uses keys instead of cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.B. and Peter
Couples
Beaufort, NC
May 11, 2011

Great stay in March - Excellent value!

This was a wonderful place to stay. The front desk staff was great. The room was small, but we knew that before we arrived. However, it was a lovely room, very quaint. The location was great for walking to many places, and convenient to get to the train as well. The fruit bats in nearby Hyde Park are amazing, and the park is beautiful, during the day and at night with all its beautiful lighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The staff tipped us off to a great happy hour harbour cruise. For only $20 we got a good tour of the harbour that included a choice of a beer or a glass of wine. Can't beat that! This was one of the many ways the front desk staff helped us. They were very willing to help.

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Goodyear, AZ.
Apr 24, 2011

Very Sweet Quaint Hotel

The room was small, compared to American hotels, but met our needs. The location is wonderful. We hit a great little pastries shop every morning which is located right outside the hotel's front door. The staff was friendly and helpful. I suggest that if you want to get a good night's sleep, you request a room in the back of the hotel, as the street is very noisy late at night and early in the morning. Our room was clean and comfortable. We would definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our visit was over Easter week. DON'T go during this week. The children are out for two weeks. Everything is crowded. All the restaurants are closed...but we found Cheers! It's on George St. Great fish and chips! They have delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner!

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newsy Pat
Single
NYC metro area
Apr 21, 2011

Great location for the price

This hotel was a great value. It is in a wonderful location near Hyde Park. The room was small and there was no view, but I had read this on some other sites so this was not a surprise. I was gone all the time sightseeing, so these two drawbacks didn't bother me. The room was exceptionally clean, and the furnishings and the bathroom were in beautiful condition. The hotel is very charming and the staff is very helpful and friendly. They also provided a free washer, dryer and laundry soap for guests. There is a very quiet, comfortable and extremely reasonably priced bar in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Hyde Park, Art Gallery of New South Wales, fantastic shopping and great restaurants. Very safe area.

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Nevada
Apr 7, 2011

shocked, it's not a 4 star!

the previous reviews before I decided to get this hotel were so overrated...the lobby looks like a four star, but once you enter the room, you'll be disappointed. Yes, it's near some of Sydney's attraction, but once you get to your hotel after a long day's travel, you're so not looking forward to get a good night's rest and sleep. Room+bathroom are so tiny (considering that I myself is a petite person (under 5'), I find it so small! They need to refurbish the interior (like carpeting, bed mattress, etc).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco,Ca.
Apr 5, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Excellent location, could walk to all the major attractions,close to all the buses,monorail and ferries. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet, not large, but very comfortable. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jtwall
Couples
Fort Bragg, CA
Mar 28, 2011

Good value, great location

Beginning an extended stay in Australia, first with Sydney. Booked this place because it was by far the best rate, and the location is great for us: lively at night,a reasonable walking distance to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Opera House, Hyde Park, Museums, etc., and good public transportation. The room is good-sized, but dark and the decor is a bit drab, and the carpet could have used a good cleaning. Our room was quiet enough. Free use of washer and drier is a big plus. We liked it enough to extend from five nights to nine nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We really liked the historical displays at the Hyde Park Barracks Museum and Sydney Museums. Good use of interactive displays. The free walking tour of the Botanical Gardens also informative and fun.

Back to menu Return to top